iPad Pro Duet Display on iPad Pro

Discussion in 'iPad' started by mrnoisytiger, Jan 23, 2016.

  1. mrnoisytiger macrumors newbie

    mrnoisytiger

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    #1
    Since Duet Display is now on sale, do you think it would be worth it to use on an iPad Pro? It might be interesting to use as a 13" monitor, but considering that the iPad Pro needs 12W to charge, the battery drain might be kicking in. Any experiences with it?
     
  2. Macalway macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    #2
    I've heard it works pretty good. I'm going to do that myself.

    The newest claim is that they reduced the Desktop cpu load by 50%, and did something for the iPP.

    Im waiting for my new Pro, but I also just bought 'Astropad' which people seems to like on the iPP, as it uses the pen and makes it into something like a Wacom Cintiq, apparently.

    Anyway, good reviews all around.
     
  3. Leo90 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    #3
    I use my iPad Pro quite a lot with Duet and it works great! I've never observed any battery drain. Actually I always end up fully charging my iPad after working a few hours with Duet.
     
  4. soulreaver99 macrumors 68020

    soulreaver99

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Location:
    Southern California
    #4
    I use it with my rMB all the time as a second screen and it's fantastic especially when working on the go. And yes with the latest version it does charge the iPad instead of draining the battery when using it
     
  5. ferjilo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2015
    Location:
    w Polska
    #5
    It works pretty well. While traveling is great to have 2 screens, it's worth the purchase.
     
  6. ifman macrumors member

    ifman

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    #6
    For eight bucks, yeah easy decision ...... and it was easy to setup and makes a great second monitor for the laptop when traveling.
     
  7. mojo522 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    #7
    I love it. Works with Windows also if you have the need.
     
  8. friedmud macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #8
    Agreed - it works well... Definitely worth the $
     
  9. lewbone macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2016
    #9
    I just switched to a MacBook Pro Retina, and I've found that using a 1080p monitor (connected via HDMI) has been an eye sore. Going back and forth from the Retina display to 1080 is really annoying. Stupid question, but if you use Duet Display and an iPad Pro as the secondary monitor, will you get the same Retina resolution on the iPad Pro as you do on the Macbook? I've been on the fence as to get an iPad Pro or not, but if I can also use it as a secondary monitor (with Retina quality) this I will definitely be getting one.
     
  10. sjleworthy, Jan 26, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2016

    sjleworthy macrumors 65816

    sjleworthy

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Location:
    Penarth, Wales, UK
    #10
    i find it quite laggy between my Pro and PC whilst using higher res displays, which itself isn't too joyous to use either.

    /edit

    As mentioned below, image qualitry is pretty ropey too.
     
  11. sevimli macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    #11
    I was using it with their earlier version on my Ipad Pro just fine.

    Currently I am not getting any sharp image as I used to get, I tried all available resolution settings still same. I was not having this problem before. Other than this, it does what it says just fine.
     
  12. sergioarista macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    #12
    Yes. I use it that way with a rMB and works pretty well.
     
  13. mrnoisytiger thread starter macrumors newbie

    mrnoisytiger

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    #13
    Thanks guys! I decided to get it and it works surprisingly well!

    I tried running my very CPU hungry iTunes visualizer on the iPad Pro with Duet and it worked flawlessly. Not much battery drain. The battery remained pretty much constant throughout the use, so I guess that's ok.
     
  14. cc00lltt00nn macrumors member

    cc00lltt00nn

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Location:
    Buford, GA
    #14
    I have a three-monitor setup in my office, so the second display on the go is very nice. I use it at work when I'm in lengthy meetings with heavy Excel use. I've been pretty impressed with it. There is a little bit of lag and I can't use it at full resolution because the text becomes too small, so it's not a very sharp image. Still well worth the money though!
     
  15. kapp2 macrumors 6502

    kapp2

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2015
    Location:
    Denmark
    #15
    Can the iPad only be used as extra monitor. or, is it possible to have the hole Win/OSX OS menu on iPad with Duet display ? :)
     
  16. TWO2SEVEN macrumors 68040

    TWO2SEVEN

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Location:
    Plano, TX
    #16
    Decided to download it for fun even thought I only have a Mini 3 :)
     
  17. TWO2SEVEN macrumors 68040

    TWO2SEVEN

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Location:
    Plano, TX
  18. cc00lltt00nn macrumors member

    cc00lltt00nn

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Location:
    Buford, GA
    #18
    I've gotten it to work with my Dell work laptop, but it keeps freezing when I try it on my rMBP. Any suggestions?
     
  19. KPOM macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #19
    I bought it as part of the sale and have been very happy with it. The iPad Pro's size makes it a perfect second monitor for my work notebook. I have not noticed any issues with the battery.
    --- Post Merged, Jan 29, 2016 ---
    Make sure you are using a "native" resolution, such as 1366x1024. Duet Display doesn't support 2732x2048, so the other resolutions are scaled. 1366x1024 is an even 2x so image quality is good.
     
  20. AppleFan360 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    #20
    I downloaded Duet yesterday and tried it out with my iPad Pro and 2015 MacBook Pro. It works amazingly well! Well worth the $8 for sure.
     
  21. sevimli macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    #21

    I am having battery problem, it drains fadter than it charges, so after a while i am getting low battery message. How is it working out for you?
     
  22. borgusio macrumors regular

    borgusio

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    #22
    Guys, how do you adjust size of text on the iPad monitor? I use an iPad air, and the fonts are a bit too small for me.
    Can I change resolution?
     
  23. AppleFan360 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    #23
    Yes, just go into the display settings on the MacBook. You can change the resolution/scaling in there.
     
  24. KPOM macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #24
    If you are using it with a Windows PC, make sure it is plugged into a "charging" USB port. On my work PC, I have 3 USB ports, but only one delivers a full charge. When I plug it into that one, it seems to keep up.
     
  25. borgusio macrumors regular

    borgusio

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    #25
    Thanks, I will try again. I also noticed that the mouse moves more slowly on the ipad vs. on the mac, but I am pretty sure that it depends on the resolution.
     

Share This Page