All iPads Do you send your diagnostic info to Apple?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by Kadin, Nov 6, 2013.

?

Do you send the diagnostic info?

  1. Yes

    77 vote(s)
    51.3%
  2. No

    73 vote(s)
    48.7%
  1. Kadin macrumors 6502a

    Kadin

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    #1
    Simple poll. Just wondering if people send it in and if not, why?

    I normally didn't but decided I will now with my Air to hopefully help them see these low memory issues I'm starting to see a few of.
     
  2. Zepaw macrumors 65816

    Zepaw

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Location:
    MN
  3. Kendo macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    #3
    No but not due to privacy concerns. I try to turn off anything that might preserve battery life.
     
  4. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #5
    Yes always. Can't bitch and moan if u don't help solve an Issue
     
  5. iFanboy Guest

    #6
    Yep. If apple are spying on me they are doing little but watching a lot of porn. I hope they enjoy it :D
     
  6. AndrewS macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Bourbon Country
    #7
    Yes - can't get iOS problems fixed if Apple doesn't have an idea of the frequency of the problem.
     
  7. richard371 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    #8
    Not sending the diagnostics is like not voting then complaining. If you don't send them and your devices/apps crashes you should not complain. It doesn't take that much battery power unless yours is crashing constantly which in that case you should let Apple know.
     
  8. TB07-NJ macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Location:
    US of A
    #9
    That violates doctor-patient privacy as well as HIPPA. I'd never send my diagnostic info to Apple.
     
  9. scaredpoet macrumors 604

    scaredpoet

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    #10
    Device Diagnostics do not send any personally identifiable information, much less any medical or patient data to Apple.

    I hope you're not a doctor. If someone doesn't even know how to correctly spell HIPAA, I have doubts they know what it even entails.
     
  10. TB07-NJ macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Location:
    US of A
    #11
    Thank God for that! I thought they sent my x-rays and my blood workup each time I turned on my iPad!! ROTFLMAO! OH MY GOODNESS!! It was a joke. :eek: Oh, and thanks for the spelling lesson. Actually it's not a word but an abbreviation so my spullung chicker didn't pick it up. But frankly I didn't care anyway. ;)
     
  11. Brittany246 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2013
    #12
    Nope. Never will. I always opt out when I can.

    ----------

    I'm pretty sure there are thousands of other people with the same problems. They should be fixed either way, and one extra person sending in their diagnostic info isn't going to make much of a difference.
     
  12. richard371 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    #13
    haha sounds just like the voting example. My vote want make a difference lol. :)

     
  13. daneoni macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #16
    Yep. On both Mavericks and iOS 7 devices. Apple needs to know about issues before they can fix them.
     
  14. AdeFowler macrumors 68020

    AdeFowler

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2004
    Location:
    England
  15. henry72 macrumors 65816

    henry72

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #18
    Yes but I always wonder whether they can get the data anyway :rolleyes:
     
  16. Lucille Carter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    #19
    Apple can get what ever they want.

    The NSA does so you know Apple can.
     
  17. ChristianJapan macrumors 601

    ChristianJapan

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Location:
    日本
    #20
    From Mac most of the time when it ask me;
    Not from iPad; bad behavior from times with small 3G data caps as I can't control the timing of sending. Plus half of those on iPad are due to my own development activities. Don't need to bother Apple with those. ;)
     
  18. tkmcguire1 macrumors 6502

    tkmcguire1

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    #21
    Exactly what my iPad Air 16gb looked like on Tuesday.
    So what did I do? I took it back and got a 32gb I only had like 1.7 gb left on my 16gb and kept getting low memory crashes.

    Problem solved! It cost me a $100 extra dollars but now I have 18gb left instead of 1.7:)
     
  19. Count Blah macrumors 68030

    Count Blah

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    US of A
    #22
    Not sure if serious
     
  20. Nukemkb macrumors 6502a

    Nukemkb

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Location:
    Columbia, SC
  21. tkmcguire1 macrumors 6502

    tkmcguire1

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    #24
    Yes I'm serious!
    I was having low memory crashes,so I took it back and got a 32gb iPad air.
    No more low memory crashes.
     
  22. Kadin thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Kadin

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    #25
    Not sure if still serious.

    Those memory logs are not referring to storage space...
     

Share This Page