EDGE not working on iphone 5

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Namz, Mar 22, 2013.

  1. Namz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2013
    #1
    Hey I really need some help,

    I only get service when my iphone 5 captures a 3G network. If it doesn't, it gives me "no service", meaning that EDGE doesn't work. If I disable the 3G in settings, I will never get a service, it will always show "no service". Even if I turn off the cellular data, I wouldn't get service unless I'm in a 3G area. EDGE doesn't seem to exist on my iphone 5.

    I tried all the restore/reset options possible, it didn't work. The issue is from the phone, not the SIM card. I tried my SIM on another iphone, it works perfectly. I tried other SIMs on my iphone, and still no EDGE.

    Does anyone else have this problem? Can someone help me? It drives me crazy because I live in an area where I don't get a lot of 3G network, therefore I often have "no service".
     
  2. ManuCH macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #2
    It sounds like your iPhone is defective. Have it exchanged at an Apple Store.
     
  3. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #3
    Also remember most edge transmitters are being converted to 4g so there may not be an edge service avalible to you.
     
  4. Max(IT) Suspended

    Max(IT)

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    Italy
    #4
    If your sim in another phone in the same place shows edge, then your iPhone is defective.

    Anyway how could you disable 3G in your iPhone 5 ???
    On my I could only disable LTE ....
     
  5. iHEGGSY macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    #5
    ^^^

    My Network in the UK (O2 UK) doesn't even have 4G, never mind LTE haha, so the only option you get in settings is "disable/enable 3G"
     
  6. Satnam1989 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Location:
    Illinois
    #6

    whats the carrier?
     
  7. apollo1444 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Location:
    mexico
    #7
    are you sure your carrier is capable to fall back to a 2G network? there are carriers who don't even have EDGE/GPRS to fall back...

    where do you live and what carrier are you using?
     
  8. Namz thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2013
    #8
    Yeah my carrier is capable on getting EDGE because when I put my SIM on another phone, EDGE works fine. I got it to an apple place, and they said it's not a hardware problem. They couldn't figure it out!
     
  9. moon spell macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2014
    #9
    i unlocked iphone from 3 austria, after this im have exactly same problem like u, accept i get signal on 3g but even signal it can ring only, i cant hear or other person hear, like block between my and the caller, i called apple they said they cant do any thing as my iphone out of warrant, i restored it, reset carrier settings, called 3 austria for it, and they told me to call apple,

    i wonder what to do in this iphone 5, no one can find problem like this

    any suggestion also?
     
  10. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #10
    That's strange...I'm with O2 UK and both options are available to me. Enable 3G or Enable 4G the 4G option appears when I activate mobile data ( iPhone 5S)

    Of course, it just reverts to 3G but it's been there since I got the phone.
     
  11. moon spell macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2014
    #11
    i called apple again now,a nd they said they cant help againa s its out of warranty, i told them this defective is from factory, but no joy

    any suggestion what is the fault is?
     
  12. b0fh666 macrumors 6502a

    b0fh666

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    Location:
    south
    #12
    is yours the 'world' model ? mine is, and it does not even has the option to disable 3g. to me it means it is uncapable of doing 2g
     
  13. moon spell macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2014
    #13
    i serach the model, and this model is similar to sprint fones, its like has system inside that make it different,
    as i said it was from austria, and it support cdma and edge,
    its in ios 7.0.6 now,press in (carrier) u will find option for 2 and 3g?

    i start feel bad from apple,
     
  14. moon spell macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2014
    #14
    any one can suggest solution? or what is the fault?
     
  15. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #15
    Where are you OP? In the US many markets are slowing/shutting EDGE/2G services down in order to make room for LTE and enhanced 4G/3G services.

    Europe I think skipped EDGE all together.
     
  16. moon spell macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2014
  17. Bacong macrumors 68000

    Bacong

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Location:
    Westland, Michigan
    #17
    When my band was on tour over the summer, I got Edge coverage but it barely functioned. I couldn't even really use the internet.
     
  18. moon spell macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2014
    #18
    u think my phone not have problem? but why other iphone 5 doesnt have same fault?
     

Share This Page