Enable Trim on Leopard?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by WalnutSpice, Mar 14, 2016.

  1. WalnutSpice Suspended

    WalnutSpice

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Location:
    Canton, Oh
    #1
    I decided to install Leopard on a small partition of my MacBook hard drive for PowerPC apps instead of hooking up my G5 all the time and everything is working just fine but I cannot find a way to enable TRIM, everywhere online is people asking how to on a PowerPC Mac, but mine is Intel so it should be there right?

    Also, mods, yes this is for an Intel Mac but if I ask over there they might not have the slightest clue about anything 10.5.8 related.
     
  2. val1984 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2015
    #2
    Since TRIM support was added in Snow Leopard 10.6.6, you're out of luck.
    Why are you still using Leopard on an Intel Mac? Snow Leopard is great, supports even the first Intel Macs and still supports PowerPC apps if that's what you're after.
     
  3. Hack5190 macrumors 6502a

    Hack5190

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    Location:
    Stuck on Earth in the USA
    #3
    Best of my knowledge there is no way to add / enable Trim on Leopard. @val1984's suggestion to use Snow Leopard would also be my recommendation for PPC compatibility on an Intel machine.
     
  4. WalnutSpice thread starter Suspended

    WalnutSpice

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Location:
    Canton, Oh
    #4
    I duel boot it with 10.11 so I can use Final Cut 4.5. And I hear Leopard emulates PowerPC apps faster than Snow Leopard, thats why I went with Leopard. Snow Leopard emulates them as if it were an 800MHz G4 (so I've read) but Leopard emulates it based on a faster PowerPC CPU (so I've read)
     
  5. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #5
    There's no significant difference in emulation speed between the two. Emulation speed is directly related to the actual speed of the CPU. The improved compatibility with everything else will make it much easier to use 10.6.8 than any version of Leopard.
     
  6. WalnutSpice thread starter Suspended

    WalnutSpice

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Location:
    Canton, Oh
    #6
    I honestly was going to go 10.6 but my legit Snow Leopard 10.6.3 DVD went bad so I used my Leopard USB I used on my iBook awhile ago. Well, off to ThePirateBay I guess.
     
  7. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #7
  8. WalnutSpice thread starter Suspended

    WalnutSpice

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Location:
    Canton, Oh
    #8
  9. mikiotty macrumors 6502

    mikiotty

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2014
    Location:
    Rome, Italy
  10. WalnutSpice thread starter Suspended

    WalnutSpice

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Location:
    Canton, Oh
    #10
    How so?
     
  11. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #11
    For starters - There's common reports of malware included with system installer torrents. OS X is not alone in that.

    Is your DVD physically broken, or badly scratched? If not, you can usually make a copy of that DVD (to a dual-layer DVD), and that copy will work fine.
    Even better, you can also make a partition on a hard drive, then copy the DVD, using Disk Utility/Restore function, to that partition. It would be bootable, and is a more reliable way to install OS X. An 8GB USB flash drive is ideal for that use.
     
  12. throAU macrumors 601

    throAU

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    #12
    Correct me if i'm wrong, but didn't snow leopard ditch Carbon?
    So there may be a reason (good reason? debatable, but still) to run 10.5.


    edit:
    but yeah, emulation speed, no difference. Snow leopard is better than leopard in all respects IMHO - unless you need Carbon and it isn't included (i'm not 100% sure, but i think i recall seeing a message about missing carbon support back in 09 on my Mini when i upgraded it to 10.6 with some ancient game).
     
  13. WalnutSpice thread starter Suspended

    WalnutSpice

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Location:
    Canton, Oh
    #13
    Yeah, my disk is badly scratched. I didn't think OS X could be hit with Malware like that though. I only figured that was a risk with Windows. Dumb to think, but yeah I'll just try and make a copy of my snow leopard dvd and it might work. It can still be used but takes around 15+ hours to install OS X and even bootcamp drivers. Flopping it over to a new DVD would probably help then.
     
  14. val1984 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2015
    #14
    Carbon is still supported in 10.11 and will be in 10.12 too and I don't think it's going away anytime soon.
    The only thing regarding Carbon is that it can't be used to write 64-bit apps but 32-bit apps run without problems on 10.11 (and I don't think that's going away anytime soon too).
    --- Post Merged, Mar 15, 2016 ---
    You could try to make a USB key installer then.
     
  15. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #15
    Snow Leopard was the last OS X system that could run PowerPC-coded apps (Remember Rosetta?)
    That emulation layer of support for PPC apps was dropped in Lion, so if your fav app does not have universal binary code included, then it won't run after upgrading to Lion or later.

    Carbon support is not part of the issue about support for PPC-only apps.
     
  16. throAU macrumors 601

    throAU

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    #16
    Aware that SL can run PPC, it's why i keep it around and WISH (and asked Apple) they would allow you to run the desktop version in a VM legally.

    However i'm sure there was something that wouldn't run in 10.6 that i could run previously in 10.5.

    It's been that long now though. Either way, if its just PPC you want, run 10.6. And look for new software because you're insecure...
     
  17. for this, Mar 15, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2016

    for this macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2014
    #17
    It seems incorporating this function into OS X is difficult.
    How about a utility that sends trimming command to the SSD manually?
    You just have to run it from time to time. Yeah, there is no PPC OS X version exist.
    But at least it looks like an easier route.
     
  18. Hack5190 macrumors 6502a

    Hack5190

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    Location:
    Stuck on Earth in the USA
    #18
    I'll be glad to review your code when its ready to release.
     
  19. 128keaton macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #19
    If you are willing to pay shipping, I've got a spare 10.6 disk. PM me.
     
  20. tdbmoss macrumors regular

    tdbmoss

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #20
    After Lion came out and they slashed the price of Server (now just an "app" rather than a proper server OS costing hundreds of £/$) you could call Apple and order Snow Leopard Server for a very low price (it was never listed on the online store) being sure to make clear you wanted Server and not the client version, I got the full retail 10.6 Server box set for £14 plus shipping from them - I'm guessing they have run out by now though.
     
  21. gavinstubbs09 macrumors 65816

    gavinstubbs09

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Location:
    NorCal boonies ~~~by Reno sorta
    #21
    You guys and torrents jeezus. Download Transmission (which is ad free), then find the 10.6.3 SL Retail DVD. There is no malware included with it and is a straight DMG that you can use to burn to a DVD.
     
  22. WalnutSpice thread starter Suspended

    WalnutSpice

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Location:
    Canton, Oh
    #22
    Lever said anything about Lion? I duel boot with El Capitan and Leopard and talked on upgrading to Snow Leopard. Lion isn't a part of this yo
    --- Post Merged, Mar 16, 2016 ---
    Yeah, I figured it'd be just fine. I'm not dumb enough to think Malware is entirely impossible to be on a Mac but I really never thought an OS X installer dmg from Kickasstorrents or Thepiratebay would be totally infested.
     
  23. jbarley macrumors 68030

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #23
    DeltaMac's post was more for information and as usual, good information YO!
     
  24. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #24
    If there's no malware in the DMG file, what about Transmission itself? ;)

    This was patched pretty quick, but it's still enough to make me stay away from Transmission. My older ad-free version of uTorrent still works just fine.
     
  25. WalnutSpice thread starter Suspended

    WalnutSpice

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Location:
    Canton, Oh
    #25
    I always only use uTorrent. Had bad first impressions with Transmission back in like 2010 just simply not working. So I went to uTorrent and never used anything else.
     

Share This Page