Eating Healthy

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by Sideonecincy, Mar 26, 2012.

1. Sideonecincy macrumors 6502

I have no general knowledge of how to eat healthy. I have always had a fast metabolism and worked at jobs where I was on my feet for majority of the day. So I always ate whatever I wanted and never really gained weight. I know my metabolism has slowed down now, out of college and a few years into the professional workforce. I spend most of my day in cubicle hell, so I am noticing I am gaining weight. I weigh about 165, so not overweight but I want to get back to about 140-145.

My current food habits are typically fast food, frozen pizzas, burgers, chicken, peanut butter, chips, hotdogs and general other crap. The only positive thing is that I have cut back my pop consumption pretty drastically in the last month. I went from about 8-12 to 2-3 cans a day and drink about 48-64oz of water a day now.

I can't remember when the last time I ate vegetables or fruit. So how do you learn to eat healthy? How do you drastically change your diet? How do you get a better idea of what you should and shouldn't be eating?

Thanks

2. eric/ Guest

eric/

Hate to tell you this, but take everything you are eating sans peanut butter and stop eating it. Do not eat out at restaurants unless it's unavoidable/special occasion, and then review the nutritional information beforehand. That "healthy" grilled chicken sandwich is gonna bite you when you realize it's 1200 calories and 45 grams of fat.

Eat and drink food that would have been available in the 1700s.

Completely cut out pop/soda. Don't start drinking energy drinks.

Watch your caloric intake.

Exercise.

That weight will melt off.

3. concernedone macrumors regular

concernedone