Erase Raid from HDD (still using SSD for Boot)

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by ncc1701d, Nov 28, 2010.

  1. ncc1701d macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    #1
    I have a 2009 MacPro. SSD has the boot and apps from the 2nd Optical Drive. Original 1x4TB drives are in Raid 0 and have all the data (home folder etc). They also have the original OSX and apps which are no longer in use since everything boots off the SSD.

    I want to erase the 4 raid drives (disconnect raid all together) (data all backed up to a drobo). Use first 3 drives as new storage and the 4th as bootcamp.

    however, when I try to erase the raid data drives, it says it can't unmount the disk (yes, have no apps running other than disk utility from the SSD apps)

    Any help appreciated.
     
  2. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #2
    call up disk utility and click to raid option not erase.

    look for delete current raid. click the delete .

    the raid will be deleted. then partition and format each hdd.
     
  3. vicentk macrumors regular

    vicentk

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Location:
    Hong Kong
  4. Inconsequential macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    #4
    No it doesn't. :)
     
  5. ncc1701d thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    #5
    It's going to take a while for me to restore everything back, but hopefully I'll get this done. Thanks!
     
  6. ncc1701d, Nov 28, 2010
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2010

    ncc1701d thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    #6
    Still no luck with this.

    When I open Disk Utility there is nothing about "delete current raid" under either the "Apple Raid Card Media" or the created Raid array "Macintosh HD". I can create a new raid set, but that seems to be about it.

    The only thing I can see that looks like what you're saying is when I select "apple Raid Card Media", an option appears called "partition". I then have the option to select the current "volume scheme", which I can click the "-" button to "delete the selected partition and erase the data on it".

    But, when I try that, back to the same old message - could not unmount disk


    Addition: Would disconnecting the SSD and booting back up with the old OSX on the original 4 HDD's help out / make any difference?

    Addition 2: Would the fact that my home folder is redirected to a folder on my HDD's be the problem?
     
  7. onetimeking macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    #7
    Any luck with this? I have the same issue. Actually think it might be a hardware issue, because I had the same issue when swapping drives.
     

Share This Page