Does the Ipad 2 Internet browsing still refresh?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by rirawin, Mar 26, 2011.

  1. rirawin macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    #1
    I been reading the stories and seen the videos, however, I hear people are still saying the problem persists?.
     
  2. WiiDSmoker macrumors 65816

    WiiDSmoker

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Location:
    Hermitage, TN
  3. newdeal macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    #3
    ...

    Not nearly as much. Safaris tab system sucks anyway may as well use icab
     
  4. Coukos34 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    #4
    Ugh no? Actually it really never happens. Not in my experience anyways. Then again, I don't have needless amounts of tabs open all the time either. The lack of refreshing has been my favorite part so far of the iPad 2
     
  5. caubeck macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    #5
    Internet is fast, tabs are not constantly refreshing even with 9 open. It happens far less at least. The experience is much better.
     
  6. rirawin thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    #6
    With the Ipad1 I used Atomic browser and I only had 3 tabs open but it always keeps refreshing if I switch tabs. Now the issue is whether to go for V2, if it happens rarely then yes I be happy but if not not sure if its worth it.
     
  7. WiiDSmoker macrumors 65816

    WiiDSmoker

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Location:
    Hermitage, TN
    #7
    It still happens and it shouldn't. Don't try to excuse Apple.
     
  8. xraytech macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    #8
    In rare occasions it does refresh but it's not a big issue for me. It's better than the iPad 1 by a whole lot.
     
  9. adrianeitor92 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    #9
    I agree with you

    It happens the same to me
     
  10. rirawin thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    #10
    But how much better is it for day to day use?. I mean the issue is I love the Ipad but its primary main use was for browsing. If it keeps refreshing all the time then its going to drive me nuts like before. Heck, even my HTC Desire Dolphin Browser does not even refresh with 6 pages open and its a fricking mobile.
     
  11. JPIndustrie macrumors 6502a

    JPIndustrie

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Location:
    Queens, NY
    #11
    But compared to the iPad 1 - is it as prevalent? This ALWAYS bugged me - if your browser can't hold 1 or 2 tabs in memory it can't really be the 'light car' you need.
     
  12. BruiserBear macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    #12
    I would say it is slightly improved with the iPad 2.
     
  13. rirawin thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    #13
    Slight improvement?. Thats a complete farce then if watching the youtube videos, I was under the impression the problem was corrected.
     
  14. Cool Hwhip macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    #14
    There is a reason it does that... If you use a Mac you're not bright enough to understand why anyway.
     
  15. rirawin thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
  16. coldpower27 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #16
    Yup, for my iPad2 it still does from time to time.. But I keep slot of stuff open in the background...
     
  17. Cutwolf macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    #17
    A family guy based screen name and comments like this.

    It's like I can almost see you.
     
  18. macingman macrumors 68020

    macingman

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    #18
    The issue is not fixed.

    Infact I'm writing this post with my iPad 2 and I changed tabs in safari while writing this post and the page refreshed.
     
  19. bowlerman625 macrumors 68020

    bowlerman625

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago, IL area
    #19
    I'd say it's better on iPad 2. Still happens but less frequently. The overall browsing experience on iPad 2 is faster. That is for sure.
     
  20. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #20
    5 tabs open in Safari right now: this thread, MR Forum Spy, a Wiki page, and a couple of simple pages. I just flipped between them randomly, and none of them refreshed. I'm positive some would have with iPad 1. If a page does refresh, it loads significanty faster. As others have said, it's a much better experience on iPad 2.
     
  21. fishmoose macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #21
    It does for me, but I do have a lot of apps in their saved state in the multitasking bar.
     
  22. gameboy213 macrumors 6502

    gameboy213

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #22
    Yes they still refresh for me but not as often or even close to as often as before. I thought it was supposed to be fixed as well and saw in reviews that it was..... But it isn't on my end for some reason or anyone else in this thread.

    It is better for sure however. I think the issue must lie in the page itself, perhaps what kind of content/ads that it is running. Just a thought.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
  23. KoukiFC3S macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
  24. The Governor macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    #24
    I have to say I was quite hesitant about buying an iPad just for this reason. But after playing with mine for awhile, I have yet to have ANY refresh of my open webpages.

    This is true on my iPad 2 and wife's brand new iPad 1 (verzion blowout sale).

    I can't believe I'm the only one with no issues?
     
  25. Coukos34 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    #25
    Um why not? It has 512mb of ram and apps are suspended in ram as well. It depends how many apps you have running. The more you have, the less is available for tabs. What is the need to have more than 3-4 at a time anyways? I just don't get it. As apps need more ram, it will get rid of tabs. Simple really. As long as you don't leave too many apps "suspended", you won't have a problem with refreshing tabs
     

Share This Page