Does Dell 27'' 4K display U2718Q work well with a mac pro?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by sunfoocius, Feb 17, 2018.

Tags:
  1. sunfoocius macrumors newbie

    sunfoocius

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2018
    #1
    Hey guys, I'm a long-time mac user but new to here. I'm planning to upgrade my home office to a Mac Pro with three 4K monitors. After some research on the web, it seems that not all such monitors (27'' 4K) are recognized by OS X as retina displays, in which case the display setting will show a list of resolutions for you to choose instead of "text size" options. I'm looking at Dell U2718Q, can anyone confirm how it work with Mac Pro?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. satinsilverem2 macrumors 6502a

    satinsilverem2

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    #2
    we need some more information. what year is your Mac Pro that you are using or looking to use. that can tell if the graphics card is able to output 3 displays. also if you are in the market for a new Mac Pro I wouldn't buy the one that Apple currently sells. its four years old and Apple said last year that it was a bad idea and is working on a new one. so if you can just hold out
     
  3. sunfoocius thread starter macrumors newbie

    sunfoocius

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2018
  4. satinsilverem2 macrumors 6502a

    satinsilverem2

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    #4
    I would seriously reconsider buying that one. its going on 5 years old with processors and GPUs that are from 2012 so really you are going to be spending $3,000+ on a six year old machine. Apple said last April that they are working on a new one for this year so if you can wait then I would. However if you have to have one now and are okay with knowing those facts then yes the 2013 Mac Pro can run 3 4K displays but I believe they all have to be on separate Thunderbolt buses and one has to be over HDMI. The screens that are connected over Thunderbolt/MiniDP are going to run at 60hz but the one that connects over HDMI will be limited to a slower 30hz due to the 1.4 spec limitations. There is a whole page from Apple to figure out with buses you need to be using for the displays.


    https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT202801
     
  5. Fishrrman macrumors P6

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #5
    I agree with satin above.

    I wouldn't buy a new trashcan Mac Pro now -- it's too old for the $$$ you pay.
    Either wait until the NEW Mac Pro's come out (later this year), or find something else.

    If you want that kind of power, consider the iMac Pro instead.
    IF you are within reasonable driving distance of a brick-n-mortar "MicroCenter" store (USA), be aware that for a limited time they are offering $1,000 off the price of the base-model iMac Pro.
    BUT... you have to "carry it out" -- no "internet orders".
    A good deal -- if you're anywhere close to one of their stores.
     

Share This Page

4 February 17, 2018