Does anyone keep their Macs pure and unsoiled by Windows?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by deblewis, Jun 23, 2012.

?

Do you load Windows on your Mac?

Poll closed Jul 7, 2012.
  1. Yes I also load Windows

50 vote(s)
    49.0%
  2. No my Mac is all Mac!

52 vote(s)
    51.0%
  1. deblewis macrumors member

I'm new to Macs.. Real new in I haven't even ordered just yet..

When I do finally get one my plan was to keep my PC for gaming and the Mac for every thing else and clean of any Window software. Reading the forums it seems everyone ends up with Windows. Do you find it becomes a necessity to load Windows?

2. jeremyshaw macrumors 6502

I have to, mostly for work apps. Otherwise, gaming drivers are generally considered better under windows. The old 320m and HD3000 were nearly equal under OSX, under windows, the 320m was much faster (upto 50% faster) - and it was due to the 320m drivers being much better for windows.

3. Southernboyj macrumors 68000

Southernboyj

My iMac has Windows 7 via Parallels, but my RMBP doesn't.. mostly to make the most of the storage + I don't need Windows, I just have it on the desktop for if a situation came about that I needed it for anything.

4. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

GGJstudios

Some have need of Windows apps that have no Mac equivalent. I have never found a need to run Windows on my Mac.

5. killmoms macrumors 68040

killmoms

All I ever use Windows for on my personal Mac is games, since I don't have a Windows PC. So if you have a gaming PC, then I'd imagine you'll have no need to install Windows on your Mac.

6. deblewis thread starter macrumors member

I ask so I can include Windows in my planning if it's needed. At this point I don't see a reason for it, but who knows I could be missing something.

7. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

GGJstudios

Just look at the apps you need, then search to make sure there are Mac equivalents available. If there are, you'll have no need for Windows.