Resolved Dual boot CONFIRMED for new Apricorn Velocity DUO X2!!!

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by m4v3r1ck, Mar 31, 2014.

  1. m4v3r1ck, Mar 31, 2014
    Last edited: May 29, 2014

    m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #1
    Just received a Velocity DUO X2 - beta. Very excited!!!

    [​IMG]

    Preparing for testing on my Mac Pro 3.1 this week!
    Keep you posted...

    Cheers
     
  2. OS6-OSX macrumors 6502a

    OS6-OSX

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    California
    #2
  3. m4v3r1ck, Mar 31, 2014
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2014

    m4v3r1ck thread starter macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #3
    It's not only the MB/s that counts! Compatibility & stability are also on my list. But a shoot-out is always fun ;)

    Cheers
     
  4. Earl Urly macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    #4
    Lucky guy!

    Damn, and I just placed an order for the Solo after Amazon put up rebate coupons! Oh well, it's not like they're gonna can the Solo because of the Duo.
     
  5. JavaTheHut macrumors 6502

    JavaTheHut

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
  6. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
  7. hfg macrumors 68040

    hfg

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
    #7
    Here's hoping that one can put a bootable OS X SSD in one slot, and a bootable Windows SSD in the other slot. I would buy it then!
     
  8. m4v3r1ck thread starter macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #8
    My #1 on my to-test-list!

    Cheers
     
  9. Earl Urly macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    #9
    Yeah, or maybe even OS X on one, Linux on the other? That'd be kickass.
     
  10. analog guy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    #10
    i'm actually getting this via TB2 (tempo pro within an echo express iii-d with 2xsamsung 840 evo 1tb drives).

    internal to my MP3,1 was even faster.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. VirtualRain macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #11
    x2 PCIe interface will be the limiting factor here.
     
  12. gerardomare1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
  13. tomvos macrumors 6502

    tomvos

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Location:
    In the Nexus.
    #13
    If you have an Apricorn Velocity Solo X2, perhaps you could test if there are any issues with putting a solo and a duo card into one system? Thanks a lot.
     
  14. Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #14
    I'm behind hfg in the queue looking forward to the results, fingers crossed. Will retire my x2 thermal sticky pad twin 840 evo SSD bodge job if it boots win 7 on a 3,1 ok.

    Wondering how long the card is, particularly how close it gets to the fan on a reference gtx 680. Should be ok as the orientation is changed on the drives though, and hey Apricorn if you need another beta tester you can send me a pm, I did offer my services to you six months ago :D
     
  15. m4v3r1ck thread starter macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #15
    I'll put that on my list too! ;)
     
  16. m4v3r1ck, Apr 4, 2014
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2014

    m4v3r1ck thread starter macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #16
    Easter Egg on Apricorn Velocity SOLO-X2 ????

    Hey guys,

    Still in feedback-mode with Apricorn to solve some (serious) issues with the DUO X2:

    Moved SSD's 1:1 from the SOLO to the DUO, both in PCIe slot #2.

    1. None of the SSD-1 nor SSD-2 raid0 shows on the OSX bootscreen! On the SOLO they showed as SSD_OSXML5 and OSX_OSXML5 2 - two separate SSD's - on bootscreen but both bootable to the raid0.

    2. Unable to boot SSD-3 Windows 8 while in bay #1. No SOLO X2 Bios at boot.

    Turned the table and installed the SOLO X2 back again:

    1. Installed SSD-1 & SSD-2 on the SOLO. They show as external SSD's

    2. Using DiskUtil -> SSD-1 HFS+ / SSD-2 FAT32

    3. SSD-1 clean install OSX 10.9.2 while connected to the SOLO-X2 (because my OSX ML is > 500GB)

    4. SSD-2 restored Winclone image of Windows 8 Pro 64 while connected to the SOLO-X2 on extra port with SATA-3 cable.

    Et Voila, OS X 10.9.2 on bootscreen, Windows 8 on bootscreen and both bootable.

