Emulator Enhancer.....

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by deceptichop, Feb 26, 2009.

  1. deceptichop macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    #1
    It was either this one or the Apple Apps thread. I hope this is the correct one.

    Hey fellow Apple Fanatics! Here' s my question. I DL'd the lastest version of Emulator Enhancer and the latest Nestopia. Im trying to make my Logitech Dual Action controller work. So far I have ZERO function of my controller, AND I can not get the EE to open/ run.

    The Nestopia works great, but I have to use my keyboard. I have no problem paying Richard the $30. I have emailed him telling him that I have installed EE properly, but it will not work /open. The Nestopia is not picking up the EE.

    Unfortunatley Richard has not been helpful. Does anyone here know how to get EE to work? Thanks guys!
     
  2. Mr. lax macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #2
    Just use the keyboard, there has never been a problem for me...
     
  3. deceptichop thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    #3

    The keyboard for me is HORRIBLE!! I really want to be able to use the control pad purchased.

    Have you tried the Nestopia/EE Mr. Lax?
     
  4. Mr. lax macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #4
    Ya, i sure have, although all i play is Super Mario Bros 3. I had problems with it at first, but after a few changes to the controls i find the system really good!
     
  5. Mr. lax macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #5
    Actually on closer inspection of your post, i have never used the EE, but i have used nestopia quite a bit
     
  6. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #6
    Why on gods great earth would anyone actually pay money to get features present in EVERY PC emulator?

    It's ridiculous. He couldn't charge for the emulator app itself, since they're running code that isn't the emulator 'developers'. But he can charge for something as simple as controller support. It's madness.

    Easy solution; Crossover. Or if you can use Bootcamp. Don't give that guy a penny.
     
  7. Miharu macrumors 6502

    Miharu

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Location:
    Finland
    #7
    Yeah, it's odd to charge for those, but it's not necessary as EE works fine without registering. All of his emulators and EE works just fine for me, have tried on 2 Macs.

    I hope you didn't pay $30 already, if it's not even working for you. Did you notice there are 2 different Library-folders, one is in /Library/Application Support which is where you are supposed to put Emulator Enhancer, another Library folder is in /Users/yourname/Library/Application Support which is the wrong one. This is probably why Nestopia can't find EE.
     
  8. deceptichop thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    #8
    Thanks for the 411 Ragged. I will try both of these of these programs. What emulator do you suggest for my nes games?
     
  9. deceptichop thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    #9
    Thanks for the reply Miharu. Ya man, I placed the bundle in the proper folder. Still wont work.

    And Richard hasnt helped whatsoever. If he would of helped, I would of gladly paid him $$

    Im going to try to use Crossover and another emulator to see if that works.
     
  10. deceptichop thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    #10

    Mirharo, you said you have got the EE to work with Nestopia. Were you able to get a control pad to work? Even if you got the pad to work, were you able to confiqure it?

    I tried Crossover, and the nes games are greyed out. Even if Crossover would of worked, who knows if I would be able to get the control pad to work.

    I tried Gamepadcompanion before. That almost worked. I was able to get almost half of the pad to work.

    So it looks like the ONLY way I can play nes games WITHOUT the keyboard on my Mac is litterally impossible
     
  11. deceptichop thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    #11

    Hey Ragged. I was able to DL Crossover and install it. I was albe to open the Nester Emulator to play some of my backed up NES games. (I purchased these games 15 years ago) with my keyboard, but still no gamepad support.

    What should I do to finally get my Logitech Dual Pad to work?

    How can i
     
  12. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #12
    I don't use Crossover so I don't know. But in Parallels there used to be settings to configure USB controllers and other devices. Personally I use Bootcamp for all my gaming and I've never hit any problems, but I use a 360 controller so it's really easy to set up with Windows.
     
  13. Miharu macrumors 6502

    Miharu

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Location:
    Finland
    #13
    Gamepads do work through VMWare Fusion (it's like Parallels), I have installed Windows XP and was playing a GBA emulator through it. Can't say for sure about Crossover though.

    But it's not convenient to play like that and I wouldn't wish for such a solution, as it's quite certain you can get this to work somehow. Have you tried another emulator and see how it works with EE?

