Do you return your iPhone 7 if....

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by andyx3x, Oct 27, 2016.

  1. andyx3x macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    #1
    I purchased the iPhone 7 on launch day through the Jump on Demand program at T-Mobile. I quickly discovered that the phone would lose 2 percent per hour in standby mode. Everything else about the battery was OK except for that. I would charge the phone to 100 percent before bedtime and wake up 8-9 hours later with the battery percentage down to 82-84 percent.

    Just before the 2 week return period was up, I decided to go back to the 6S where I didn't have this issue. Last week however I got the itch to go with the iPhone 7 again and pulled the trigger. I'm having the same exact issue however again. I contacted Apple Support on the phone tonight and they tested the battery and found it to be in perfect condition. I figured that was gonna happen. I still have a genius bar appointment next week that I'll go to but I doubt they will exchange the phone.

    So my dilemma is do I just live with this and hope that a software update down the road will fix the issue or do I just go back to the 6S and wait for the iPhone 8? I'm just curious how many of you could live with this issue. I mean I could put the phone in airplane mode overnight and the battery would stay at 100 percent. But who really wants to have to do that?

    Thoughts?
     
  2. Jetro macrumors regular

    Jetro

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    #2
    You might have some app that drains the battery. See which one is hogging battery life in the settings. iPhones have great standby battery life and you shouldn't have that kind of trouble.
     
  3. andyx3x thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    #3
    I know they do. I've had every iPhone except the 6 and this is the first time this has come up.

    I checked the apps that I've used and that's not it. My last hope is to turn off background app refresh and then location services and see if that helps. If neither of those work I have to decide whether I can live with this issue.
     
  4. Thor_1 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    Location:
    Texas
    #4
    Maybe your backup is bad. Restore the phone and don't use your backup. Try that and see if it helps.

    I loose 1% on a bad night.

    Oh wait, I know your problem, WHO GETS 8-9 HOURS OF SLEEP!!!!
     
  5. Mlrollin91 macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #5
    Restore your phone as new. I'm sure that will solve the problem. I lose 0% overnight.
     
  6. andyx3x thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    #6
    I've done this already...restored it as a new phone. I've done it twice actually. Doesn't help any.

    I'm taking screenshots of the battery stats when I wake up each day. Hopefully I'll be able to switch out the phone next week and try another. I don't have much faith though as this has happened to both iPhone 7's I've gotten.
     
  7. Mlrollin91 macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #7
    You definitely have a rogue app or processor then. I would run it a day without any apps and install one by one to see what is the cause.
     
  8. andyx3x thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    #8
    Do you think setting it up as new and not downloading any apps and see what happens might be worth a shot?
     
  9. timeconsumer macrumors 65816

    timeconsumer

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Portland
    #9
    What model of the iPhone 7 do you have?

    Since you said T-Mobile I'm wondering if you have the iPhone 7 with an intel modem and your 6S has a Qualcomm modem in it. This could explain the difference.

    You could see if you could return or exchange it for one with a Qualcomm modem to see if the same battery drain occurs.
     
  10. andyx3x thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    #10
    I have the 32gb 7 now but the first 7 I had was the 128. How do you find out which one you have inside?
     
  11. timeconsumer macrumors 65816

    timeconsumer

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Portland
    #11
    It's always a good first troubleshooting step to set up as new and test. If you haven't tried this yet, it's definitely what you should do next.
     
  12. Thor_1 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    Location:
    Texas
    #12
    What? That makes zero sense. I have an Intel phone and I have great standby time. There is no evidence that Intel phones drain batteries while on standby.
     
  13. timeconsumer macrumors 65816

    timeconsumer

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Portland
    #13
    On the back of the phone, it will say the model. For example mine says A1660.
    --- Post Merged, Oct 27, 2016 ---
    I was only suggesting that it would be worth trying because the 6s did not cause this and the OP has tried two 7's. it's possible in the OP's case that it could make a difference.
     
  14. Thor_1 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    Location:
    Texas
    #14
    There are several threads about battery drain on both the 6s and the 7. Don't remember anyone saying anything about the Intel modem.

    Don't think Apple will change carrier phones on a return. For example AT&T to sprint.
     
  15. andyx3x thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    #15
    I did restore it as new but then redownloaded my apps. I'll try it again tonight without the apps to see if it's a rogue app.
     
  16. Mlrollin91 macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #16
    Yes. If you continue to experience the same drain, then you know its iOS related. If you start installing apps then you know that is the problem. If you use Messenger, that is a huge stand by battery drainer, even if the app is closed, notifications are off and background refresh is off. It still uses stand by power.
     
  17. timeconsumer macrumors 65816

    timeconsumer

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Portland
    #17
    Gotcha. I was only throwing it out as a possibility because the OP had mentioned that they tried setting it up as new previously. It just seems odd to get that much more battery drain on a 7 but not have the same/similar drain on a 6s. So I thought maybe it could be modem issues.

    Yes, this would be the next suggestion. If it drains without any apps installed (which it shouldn't) then I would say it's probably a hardware issue. If it doesn't drain the battery, you could try slowly adding apps back to see if one is causing more battery drain than others.
     
  18. Thor_1 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    Location:
    Texas
    #18
    He has had it happen to 2 phones, so hardware seems very unlikely.
     
  19. andyx3x thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    #19
    I don't use Facebook or Messenger which I've heard can be huge battery drains.
    --- Post Merged, Oct 27, 2016 ---
    We did get a new modem recently but I had the 6S after we got the new modem so that shouldn't be the issue.
     
  20. timeconsumer macrumors 65816

    timeconsumer

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Portland
    #20
    It's definitely possible it's an app causing the drain, but if the same apps are installed as the 6s and the 7 was set up as new then all apps were re-downloaded/installed from the App Store I'm not sure why the difference unless some settings are different between the devices.

    Sorry I was referring to the LTE modems in the phones. The A1660/A1661 models have a LTE modem by Qualcomm. The A1778/A1784 models have a LTE modem by intel. I don't believe either are necessarily worse but the 6s would've had a Qualcomm modem. I was only speculating that maybe the LTE modem by intel is causing more battery drain.
     
  21. andyx3x thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    #21
    I've got the A1778. There are some other people who have this same issue but I haven't seem them mention what modem they have. It could be the issue though.

    I'll just see if it's an app tonight and if not I'll try to turn off background app refresh tomorrow night and then location services the next night. If none of this fixes it, I have no idea what could be wrong.

    I then have to decide if I can live with it or to just go back to the 6S and wait for the 8. I don't wanna give up the 7 though.
     
  22. Black Magic macrumors 68000

    Black Magic

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2012
    #22
    While I think you can fix the issue by doing a clean install of iOS 10.1 via DFU restore mode, the real question is do you think the iPhone 7 is that much better than your perfectly working 6s? Be honest with yourself and then you will know the answer.

    iPhone 8 will be out in 10 months. That maybe worth the upgrade.
     
  23. andyx3x thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    #23
    OK it's not a rogue app. Still getting the battery loss in standby with no apps installed.

    I'll try the DFU restore mode now to see if that helps.
     
  24. chronoflash macrumors member

    chronoflash

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2016
    #24
    Why buy a new phone every year if the previous one is OK ? Why anticipate the iPhone 8 when Apple show they cannot produce a reliable device ? We know nothing about iPhone 8, so why should it already be perceived as a must-have ? My advice is:get back to 6S if your are not satisfied with 7, enjoy your device, and wait and see.
     
  25. willmtaylor macrumors G3

    willmtaylor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    A Natural State
    #25
    Do you live in an area of very poor cellular signal? Are you at the very edge of your wifi's range?
     

Share This Page