Dumb question about ethernet ports

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by minifridge1138, Mar 12, 2011.

  1. minifridge1138 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    #1
    I feel dumb for asking this, but what am I supposed to do with 2 NIC cards?
     
  2. diamondschwin macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    #3
    In my line of work one NIC is connected to network attached storage server for video media, the other NIC is used for gigabit connection to the rest of the computers on the network as well as internet, I also have an ATTO fibre card on the PCIe bus for fibre attached storage.... So in my setup I have my computer connected to two completely separate ethernet networks and 1 fibre network
     
  3. Cynicalone macrumors 68040

    Cynicalone

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    Okie land
    #4
    I use one for my internet connection the other is used for iSCSI to a DroboPro.
     
  4. beto2k7 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Location:
    ::1
  5. kellen macrumors 68020

    kellen

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #6
    I use the spare for transferring large files from my mbp. The airport extreme isnt close enough to use as a router.
     
  6. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #7
    If you're running a server, one goes out to the internet, and one bridges it to the local network.
     
  7. minifridge1138 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
  8. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #9
    You could test Ethernet cables by connecting each end to one port and pinging yourself. :p
     
  9. reebzor macrumors 6502a

    reebzor

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #10
    I use 1 for OS X and the other is dedicated for my Windows VM.
     
  10. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #11
    here are two low cost nas options



    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...2108065&cm_re=synology-_-22-108-065-_-Product

    209 dollars


    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...2108042&cm_re=synology-_-22-108-042-_-Product



    150 dollars


    I have this one. ^ I have three computers and I use the nas like a clearing zone. If i record an eyetv show with any of the computers. Say the imac in the kitchen I move it to the nas and then watch it with the mac mini hooked up to the HT. If I really want to keep the show I move it to the mac pro.. You can put a 2tb samsung in it

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...2245&cm_re=samsung_2tb-_-22-152-245-_-Product


    on sale for 90 15 off with discount code. so for about 230 you have a 2tb workhorse that links all the computers together. if you buy the bigger one it is 210 plus 150 or 360 for a 4tb nas. 2 year warranty. I am happy with it so far.
     
  11. j2048b macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Location:
    Cali
    #12
    i have always wondered what this other nic is for as well, so what do u mean u use one for osx and 1 for windows virtual machine, or are you being sarcastic?

    if i have a seperate windows computer running, can i hook it derectly to the mac and still get internet to it and ....?

    so if i wanted to i could hook my server directly to my mac pro and transfer all movies and everything from my mac pro directly to the server? and it will still be on my network as well for all computers to see and watch movies and listen to music directly off of it?
     
  12. j2048b macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Location:
    Cali
    #13
    i am still perplexed on what i can totally use my second nic port for on my mac pro could someone enlighten me as i dont know if it automatically works if i say plug my windows computer directly into the second, or just plug it in a server and will every computer see my server on the network then or is it just in line with my mac pro then?

    thanks
     
  13. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #14
    It doesn't sound like you need the second ethernet port. Just ignore it.

    It's one of those things that if you needed it, you'd know what it was for.

    Basically it's for if you were using your computer as a router (say if you were running a VPN server) and you needed to be plugged directly into the internet, while sharing that internet with your network.

    Again, if you're not running a server, just leave it alone. Apple sells the Mac Pros as servers too, so server people need the port.
     
  14. j2048b macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Location:
    Cali
    #15

    sorry, i dont want to ignore it, i want to run this machine the best i can and use it as the central hub of all of my audio/video/pics and everything for my home theater network, so plex and so on will be displayed onto my tv and i can run playon, and everything else for my home theater.

    I am basically looking to hook my server up, and wondered if this second nic was the way to go or not?

    once i finally bite the bullet and install windows i would then be able to use the server on both os's and not have a seperate box running windblows!

    so will the server be able to be seen on the network being plugged into the the 2nd nic card then?

    thanks
     
  15. dimme macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Location:
    SF, CA
    #16
    I use mine for...

    @ work it is connected to a second network (closed)
    @ home I use it for my VM machines it gives me better performance.
     
  16. j2048b macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Location:
    Cali
    #17
    ok so virtual machines, explain this to me if you can? you mean an entirely different computer? because if that helps in performance then im all for it!

    thanks
     
  17. dimme macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Location:
    SF, CA
    #18
    When using VMware fusion I use the second port to connect to my switch (just like the first one) The network performance is better.

    Unless you have 2 separate networks, or using the macpro as a DHCP server or a iSCSI device there is really no need to use the second port.
     
  18. Zobec macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    #19
    Hi, eventually and hopefully one will become the I/O for the soundcard.
     
  19. seek3r macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    #20
    +1 (though the VM I give a dedicated port to is Debian)
     
  20. milbournosphere macrumors 6502a

    milbournosphere

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #21
    +1. Large file transfer over WiFi SUCKS. It's much easier to just connect my pro to the laptop i'm trying to transfer files from.
     
  21. j2048b macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Location:
    Cali
    #22
    ok so the second acts like an entirely seperate internet connection just for windows then, that is what i was wondering if i could do, does parallels also work this way?

    and if i have a server i could opt to connect that server to the second port instead of using as my connection for windows under a virtual environment aslo right?

    thanks this has all been pretty helpful!

    j
     
  22. dimme macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Location:
    SF, CA
    #23
    Not sure but it should
    Yes
     
  23. MacHamster68, Mar 25, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2011

    MacHamster68 macrumors 68040

    MacHamster68

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #24
    you could even use the two ethernet ports to increase internet speeds , by using one for downstream and one for upstream , ok its not that easy but more understandable as it depends on your router /dsl modem capabilities and how experienced you are with the terminal ;)
     
  24. j2048b macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Location:
    Cali
    #25
    so within terminal you can tell each ethernet port to accept or send ?

    so what about a verizon dsl modem any experience with that? just thought i would ask?

    if i could get my stuff faster i am all for that!

    thanks
     

Share This Page