    Possible easter-egg on the SOLO-X2? :D

    Windows 8 is now NATIVELY running in AHCI mode! Ran a WEI and added a 1.1 to the disk perfromance index, from 7.0 -> 8.1 Now the CPU and RAM are the limiting factors. :confused:

    SSD-3 in HDD bay #1 (IcyDock SATA-3 converter) at SATA-2:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    SSD-3 connected to the SOLO X2 with SATA-3 cable:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Still a lot of moving around to do with the SSD's on the SOLO- & DUO-X2....
    But so far, the SOLO X2 with bootable OSX 10.9.2 & Windows 8 is my winner.

    Keep you updated on the DUO and perhaps some of you with the SOLO could try the above to reproduce it on other systems 3.1/4.1/5.1?

    GL & Cheers with your SOLO X2!

    NOTE: all 3 SSD are Samsung 840 EVO 500GB
     
  17. m4v3r1ck thread starter macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #17
    NOPE! - not yet? ;(

    180mm x 120mm

    Cheers
     
  18. gerardomare1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
  19. m4v3r1ck thread starter macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #19
    If I push to much, the PCB may crack :rolleyes:
     
  20. hfg macrumors 68040

    hfg

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
    #20
    Great information ... thanks for sharing it with us.

    Hope they get the issues settled with the DUO x2 card soon!


    The only problem I can see with the dual-OS on a SOLO x2 would be if you were running a Windows VM using the bootable Windows image such that both drives were active simutaneously with the single SATA controller being a bottleneck. I was hoping that the DUO x2 card would have separate controllers for each drive which would help in RAID or dual-OS situations with the 2 drives.
     
  21. brosenz macrumors regular

    brosenz

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    #21
    Is it possible to install 2 "Apricorn Velocity Solo x2 cards" in the same computer?
     
  22. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #22
    ^^^^As long as there is a free PCI slot - sure.

    Lou
     
  23. m4v3r1ck, Apr 4, 2014
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2014

    m4v3r1ck thread starter macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #23
    YMW and thanks for your input.

    Me too, so fingers crossed then! Problem now is that the OS X partition is not visable at bootscreen at all on the DUO. Great guys at Apricorn so they will surely workout something to resolve the issues.

    Do you mean running VMware Fusion in OS X using the bootable Windows 8 partition? I'm running VMware Fusion myself.

    ----------

    Tried both the SOLO & DUO, but in my MP 3.1 a no-go! My plan was setting up a SSD raid0 on the DUO for OS X and single SSD on the SOLO for Windows 8. Very glad to see that the SOLO now works in AHCI mode in Windows 8. Quite a speedbump there.

    Bootproblems seem to be happening with the DUO. AFAIK Apricorn is working on all reported issues.
     
  24. m4v3r1ck, Apr 4, 2014
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2014

    m4v3r1ck thread starter macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #24
    My slots:

    1. GTX-670 PC
    2. DUO (now replaced by SOLO)
    3. Nvidia 8800GT Mac
    4. spare

    Waiting for the feedback from Apricorn on the slots.
     
  25. hfg macrumors 68040

    hfg

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
    #25
    I have had the "Boot Option" screen problem come and go with my Sonnet Tempo Pro dual drive card ... it's working now, but I don't know what I did to enable that. Sonnet was able to reproduce the problem (I was on a MP 3,1 at the time, now on a 5,1).

    The Solo x2 card does not achieve double throughput speeds if both SATA channels are operating at the same time (such as in RAID-0 with a single card) due to a single controller for both ports. This speed limitation "may" occur with virtual machines using the bootable Windows image (VMware or Parallels) since both OS X and Windows installations are being accessed through the 2 separate SSD interfaces. I haven't tried it... and don't know how you would measure it since it would only occur within the VM.

    I have 2 of the Solo x2 cards and was never able to get them to work at the same time ... but I was also fighting controller conflicts with several different eSATA cards (including CalDigit eSATA/USB3.0). Once I removed the eSATA card and went totally USB 3.0 for external drives, I was able to get my current configuration working (MP 5,1):

    -- OS X on Sonnet Tempo Pro with RAID-0 SSD
    -- Windows 8.1 on Solo X2 SSD
    -- Inatek 4-port USB 3.0 (new Mac version)
     

Share This Page