Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

rjrankin83

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 9, 2010
Can somebody explain to me how to turn on tap to click without using a mouse? My trackpad clicker no longer works. I'm not very good at macs so please keep this in mind.
thanks

gr8tfly

macrumors 603
Oct 29, 2006
~119W 34N
http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1343

"Control-F7" will toggle Full Keyboard Access for All Controls. Once there, you should be able to select menu items, buttons, and controls with "space". Move between controls and buttons with "tab".

(note: To get "F7" instead of the << control (or other dedicated control, depending on model), you need to press the "Fn" key along with control.)

rjrankin83

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 9, 2010
thanks for your reply. I'm new to macs so excuse my ignorance. My mac is a 2006 macbook i've got the keyboard & mouse option open but am unable to click the clicking button ironically enough. i'm on another computer all together right now because i'm unable to do anything without this mouse. i've attempted your suggestion to no avail. when i use the space to click the clicking button it gives me a "that's not going to work" noise

gr8tfly

macrumors 603
Oct 29, 2006
~119W 34N
thanks for your reply. I'm new to macs so excuse my ignorance. My mac is a 2006 macbook i've got the keyboard & mouse option open but am unable to click the clicking button ironically enough. i'm on another computer all together right now because i'm unable to do anything without this mouse. i've attempted your suggestion to no avail. when i use the space to click the clicking button it gives me a "that's not going to work" noise

That means the "All Controls" option for Full Keyboard Access isn't enabled. Try hitting fn-ctrl-F7 again (once).