OS X Does anyone successfully use a joystick to fly in OS X?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by blackxacto, Jan 3, 2016.

  1. blackxacto macrumors 6502

    blackxacto

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Location:
    Middle TN
    #1
    OS X El Capitan 10.11.2 on an 17,1 iMac.

    I miss flying via a joystick. I used to love flying an A-10. I have downloaded several supposedly drivers for using a joystick, but nothing seems to work any longer.

    Is anyone successfully using a joystick in OS X El Capitan?
     
  2. aliensporebomb macrumors 68000

    aliensporebomb

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN, USA, Urth
    #2
    Stand by. I just upgraded to El-Cap this morning and am using the X-55 Hotas system which worked fine under Yosemite. I see no reason it wouldn't work under El-Cap.
     
  3. MichalM.Mac macrumors regular

    MichalM.Mac

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
  4. blackxacto thread starter macrumors 6502

    blackxacto

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Location:
    Middle TN
    #4
    Do you use El Capitan Capitan? Your stick is made for PC's. Do you use their software to make your stick compatible or do you use some additional third-party software that sits in System Prefs?
     
  5. blackxacto thread starter macrumors 6502

    blackxacto

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Location:
    Middle TN
    #5

    How did the system upgrade go, and is your joystick compatible?
     
  6. MichalM.Mac macrumors regular

    MichalM.Mac

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    #6
    Yes I use El Cap.
    No additional softwate needed in this case.
    It also works in Freespace 2 based games.
     
  7. Janichsan macrumors 6502a

    Janichsan

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    #7
    I'm using a Saitek X52 Pro and it works absolutely fine under OS X, including El Capitan. Depending on the game, it can become necessary to use third-party software (ControllerMate in my case) to support all knobs and buttons (due to the sheer number of them) but the basic functions work always out of the box.
     
  8. Big Bad D macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Location:
    France
    #8
    Also no problem with Saitek X52 Pro further to upgrading to El Capitan. Different software allows use of different range of buttons/controls - but same as it was before El Capitan.
     
  9. aliensporebomb macrumors 68000

    aliensporebomb

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN, USA, Urth
    #9
    I'm running Elite Dangerous as well as X-Plane and this seems to work the same as it did under Yosemite. No worries.
     
  10. Zhaan macrumors newbie

    Zhaan

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2015
    #10
  11. Huntn macrumors G5

    Huntn

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Location:
    The Misty Mountains
    #11
    Buy a new stick...problem solved. ;) (Caveat- I've not played anything needing a joy stick on my Mac in a decade).
     
  12. blackxacto thread starter macrumors 6502

    blackxacto

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Location:
    Middle TN
    #12
    So you want me to buy a new stick, and you haven't used a stick in ten years. Is that logical?
     
  13. Alrescha macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    #13
    I use a Logitech Extreme 3D Pro and X-Plane with no problems.

    A.
     
  14. blackxacto thread starter macrumors 6502

    blackxacto

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Location:
    Middle TN
    #14

    That is exactly my joystick that would not work. How did you get your Mac to recognize the Extreme3D Pro?
     
  15. skyhawkmatthew macrumors member

    skyhawkmatthew

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #15
    My ancient (the box touts its compatibility with OS 9!) Saitek Cyborg 3D USB stopped working with El Capitan and I replaced it with a Logitech Extreme 3D; it works fine without any drivers for me.
     
  16. blackxacto thread starter macrumors 6502

    blackxacto

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Location:
    Middle TN
    #16
    Thank you for your information. Maybe El Capitan has regained the ability to recognize mine. I will try. Thanks again.
     
  17. Alrescha macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    #17
    I literally just plug it in. It shows up in System Information on the USB bus. To be sure, OS X doesn't do anything with it, but it's there. X-Plane sees it (and all its buttons) in settings.

    A.
     
  18. Huntn, Jan 9, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2016

    Huntn macrumors G5

    Huntn

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Location:
    The Misty Mountains
    #18
    While I'm not 100% certain, I'm confident MacOSX will recognize most if not all USB joy sticks. Where you lose out with Mac often is the stick manufacturer is to lazy to write programmable software for it, unless you are using X-Plane which includes a control interface which the Mac can use. Without programmable software, you just remap keys, in game by pressing the appropriate button. Just google "Mac compatible joy stick" to see many options. If you have doubts call up the manufacturer.

    How old is your stick? You may have an issue with a dead stick. I have used a stick in the last year but it was on my PC. I've got a collection of 3 sticks (10 years old, or maybe older) that I broke out to test with Elite Dangerous on my PC. Two were recognized by my PC and one was not, it's dead. All worked on the my Mac, last time I tried. Some examples of the many out there:

    CH Products Combat Stick:
    • Compatible with all versions of Windows: XP, Vista, 7, 8 and Mac OSX (programming software is PC compatible only)
    Elite Dangerous Mac Hardware Discussion

    Saitek V.1
     
  19. interstella macrumors regular

    interstella

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2013
    Location:
    Suffolk, England
    #19
    I use X-Plane with a Speedlink Black Widow joystick. It's not very good (for X-Plane, that is) and I really do need to look into something better, particularly as I want to play Elite Dangerous as well. The stick is far too sensitive and it's very difficult to control an aeroplane properly, especially a light aircraft. I fly in real life and use X-Plane for practicing ILS approaches in zero visibility etc but I find myself concentrating far too much on controlling the aeroplane as very tiny joystick inputs result in the plane going all over the place. Not sure if this is a joystick or X-Plane problem. There's no OSX driver and the crude adjustments available in X-Plane just don't give enough adjustment.

    I'm thinking of splashing out on the Saitek X55 but it's a lot of money if it doesn't do what I want.
     
  20. Huntn macrumors G5

    Huntn

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Location:
    The Misty Mountains
    #20
    I too have an older Saitek (X-52?) that worked well in the past, Falcon 4 was amazing, but I don't remember Saitek offering any Mac programming software. Where you come up short without the software is programming macros.
     
  21. blackxacto thread starter macrumors 6502

    blackxacto

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Location:
    Middle TN
    #21
    Success, my Logitech Extreme 3D Pro works as well in El Capitan. Thanks for the tip.
     
  22. Alrescha macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    #22
    Glad I could help. Enjoy your flight. :)

    A.
     

Share This Page