Carrier EE iPhone 7 Plus 4G

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by ballsop, Sep 29, 2016.

  1. ballsop macrumors regular

    ballsop

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    #1
    Apologies to those still waiting for their delivery....

    But has anyone noticed a frequent switching between 4G and 3G on EE?
    I work in London and have always had 4G at my desk as well as certain stations along my train route.

    Just wondering if i'm alone or if it's the new Sim/Phone?
     
  2. Aneres11 macrumors 65816

    Aneres11

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    #2
    I am on EE on a Plus, and I've found that I never get more then 3 'bars' / 'dots' of 4G signal.

    I got 4 bars when I was in Manchester on Monday, but that's it.

    I've come from Vodafone (where signal was better for me) so don't have anything to compare it to other than that.
     
  3. ballsop thread starter macrumors regular

    ballsop

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    #3
    I see. In London when i do get 4G it's usually 4-5 bars but it suddenly switches to 3G. I've been with EE since the iPhone 5 and never had this issue.

    Do the more technical amongst us know if the new sim card could be doing it?
     
  4. bodajmac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    #4
    just to add i'm on ee with a 7+ and am definitely seeing a lot more switching between 4G and 3G than on my old 6+ - not able to venture any suggestions as to why unfortunately!
     
  5. Browno01 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012
    #5
    I'm having very similar issues on my 7 Plus connecting to EE 4G.

    Colleague is sat next to me with an iPhone 6s on EE with 4G, I however am only getting 3G...
    He's on 10.0.2, i'm on 10.1beta 2 with carrier profile EE 26.0
     
  6. DB2k macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    #6
    there appears to be an issue with the iphone 7 devices where they don't camp on 4G very well and seem to prioritise 3G. Some people saying the 10.1 beta 2 or 3 have helped resolve it so I'm just waiting for 10.1 to come out, since I would like my phone to connect to 4G really.. although that said my battery life on 3G has been sweet compared to my 6 on 4G...! :)
     
  7. ballsop thread starter macrumors regular

    ballsop

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    #7
    I'm on the iOS 10.1 public beta 2 and the issue remains. Carrier version is 26
     
  8. ballsop thread starter macrumors regular

    ballsop

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    #8
    Okay i downloaded Public Beta 3. Will update tomorrow after some use at home and at work.
     
  9. shez macrumors member

    shez

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    #9
    I'm on BT, who own and piggyback on the EE network, using a 7+ and absolutely fine.
     
  10. ballsop thread starter macrumors regular

    ballsop

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
  11. MH01 macrumors G4

    MH01

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    #11
  12. Mr.C macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Location:
    London, UK.
    #12
    I've noticed the same issues on my 7 Plus too. When I had the 6 Plus and 6S Plus i got 4G most of the time. Now it seems a number of places where I use to get 4G I now only get 3G. It looks like there is a lot more switching going on between 4G and 3G on the 7 Plus.
     
  13. misterpip macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    #13
    I too am noticing some frequent switching between 3G and 4G - this is mostly during commute, but if i lose signal and get it back again, it will usually go to strong 3G, rather than 2-3 bar 4G (which is what i would prefer for faster performance)
     

Share This Page