iPhone Enable simultations voice & data on any iPhone 5

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by palasmidas, Mar 8, 2013.

  1. palasmidas macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    #1
    For some reason some companies don't allow both voice and data to be used at the same time. Is there a jailbreak for this?
     
  2. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
  3. Carlanga macrumors 604

    Carlanga

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #3
    its not the company, but how the different networks work.
     
  4. BumpyFlatline macrumors 68030

    BumpyFlatline

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    #4
    Well it's not necessarily a corporate policy or anything like that. The reason Verizon and sprint devices can't do voice and data both at the same time is because its a technological limitation. There was a fairly big discussion on this recently here in the forums. If I remember correctly, there is no jailbreak tweak which will allow this. Sorry.
     
  5. palasmidas thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    #5
    Oh, CDMA, must be because 5 on Cricket, so I don't pay for the phone I was just wondering though.
     
  6. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #6
    It is currently not possible for the Verizon iPhone 5. It's a physical limitation. It has something to do with the iPhone only having one radio
     
  7. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #7
    CDMA iPhones can not do Data + Talk. Period.


    Yes and no. It's the network itself. Also, a space limitation for radio. Not to mention a chip issue. It is not limited to Verizon but all CDMA networks.

    It is best to stick to a GSM provider. Always.
     
  8. palasmidas thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    #8
    Is this because voice and data is on a single chip?
     
  9. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #9
    Read above.
     
  10. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #10
    Hmmm, I had thought when VoLTE comes out, it would be possible? Or did I misconfuse it
     
  11. palasmidas thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    #11
    It's worth being said that my iPhone 5 is a world phone, so it can do CDMA and GSM. I like CDMA because it's very cost effective.
     
  12. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #12
    Anandtech explains this limitation very well in their review article for the iPhone 5. Go over to them to learn why exactly. AT&T nor Verizon routes voice over LTE just yet. Just data.

    Cost effective? At what cost? Data + Talk? No thanks. Stick to GSM.
     
  13. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #13
    Really?:rolleyes:

    ----------

    Your phone can do it, your carrier cannot.
     
  14. palasmidas thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    #14
    It's the same thing as now video doesn't work in the background of ios, so I don't see the difference. All I see it more money in my account.

    oh. thanks again for the answers. very helpful.
     
  15. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #15
    What?
     
  16. palasmidas thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    #16
    In Safari, you used to be able to play a video, (like a news video) and then go and check the weather, or check your mail while you could still play the video in the background.

    in ios6, you can't.
     
  17. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #17
    How does having a CDMA phone give you more money in your account? Unless you're referring to not having to pay for roaming costs?
     
  18. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #18
    Still not making any sense. Why have a video playing in the background, when you can't even watch it? Makes no sense on a device as small as a phone.
     
  19. palasmidas thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    #19
    Because if I'm listening to what someone is saying on YouTube, I want to be able to do other things. Like download apps and check email. We've been multitasking like this for years.

    Well, you get more for less. Instead of 100's of dollars a month, I'd pay roughly half, without losing any benefits.
     
  20. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #20
    With straight talk or net10 you can get unlimited talk, text and data for $45 a month.
    And you will be able to do voice and data with a lot faster data speeds.
    There's many prepaid GSM carriers in the US around $40-50 a month with similar deals. Cricket is not the only "budget" carrier and IMO one of the worst ones out there.
     
  21. palasmidas thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    #21
    Well, knock out AT&T GoPhone out of the park because you get 1GB of data for $25. That's not a deal. Because once you run out, that's it.

    Cricket is not a company that you have to "top up" every month.
     
  22. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #22
    The AT&T gophone plans are pretty crappy.
    But there's straight talk, h20, net10, redpocket, simple mobile and many other US gsm carriers.
    You will get fast hspa+ speeds, talk and use data and wont have to suffer with crickets turtle slow cdma 3G data speeds.
     
  23. palasmidas thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    #23
    I don't really trust ST, I heard that they shut the Internet off after 100mb a day. If you really think about it, none of the USA carriers speeds are where they should be, except in certain places.
     
  24. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #24
    I havent used them personally but I heard they started throttling now instead of completelly closing down your line if you use up too much data in a month.
     
  25. palasmidas thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    #25
    Hmm. Phone plans are hard to choose. Right now I only have Cricker, but when the next iPhone comes out I may choose something else.

    Whatever is less work for me.
     

Share This Page