Dual 4.1 CPU tray into 5.1 single CPU

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by JMVB, Jul 23, 2016.

  1. JMVB macrumors member

    JMVB

    Joined:
    May 16, 2016
    #1
    I have a cMP 5.1 with single CPU

    Can I swap the CPU tray by a Dual CPU one, which come from a 4.1 one?
     
  2. h9826790 macrumors G3

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #2
    Yes, but all fans will run at full speed.
     
  3. JMVB thread starter macrumors member

    JMVB

    Joined:
    May 16, 2016
  4. h9826790 macrumors G3

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #4
    Yes, because you cannot update the SMC.
     
  5. JMVB thread starter macrumors member

    JMVB

    Joined:
    May 16, 2016
    #5
  6. h9826790 macrumors G3

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #6
  7. JoelTheSuperior macrumors 6502

    JoelTheSuperior

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    Location:
    London, UK
    #7
    As I understand it, fan control software can change the thresholds and move the fan speed to a higher value, but they can't override the SMC / set the fan speed lower.

    Essentially no, there's nothing you could do to lower the fan speed short of transplanting the SMC from a 4,1 Mac Pro.
     
  8. h9826790 macrumors G3

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #8
    In fact, MacsFanControl CAN lower the fan speed to lower than the minimum fan speed IF SMC is working properly.

    There are at least 2 ways to increase the fan speed.

    1) increase the minimum fan speed (most software use this approach, which keep the system able to spin up the fans if require as fail safe precaution).

    2) alter the target fan speed (MacsFanControl use this approach. Since the target fan speed has higher priority then the minimum speed, it can actually force the fan to run slower than the minimum).
     
  9. JMVB thread starter macrumors member

    JMVB

    Joined:
    May 16, 2016
  10. h9826790 macrumors G3

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #10
    It didn't clearly state that the CPU won't work or won't boot etc. Since there is no known method to fix the fan. It still a kind of "won't work", right?

    Indeed, the same SMC mismatch problem was discussed in that thread.
     
  11. JMVB thread starter macrumors member

    JMVB

    Joined:
    May 16, 2016
    #11
     

Share This Page