Downgrade to 1.1.1?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by benflick, Jan 22, 2009.

  1. benflick macrumors 68020

    benflick

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    #1
    Hey guys, kind of a pointless thread but the other day I realized that I have too many iPhones lol. I was wondering if I could downgrade one of them to 1.1.1 just for nostalgia, no real reason. It's on 2.2 now.
    I know the option+restore trick, but since my baseband is upgraded I am wondering how.
    Thanks, benflick.
     
  2. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #2
    probably with an option+restore in itunes. download the 1.1 firmware online and then pick the iphone 1.1 firmware
     
  3. benflick thread starter macrumors 68020

    benflick

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    #3
    Didn't think it would be that easy, hmmm guess I will try it.
     
  4. nickspohn macrumors 68040

    nickspohn

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    #4
    It's not that easy.
     
  5. benflick thread starter macrumors 68020

    benflick

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    #5
    Then how should I do it?
     
  6. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #6
    You should at least try the Option+Restore in iTunes before dismissing it that I won't work. It works for downgrading on other firmwares. :)
     
  7. benflick thread starter macrumors 68020

    benflick

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    #7
    It's worth a shot.
     
  8. nickspohn macrumors 68040

    nickspohn

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    #8
    It won't work, so don't waste your time. It's much more advanced than that, but I don't know all the little details.
     
  9. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #9
    Don't be such a debbie downer ;).

    I read here that simply putting the phone into DFU Mode and then doing what I said above should work. :D I guess we'll find out if you try it.
     
  10. benflick thread starter macrumors 68020

    benflick

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    #10
    Haha, well I don't have the phone with me right now (letting a friend borrow it until tomorrow)
    I will try it, and if it doesn't work I will see what else to try. Thanks!
     
  11. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #11
    I saw that you added more in your first post regarding baseband. Once the baseband is upgraded it typically can't be downgraded (if you have the 3G version). But that is a good thing, because you will have the newer, more stable baseband with an older firmware.
     
  12. benflick thread starter macrumors 68020

    benflick

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    #12
    I have a 3G, but I also have 2 2Gs; a 4gb and an 8gb. I will probably try it with the 4gb.
     
  13. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #13
    Wow, why do you have so many iphones? Do you collect them? :p
     
  14. benflick thread starter macrumors 68020

    benflick

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    #14
    Funny you should ask. Well I got my first one in March '08 (8gb 2G). Then in September I bought a 3G. I bought a water damaged 4gb off of Craigslist for $80 from a guy who barely spoke English. The phone powered on fine but the camera and the sleep/wake button didn't work properly. I brought it home, let it sit and now it works like brand new.
    I'm trying to sell the 8gb for $300 on CL currently.
     
  15. TheSpaz macrumors 604

    TheSpaz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    #15
    I have a 3G iPhone plus 8GB and a 4GB originals. Haha! We're like the same? What color is your 3G?
     
  16. benflick thread starter macrumors 68020

    benflick

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    #16
    Unfourtunatley black (8GB)... :p
    We are like the same though!
     
  17. TheSpaz macrumors 604

    TheSpaz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    #17
    I'm trying to get rid of my 8GB iPhone.
     
  18. benflick thread starter macrumors 68020

    benflick

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    #18
    Same here! Condition/price?
     
  19. TheSpaz macrumors 604

    TheSpaz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    #19
    My 8GB is a little banged up and has a scratch on the screen. That's why I bought a refurbished 4GB on eBay. I got the 8GB from eBay too, I just don't like the condition it's in. The eBayer said it was in very good condition and he's had it in a hard case, but the case was pretty beat up and the phone has scratches all over the back. Plus, the sleep/wake button is tilted on one side pretty far. I don't like it. I was going to try to sell it for like $250-300.. is that a fair price?
     
  20. benflick thread starter macrumors 68020

    benflick

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    #20
    Listenenig to yours reminds me of mine. I'm selling mine on CL right now for $300 and you get a lot of lowballers but there is a lot of people who will pay $300
     
  21. bradenwh macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    #21
    iTunes 8 will not let you downgrade to a firmware lower than 2.0. You have to uninstall iTunes 8 and MobileDeviceFrameworks and reinstall iTunes 6. Then, you *might* be able to get it to 1.1.1. Of course, you'd have to use bbupdater to flash the baseband back to 1.1.1's in order for it to work, or for iTunes to even activate it. You could always hacktivate it.
    But your SIM card won't work with the 2.2 baseband on a 1.1.1 firmware. I have a copy of the 1.1.1 .eep and .fls baseband files, if you need them.
     
  22. benflick thread starter macrumors 68020

    benflick

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    #22
    Thanks, I will use iTunes 6.
    I could use the .eep and baseband files please?
     
  23. TheSpaz macrumors 604

    TheSpaz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    #23
    Just put 1.1.1 on your iPod touch. It's waaaay easier. Also, are you doing this for nostalgia purposes... or just for fun? Are you going to compare 2.2 to 1.1.1 and see how much slower 2.2 is?
     
  24. benflick thread starter macrumors 68020

    benflick

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    #24
    I was thinking about it, but I want to swap my SIM to the iPhone running 1.1.1.
    I'm doing this for both nostalgia and just to kind of mess around...
     
  25. The General macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #25
    I remember something about a "WTF" file when downgrading 1.x firmwares. But yeah, you should see if you can get down to 1.0.0.
     

Share This Page