Educational Discount Question

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Pengapine, Mar 10, 2011.

1. Pengapine macrumors member

Just curious...

So as the good older brother that I am, I bought my brother a 13" mbp online using his educational discount. It doesn't seem that they ask too many questions....it looks like everyone can just choose a school and then buy the laptop.

So it got me thinking, next time I get a mac...maybe my brother can get one for me :D using his educational discount. Do they ever verify anything at all?

2. greytmom, Mar 10, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2011

greytmom macrumors 68040

greytmom

I can't say whether they EVER do so, but I can say they've never asked me for verification.

And before someone gets all bent out of shape about me being dishonest - the first time I used the discount, I was a student myself, as well as my daughter, who still is a student.

3. dwhynman macrumors regular

I have never been checked online. they do check in store to see a school ID to get the discount. I don't really think it matters if someone gets a discount since it really only saves you the tax and you can get that same savings from many online resellers. So no one should feel bad about using the edu discount.

4. reneesees macrumors newbie

Oh geez. I think I made an educational discount mistake. I searched but did not find an answer and don't want to start another new thread on discounts drawing attention to my very real error.

I purchased a MBP last week; the school my kids attend (catholic k-12) was on the list and when it came up, the option was to "purchase for yourself." So I did.