    Perhaps the problem is in the gamepad itself. GamepadCompanion should work properly. Here is another program that you can use to test your gamepad:
    http://www.versiontracker.com/dyn/moreinfo/macosx/22834
     
  14. deceptichop thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    #14


    THanks for the info Miraru. I DL'd the software. The bottons on my control pad showed up, however when I went to hit save it said " Cannot save Dual Logitech txt)"

    And Ive got many NES emulators to work, but just havent got EE to work. Therefore I have ZERO gamepad support. GamepadCompanion worked maybe 20%.

    The controller I have is brand new. However, it may not work.

    Since I cant get EE to work with Nestopia what control pad do you suggest?

    Crossover does work, however I cant get full screen with my NES games like Nestopia.

    Ragged suggested the 360 control pad. Thanks for your time guys
     
  15. Miharu macrumors 6502

    Miharu

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Location:
    Finland
    #15
    There is one more thing I can think of, that would be to use USBOverDrive:

    http://www.usboverdrive.com/USBOverdrive/News.html

    to change your gamepad buttons to correspond keyboard buttons. That way you could use your gamepad in Nestopia without EE.
     
  16. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #16
    On the PC you have apps like Glovepie that can reroute any form of input (even a midi keyboard) to represent any other form of input. So you could play Mario Bros with a guitar if you wanted :D
    I don't know why I said that. Think it's just me thinking OSX needs an app like that. I play a few indie games that don't come with joypad support so Glovepie works a treat.
     
  17. deceptichop thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    #17
    Miharu, I DL'd USBOverdrive today. My control actually responds to the USBOverdrive window (where you can confiqure your pad)

    However, while running a NES game in Nestopia, I still have ZERO joystick function. I do however have the ability now to move my cursor around my screen. So USB is definately picking my joystick up, but not the Nes games :(

    What do you suggest? Thanks again Miharu
     
  18. Miharu macrumors 6502

    Miharu

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Location:
    Finland
    #18
    Set your gamepad with USBOverDrive to work as your keyboard, for example gamepad's 1 and 2 buttons as z and x keys, then configure Nestopia to have player 1's A and B buttons as z and x keys on your keyboard.

    Also, try another emulator (for example, http://www.bannister.org/software/sms.htm) and see if it pick up EE.
     
  19. deceptichop thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    #19
    It doesnt give me any option for my keyboard. I think the reason Im getting zero action with my pad is because of the red type I typed in the image below. LMK what you thin Miharu

    [​IMG]
     
  20. Miharu macrumors 6502

    Miharu

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Location:
    Finland
    #20
    You can take screenshots of your desktop with CMD + shift + 4, no need for a camera :)

    See where the keystroke box is? Click there with your mouse and press the left arrow on your keyboard. Now your gamepad's left button is the same as your keyboard's left arrow. Configure each gamepad button to correspond your keyboard, for example gamepad's buttons 1-4 could be z, x, c, v.

    Then launch Nestopia, and from it's preferences, assign the same buttons to work as player 1's buttons.
     
  21. deceptichop thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    #21
    Mirharu thanks man. I appriecate your time.

    I followed your instructions to the T. Unfortunately STILL zero. Absolutely nothing. Now, I cant even get the cursor to move. I have spent literally days trying to fiqure this out. All my hardware is brand new and software is up to date.

    I have offically givin up. Im going on Ebay now to just buy an old NES :(
     
  22. Miharu macrumors 6502

    Miharu

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Location:
    Finland
    #22
    Well it's a solution. I have 2 myself ;) But seriously, I ran out of ideas. You could of course install Windows through Boot Camp and try that, as there are plenty of good NES emulators for Windows. Boot Camp is very easy to install, but you need a copy of Windows XP or Vista for it.
     
  23. deceptichop thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    #23
    Ok, Im going to go for the Bootcamp! I just DL'd the drivers for it. Im going to find XP and DL that. Anything I should be aware of before I attempt to DL Bootcamp and XP? THanks again Miharu
     
  24. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #24
    Just get AVG and maybe a visit to Omegadrivers.net. That's all you need for XP (that's all I've been running for 2 years and I've never had a virus or problem). Bootcamp is the best option for this, btw. The emulators don't suck for one.
     
  25. deceptichop thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    #25
    Hey Ragged and Miraru,

    I now have Windows XP Pro Sp3 Vista Style. I also have the latest Bootcamp and AVG for protection. All this to try to make my control pad work with my NES roms.

    I have not installed any of these yet. Will this version of XP work with my set up? And where can I find the best "how to" online to install these programs on my MBP?

    Kinda nervous about putting Windows into my MBP. Anyway, i trust you guys. Thanks
     

Share This Page