Downloads without permission

Discussion in 'iOS 8' started by Tech198, Sep 24, 2014.

1. Tech198 macrumors G4

I just woke my iPhone up today after a charge, and found that i got a dialog saying "iOS is ready to be installed"

The detail section confirmed it has indeed been downloaded without my permission

I have never done software update today at all and choose not to update. Is there a way to reclaim this wasted space ?

2. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member

This started with iOS7, I believe you should be able to remove it by . Select settings, general, usage, manage storage when the app list loads, you should see ios8, select this and then delete.

3. Tech198 thread starter macrumors G4

Its ok thanks... You have to restart too, then the space is freed... With no apps installed i see 11.3 Gig free.

4. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member

I applied the update, so I have no experience with removing it. I found the steps on google :)

Glad it worked out for you.

5. nightlong macrumors 6502a

nightlong

Ios8 downloaded onto my phone and 2 iPads without my permission.

Yes, I had auto downloads and background app refresh turned off.

This unauthorised use of my internet account should be illegal.

It is an abuse.

First the force-fed U2 album, now this.

What next?

6. Tech198 thread starter macrumors G4

Just did a factory reset of my phone to see, and to see the difference, does still take up 1.1MB even though u remove it from usage.

7. nightlong macrumors 6502a

nightlong

I have reported the issue to Apple Support, they seemed surprised, have reported to their engineering staff and will get back to me in 3 days.

I will be asking for compensation for the unauthorised use of 3GB of my data.

8. DJLl macrumors newbie

Download without permission