Error when updating to 4.0 beta 1 (yes my UDID is on file with a dev)

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by wildonrio, Apr 8, 2010.

  1. wildonrio macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    #1
    My UDID is on file with a dev, I confirmed it.

    I have tried updating to 4.0 beta by updating from 3.1.3, restoring from Recovery Mode, and restoring from DFU mode. All yield the same error:

    "The iPhone could not be restored. An unknown error occurred (13)."

    What is the process here for those who have successfully updated to 4.0 beta?
     
  2. goobot macrumors 603

    goobot

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Location:
    long island NY
    #2
    did you download the right file for your device?
     
  3. wildonrio thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    #3
    Yes, I have an iPhone 3GS and the file is for iPhone2,1.
     
  4. nickspohn macrumors 68040

    nickspohn

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    #4
    Do you have the latest version of iTunes? (9.1)

    Try updating on a different computer if you can if nothing else works.

    -nick
     
  5. eezing macrumors 6502

    eezing

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    #5
    I did this for my 3G 8GB:

    1. Downloaded beta off of official dev site (i have a dev account).

    2. iTunes > Option key + Restore

    3. installed and I'm up and running.

    Make sure your iTunes is up to date!
     
  6. wildonrio thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    #6
    Different computer, some error. I'm on 9.1 too. Crap, now my phone is bricked until I can figure this out.
     
  7. guru_ck macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    #7
    I got the same exact error when trying to upgrade on my PC. When I tried on my Mac it worked fine.
     
  8. wildonrio thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    #8
    Thank you! I'll try it on my roommate's Mac.
     
  9. dtlee1974 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    #9
    Yep, same here. Error 13 trying to update on my PC at work but working fine now from my MBP at home. Probably something broken in iTunes on PC.
     
  10. treichert macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Location:
    Aachen, Germany
    #10
    Happened to me when I chose to update to 4.0 and had to little free space on the iPhone.

    Had to restore with 4.0 and everything's fine now.
     
  11. rossihvac macrumors regular

    rossihvac

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    #11
    same thing happened with me, i used a different computer (mac) and it worked
     
  12. michael31986 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #12
    HOw can I get4.0 legally. No trying to get banned just asking. Please don't ban me. I want to get it legally I have. 3g but still wanna try some stuff out. I have a pc though.
     
  13. I'm a Mac macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    #13
    Like you, I have a dev account and I downloaded the 2,1 ipsw file, but I've been scared to click the button- I can deal with a few bugs, I just wanted to know if you had any problems restoring from a backup, as I don't want to lose all that app data, settings, etc. Do third party apps work okay?
     
  14. duky macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #14
    developer.apple.com
     
  15. WYSE macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    #15
    grr im so mad, i tried installing 4.0 for like 2 hours until i stumbled upon this thread! Apparently from other forums you can only upgrade to 4.0 betas via a Mac. Sucks! I have a PC and i want to install this sooo badly!
     
  16. fraggot macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Location:
    Cox's Creek, KY
    #16
    I've had the same error for awhile now and just can't get 4.0 to work. My phone was bricked until I went to my other PC which is running XP instead of Windows 7 64bit and was at least able to restore back to 3.1.3.

    I'm wondering if they've made it so it ONLY works on a Mac now. I'll be able to test it tomorrow at work since we used Macs.
     
  17. pesos macrumors 6502a

    pesos

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    #17
    I also was unable to flash to 4.0 using my main workstation (win7 x64). Had to fire up the macbook I keep around for testing in order to successfully update my 3gs...

    (received same error as OP)
     
  18. bmwhd macrumors 6502a

    bmwhd

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    #18
    This truly sucks. I don't have access to a Mac. $99 down the drain. :(
     
  19. Revelation78 macrumors 68000

    Revelation78

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #19
    Really? did you really think otherwise? I'm not trying to be an ***, but seriously you have to have a Mac to develop iPhone apps - Apple isn't going to worry about the PC version of iTunes working just yet.

    It will probably come in a Beta of iTunes 9.1.x in a week or so.
     
  20. bmwhd macrumors 6502a

    bmwhd

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    #20
    Wouldn't kill them to mention that before they take your money (the part about not being able to evaluate the beta).
     
  21. Revelation78 macrumors 68000

    Revelation78

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #21
    The "Beta" is meant for Developers to begin testing their apps and developing newer ones to be ready in time for the official release of 4.0. It's not meant for the average Joe to "beta test" the latest OS, hence why only "paid" developers have access to it.
     
  22. debug77 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    #22
    That's pretty annoying if it's true about only being able to upgrade via a Mac.

    I use a Mac to develop my iPhone apps (of which I have 3 on the store) but I use a PC to sync my iTunes library with.

    Could I still upgrade it via the Mac, and then sync back all my tunes/apps on via the PC?

    Sorry if I'm derailing the thread... I too had a bricked iPhone after attempting 4.0 upgrade, and ended up having to do a fresh install of 3.1.3 :(
     
  23. TheGoog macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #23
    Same problem here, reports all over the net... here's hopin they get a itunes update out soon enough.
     
  24. bmwhd macrumors 6502a

    bmwhd

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    #24
    In the past, we've worked with Apple as beta testers of the Exchange features which, if you do something other than FB and Twitter with your phone, are actually kinda important. I had what I thought was a reasonable expectation of doing the same this time.
     
  25. ojstagg93 macrumors member

    ojstagg93

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    #25
    Install it through Xcode that's how apple recommends it
     

Share This Page