Editing post, Vote now button?

Discussion in 'Site and Forum Feedback' started by yagran, Jun 13, 2007.

  1. yagran macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Location:
    Brighton, East Sussex, UK
    #1
    Ok so when i edit my posts, instead of edit now button im now getting a vote now button? :confused: any ideas?

    [​IMG]
     
  2. eluk macrumors 6502a

    eluk

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Location:
    East London, UK
    #2
    Interesting. I have just tried an edit and did not get a vote button. Was there a poll attached to the thread?
     
  3. yagran thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Location:
    Brighton, East Sussex, UK
    #3
    nope i get it every time as well, even if i edit the post i made here...
     
  4. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
  5. yagran thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Location:
    Brighton, East Sussex, UK
    #5
    very strange isnt it, im using safari 3.0 btw...
     
  6. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #6
    Same here
     
  7. TheAnswer macrumors 68030

    TheAnswer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    #7
    MacNut brought this up yesterday in this thread. He was on the Safari beta and I've seen it a couple of time on the Safari beta as well. Not consistently enough to finger it as the perpitrator, but it's definitely to be considered the prime suspect.
     
  8. kwood macrumors 6502a

    kwood

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Location:
    In the Great White North.
    #8
    Anyone try pressing it? I am not seeing it when I edit posts.


    EDIT: As of right now I am on a Windows XP comptuer runnin IE 7.
     
  9. yagran thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Location:
    Brighton, East Sussex, UK
    #9
    yes when you press it it has the normal action of completing the edit
     
  10. eluk macrumors 6502a

    eluk

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Location:
    East London, UK
    #10
    Could be the difference as I was possibly on Firefox.

    Edit: Interestingly I thought I caught a glimpse of this button, as I didn't preview it flashed by.

    This edit in Safari 3 - no button. :(
     
  11. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    I get a vote now too, I'm on Safari 3 as well.

    EDIT: I don't I get Save actually. FWIW Vote now does actually save the edit ;).
     
  12. dernhelm macrumors 68000

    dernhelm

    Joined:
    May 20, 2002
    Location:
    middle earth
    #12
    I had to try this on Safari 3.0.1 on windows...

    Nope - get a Save button.

    Don't see it on Safari 3.0.1 mac either.
     
  13. kwood macrumors 6502a

    kwood

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Location:
    In the Great White North.
    #13
    It seems to be intermittent. But I have only ever noticed it on occasion in Safari 3 for Mac.
     
  14. iToaster macrumors 68000

    iToaster

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    Location:
    In front of my MacBook Pro
    #14
    Whoa, that's weird... maybe you get to vote to change your post:confused: . I take it that the problem is something with Safari 3, I'm sure it will be fixed, but whoa.
     
  15. iBookG4user macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #15
    I've had this happen as well and I'm also using the Safari 3 beta. And it's not limited to this forum, It happens on another forum I frequent.
     
  16. yagran thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Location:
    Brighton, East Sussex, UK
    #16
    so the real question.. how do i report a this bug to apple, i mean how do i explain it?
     
  17. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
  18. Peace macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #18
    Lets see if I get it too..

    [edit]

    Did this twice.It seems intermittent.I cut off the blue edit quote buttons in the first grab.

    Safari 3.0
    [/edit]
     

    Attached Files:

  19. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #19
    I've seen it intermittently as well on the Mac (Safari 3). I use the PC infrequently enough that I don't know if it's an issue there. I've seen other odd behavior on the PC version, though - menus in the wrong spot, etc.
     
  20. xsedrinam macrumors 601

    xsedrinam

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    #20
    I've noticed it just once. Has anyone actually clicked on "vote now"? Wonder what it does? :)
     
  21. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #21
    It saves the post and also enters your vote for Sara in So You Think You Can Dance. Hey, she's cute, and I wanted her to make it to the next week, so I edited the vB code a bit.
     
  22. mattscott306 macrumors 68040

    mattscott306

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    #22
    Can we alter it to vote for Shauna? Shes hotter...
     
  23. Peace macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #23
    I dunno..

    It's a choice between Sara and Jaimie.

    remember YOU started it jsw :D
     
  24. xsedrinam macrumors 601

    xsedrinam

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
  25. kainjow Moderator emeritus

    kainjow

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2000
    #25
    I just got this again, it's happened before. Running Safari 3.0.4...
     

Share This Page