El Capitan GM - iMAC upgrades fine - Kernel panic after power down and start up

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by tony_mac, Sep 13, 2015.

  1. tony_mac, Sep 13, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2015

    tony_mac macrumors newbie

    tony_mac

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    #1
    I successfully upgraded my Mac (27-inch, Mid 2011) 3.4 GHz Intel Core i7, 32 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 to El Capitan GM just fine and it came online and told me a few apps were not compatible and I updated them.
    I can put the computer to sleep and wake it up and login and everything runs fine.
    Issue:
    When I shutdown and power it back up I get a Kernel Panic failure every time and it will not boot any longer.
    Restore back to Yosemite and back in operation. I've even tried removing some login apps on start up prior to upgrading and it still encounters the Kernel panic upon power up.
    It runs great after initial upgrade reboot, but then after a shutdown and power on the Kernel panic happens...

    I have El Capitan GM running just fine on both my MacBook Air and MacBook Pro.
    I do notice if I select Command+R I have OS X Lion as a recovery OS.
    I simply reboot from my 1TB thunderbolt drive and restore back to Yosemite just fine. (SuperDuper)

    I was wondering if anyone has any suggestions as to why or if there are some measures I can take to identify and correct the issue.

    Any feedback would be appreciated.
    Thanks
    Tony

    Pic of Kernel Panic
     

    Attached Files:

  2. W1SS macrumors member

    W1SS

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    #2
    Uninstall virtualbox... Someone else on the forums had the same exact issue and was able to rectify it by uninstalling virtualbox.
     
  3. tony_mac, Sep 13, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2015

    tony_mac thread starter macrumors newbie

    tony_mac

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    #3
    I don'tt have virtualbox installed. I have Parallels but not virtualbox.
    I saw that also in the kernel panic screen. I never installed virtual box on my iMac..
    I assumed it had something to do with the new El Capitan load..

    I did a memory test, since I have 32 GB of RAM. Which the specs on this iMac officially supports 16 GB.
    I might try a clean install from a USB stick and see if it will work
     
  4. W1SS macrumors member

    W1SS

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2013
    #4
  5. Ritsuka macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    #5
    Even if you don't have virtual box installed now, the kernel panic says it crashed in a kernel extension installed by virtual box.
    So all you have to do is removed those kernel extensions from your system. Search for them on the disk on delete them.
     
  6. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #6
    As the post above mine says, Virtualbox is definitely the cause of your panic. It was installed on this computer, or an older one you migrated to this one. It's an old version, which is why it's incompatible.
    You may be able to get the computer to start up in safe mode by holding shift, then remove the following:
    in /Library/Extensions, anything starting with VBox
    in /Library/Application Support, the VirtualBox folder
    in /Library/LaunchDaemons and /Library/LaunchAgents, anything starting with org.virtualbox
    in your home/Library folder (hold the option key, go to the Go menu, select Library) look for LaunchAgents and delete anything in there that starts with org.virtualbox.

    There is a more thorough uninstallation script here which you can download and run in terminal:
    http://www.virtualbox.org/svn/vbox/...er/darwin/DiskImage/VirtualBox_Uninstall.tool
     
  7. tony_mac thread starter macrumors newbie

    tony_mac

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    #7

    I searched all the folders you specified above and ran the uninstall tool in the terminal also.
    I did find 4 files in the /Library/Extensions folder labeled VBox with a file date of 2011 and deleted them.
    If the script found any I did not see any in the terminal window output.
    I purchased this iMac used in 2012, so the previous owner must have installed virtualbox at some point.
    Thanks for the direction, I will re-attempt the download/install and let you know how it goes.
    Tony
     
  8. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #8
    Those should have been the root of your problem. In general, when buying a used computer, it's best to do a clean install, just to avoid issues like this. I'd strongly consider doing that with 10.11.
     
  9. tony_mac thread starter macrumors newbie

    tony_mac

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    #9
    chrfr:
    Thanks for the corrective action to take. It is greatly appreciated.
    I now have my iMac on 10.11 and rebooted just fine after the upgrade.
    I only had one app to update, SpamSieve for my Mail client and that updated to the beta version just fine.

    This re-instills my faith in users helping users in the MacRumors forums. I've lend my expertise in other forums and have helped users also.

    Thanks again getting me past that road block.

    Tony
     
  10. Fishrrman macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #10
    I, too, am getting a kernel panic at "restart" or "shutdown".

    The kernel panic then reboots automatically, BUT....
    ... the "reboot" is to a different volume -- the volume (10.8.5) that I normally have specified as the boot volume in the "startup disk" preference pane.

    This doesn't effect El Capitan from a "fresh start" (holding down the option key to invoke startup manager, and then selecting EC manually from which to boot).
    When I do that, EC boots and runs smoothly. Runs fine.

    The only problem is when I go to shut down or restart.
    Then..... CRASH!

    Might be a firmware problem (late-2012 Mac Mini i7).
    Might be some incompatibility with the fact that I have an older volume (that isn't fully compatible with CORE storage) as my normal boot volume.
    Might be a problem as the OS "tidies up" and writes to certain files or caches at shutdown.
    Not sure.
     
  11. code4power macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2015
    #11
    the same problem. .. What's resolution?
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page