Enabling Multi-touch Gestures with Xcode

Discussion in 'iPad' started by NoIdea!, Apr 4, 2011.

  1. NoIdea! macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    #1
    Hi,

    I am considering d/l xcode from the app store on my MacBook Pro in order to enable multi-touch gestures on my iPad 2.

    Few questions -

    1. Is it safe to do this?
    2. Will it screw up my iPad 2, make it freeze or brick it?
    3. Will it void any warranty? (I have to take it back to the Apple Store in a week to have it replaced due to bad screen/light bleed)
    4. Can I easily remove it off the iPad by simply restoring the device?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Rasta4i macrumors regular

    Rasta4i

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Location:
    London
    #2
    1. Yes
    2. No, switching between apps will feel smoother and faster than every before
    3. No
    4. Yes

    Also you don't have to buy it from the mac store the xcode that came on yr disk of snow leopard should work... or you can sign up to the free developer program and download it for free. Those two options won't give you the latest version of xcode but it will work and is free...
     
  3. Fliesen macrumors 6502a

    Fliesen

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Location:
    Austria
    #3
    also, as it neither voids warranty nor has a negative influence on stability, you don't need to 'restore the device' if you wanna stop using the gestures
    you can just turn them off in the settings.
     
  4. NoIdea! thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    #4
    Cheers. Good to know it's legit and safe!
    I couldn't find it on the apple website so I went ahead and downloaded it from the app store and paid the 2.99. Taking an age to download though!

    Cheers.
     
  5. Rasta4i macrumors regular

    Rasta4i

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Location:
    London
    #5
    After I synced all my things onto the iPad the first thing I did was enable the gestures :D btw der is also a copy of xcode on yr OS X installation disc
     
  6. NoIdea! thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    #6
    Update - Downloaded, installed and enabled the multi-touch. Very quick (after the download) and works a charm!

    Nice one!
     
  7. vartanarsen macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    #7
    tried to do it on iPhone 4 too, but it wont work

    did it on my iPad 2, and works very nice
    Tries to do the same steps with iPhone 4, and feature doesnt exist in settings.... :(, maybe they just built it for iPad?
     
  8. erayser macrumors 65816

    erayser

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Location:
    San Diego
    #8
    I think it would be hard for people to use gesturing on an iPhone if you have big hands.:p

    I don't have a mac, so I used the icopybot method, and modified my plist in my backup file and restored it to enable gesturing on my iPad 2. I really like it a lot. I like not having to use my home button as much anymore.
     
  9. PBz macrumors 65816

    PBz

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    PVB, Florida
    #9
    Just recently did this and LOVE it.
    Not sure if related but as soon as Xcode was installed, iTunes was fried.. It couldn't backup my iPad or iPhone. Luckily there were some good results via Google-Apple Support and all is well now.

    Gestures on iPad rocks.
     
  10. Mattstkc macrumors 6502a

    Mattstkc

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #10
    this was the 2nd thing I did after snycing all my pre-downloaded apps to my new iPad. I would never go back. The only thing i need the home button for now is when I move an app to stop them all from shaking.. wish there was a gesture for that.
     
  11. Zimmy68 macrumors 65816

    Zimmy68

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    #11
    How about my situation...

    I have a MacBook Pro (08) but I synch my iPad 2 with my desktop PC.

    I guess I would:
    Install xcode on my MacBook.
    Synch the iPad 2 on the Mac with no apps, music, etc.
    Turn on Gestures,
    Re-setup on the PC.
    Restore from backup.

    Would that work?
     
  12. erayser macrumors 65816

    erayser

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Location:
    San Diego
    #12
    Just download iBackupBot on your PC, and use this method:
    http://www.icopybot.com/blog/enable-multitouch-gestures-on-ipad-without-jailbreaking.htm

    There is a link for the iBackupBot download on this page. Very simple and easy instructions.
     
  13. Dr Kevorkian94 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    SI, NY
    #13
    yes it does you dont have to sync with that computer to do it just connect it to xcode ->organizer -> use for development. i did this but i have a dev account so i didn't think it mattered. , but what i dont understand is y apple just leaves t up to just buying xcode and not a dev account. i guess it will sort of bump up sales for it but i dont like it.
     
  14. frunkis54 macrumors 65816

    frunkis54

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    #14
    what are all the gestures for doing everything if you enable it?
     
  15. vkuber macrumors regular

    vkuber

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Location:
    Mountain View, CA
    #15
  16. erayser macrumors 65816

    erayser

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Location:
    San Diego
    #16
    No prob. If anyone is wondering, I used this method after updating my firmware to 4.3.2, and it works great. It actually makes the iPad... so called multitask function... more functional when you do the 4 finger swipe up. And minimizing apps is a breeze with the 5 finger pinch. I hardly use my home button anymore. Best way not to get a home button failure is not to press it.:p

    I can see future iDevices not having a home button anymore... but not sure how it will affect jailbreaking since we use it to get into DFU mode.
     
  17. Charadis macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    #17
    - 4 finger (or 5 finger) pinch-in to exit app and go to Springboard (ie, same as pressing Home button once while in-app)

    - 4 finger (or 5 finger) swipe up to reveal apps in multitasking tray (ie, same as quickly pressing Home button twice)

    - 4 finger (or 5 finger) swipe to left or right while in-app to switch between apps currently running in multitasking tray (ie, same as opening multitasking tray and selecting app running in the background)


    -C


    Sent from my iPad
     
  18. shandyman Suspended

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #18
  19. Adam-Jobs macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
  20. frunkis54 macrumors 65816

    frunkis54

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    #20
    Cool thank you
     
  21. shandyman Suspended

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #21
    You can. See post 12. I did it on windows. Quick and easy!! Moreso than via Xcode.
     
  22. taylor200588 macrumors regular

    taylor200588

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Location:
    Arbroath, Scotland
    #22
    I enabled this the other day, it makes the whole experience on the iPad 2 so much better :D
     
  23. Adam-Jobs macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    #23
    Thanks so much dude <3

    Don't understand how I missed all the posts above me!
     
  24. erayser macrumors 65816

    erayser

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Location:
    San Diego
    #24
    LOL, this thread is still only 1 page.:)

    It is really easy to do, and so worth it.
     
  25. Charadis macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    #25
    No prob, bud.

    -C


    Sent from my iPad
     

Share This Page