Does iPad3 crash browsing web much?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by MattSeven, Apr 17, 2012.

  1. MattSeven macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    #1
    I have the iPad1, and often webpages will cause Safari to crash and I have to reopen. I've done everything I know to do about this and chalk it up to quirky Safari, inadequate processor, or both.

    Is iPad3 any better?
     
  2. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #2
    No issues at all....But I didn't have any with the 1 or the 2 either....Have you tried restoring the device?

    The 3 is a huge leap from the 1, and once you see the screen you are going to want one...Smooth as silk in browsing.
     
  3. mulo macrumors 68020

    mulo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    Behind you
  4. jacob-07 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    #4
    I've experienced that very thing with my first gen iPad, was very annoying. I believe I had safari crash only couple of times since using my new iPad (since launch) but nothing compared to my first gen.
     
  5. master-ceo macrumors 65816

    master-ceo

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Location:
    The SUN
    #5
    IPad 3 100x better at browsing than 1. I still use my iPad 1 and going to retire it from the internet.
     
  6. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #6
    Going from a 1, to a 2, then to the 3, I would put most of the blame on Safari crashes on a lack of RAM. Using the same iOS version on both the 1 and 3, the same page would choke on the 1 and load fine on the 3. Though this is mostly anedoctal, I believe others have had a similar experience. I'll add that going from a single to a dual core also helps Safari performance.

    Additionally, 1GB RAM makes for a much nicer multitasking experience. It swaps apps without reloading more often - and results in smoother app switching. On the performance side, the CPU does run at a higher clock rate [than the 1], not to mention a higher performance GPU (aside from there being four of them).

    And don't get me started on the 3's display :D
     
  7. master-ceo macrumors 65816

    master-ceo

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Location:
    The SUN
    #7
    Exactly. The RAM. From day 1 most of us complained of how stupid it was to only put 256mb of RAM in a device made in 2010 that boasted to be a Internet beast.
     

Share This Page