Does the MBA screen strain your eyes?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Jay.237, Aug 18, 2012.

1. Jay.237 macrumors newbie

Hello everyone!
    My MBA screen really strains my eyes after a while of use, I know to take regular breaks and it's not so bad when I'm just web browsing, but when I'm writing essays for college or something it just gets unbearable. I didn't have this problem with my previous laptop which was a cheap toshiba or with any other computer. It's got to the point where I'm seriously considering selling it. Does anyone else have the same problem?

2. kodeman53 macrumors 65816

No.

3. jim468 macrumors regular

I am a college student and I have the same problem with my MBA (2011 model). From what I feel, it is due to the "high" resolution of the 13" screen. Therefore I avoid using it by itself and usually use it with a 24" external monitor. My old sony laptop did not have this issue, because it had lesser pixels (1200 x 800) on a 14.1" inches screen. It was very comfortable to use.

And for this very reason I am not a big fan on hi-res displays, except for rMBP, because it is done right there. In rMBP even though the number of pixels are high, the effective resolution is still the same as the previous generation.

4. Gustavo Carvalh macrumors newbie

I do. I'm in the process of finishing my PhD, so I spend most of my days writing or coding. Even when I'm casually browsing the web I have eye strain. I'm trying to sell my MBA to go back to a MBP. Meanwhile, I use an external display as I couldn't identify what's the source of the problem. I tried several colour profiles and brightness settings, but none helped. A friend used my computer for a while on maximum brightness and he said it was comfortable, no strain at all.

5. jim468 macrumors regular

Did you try f.lux? It makes it little better, but not a whole lot.

6. MacDawg macrumors Core

MacDawg

I have a 2011 13" MBA and I have not noticed any eye strain at all using it