Ethernet nope, wifi yes. WTF?

Discussion in 'macOS Sierra (10.12)' started by IDMah, Jun 5, 2018.

  1. IDMah macrumors 6502

    IDMah

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    #1
    Hi all.

    So my GF installed one of the those evil "Adobe Flash Updates"
    I've cleaned it up (Avast and Malwarebytes)... I think. but!

    Now We keep loosing the ethernet connection. Every other computer in the house
    and we have a few work on ethernet but her iMac will not hold the connection.

    I renew DHCP and it assigns it, but then when I check a few hours or a day later
    it's blank again. The Wifi works perfectly, and I've reset the router a bunch of times
    which fixes it for a day or two but then it's back.

    Checked the usual places for Viruse/Malware no startup, no plugins
    Doesn't matter Safari or firefox. Cable seems fine, and even switched the ports on the router.
    Just in case. NADA!

    Any ideas? Getting annoyed I can't figure this out or find a permanent solution.
    thanks for any suggestions.
     
  2. majurg macrumors newbie

    majurg

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    #2
    Honestly, you probably need to do a full re-install. Even though you've 'cleaned' it with various anti-virus programs, there is a very high chance your computer is still compromised, hence the issues you have been experiencing.
     
  3. BrianBaughn macrumors 603

    BrianBaughn

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #3
    May turn out to be a coincidental hardware issue, but run Etrecheck to see if there's any malware that MWB missed.
     
  4. IDMah thread starter macrumors 6502

    IDMah

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    #4
    Didn't see anything in Etrecheck. Except that I was running multiple anti-virus apps. Malware and Avast.
    If I manually set the IP it works so maybe our modem-router is on it's way out...
    Any else you can think to try????
     
  5. T'hain Esh Kelch macrumors 601

    T'hain Esh Kelch

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2001
    Location:
    Denmark
    #5
    Have you tried rebooting the router and the Mac, together?
     
  6. SandboxGeneral Moderator emeritus

    SandboxGeneral

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Detroit
    #6
    Also, have you tried swapping out Ethernet cables? Could be a coincidence that the cable was going bad at the same time.
     
  7. IDMah thread starter macrumors 6502

    IDMah

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    #7
    Yup and yup, several times!
    May be that the modem/router is dying. but all our other machines seem fine. Knock Wood!
    GF is reluctant to re-install OS but that may be the last act of desperation.
     

Share This Page