EU Volume Cap (New iPods) ?

Discussion in 'iPod' started by Bongolo, Sep 22, 2010.

  1. Bongolo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    #1
    Hi all,

    Is there a way to remove the EU volume cap on the new iPods (nano 6g & Touch 4G) ? The volume output is ridiculously low and you have to listen at almost full volume most of the time ...

    I used to use 'GoPod' but is seems support for this app has now stopped :(

    TIA :)
     
  2. macgrl macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    #2
    I would also like to know if there is a work around. What if you want to use it in your car / with external speakers and they don't have volume control or you just want it extra loud on them . Is there not some way to override the default settings?
     
  3. Fast/Furious macrumors regular

    Fast/Furious

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #3
    Did you guys try going into Settings > Music > Volume Limit? It might be factory locked... or if you guys really want louder music just return your iPod and buy one from Ebay (obviously from a Canadian or American seller) :) As of right now there are no ways to circumvent the EU volume limit on these iPods.

    EDIT: Alternatively, go into iTunes, click on your iPod in the lefthand pane, and go to 'Music'. Shift + left click to select all of your songs, and then right click. Hit "Get Info" and go into the "Options" tab. Slide the volume buttom as far right as it will go. Hope this helps!
     
  4. farmermac macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Location:
    Iowa
    #4
    It's for your own good guys, your govts said so.
     
  5. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #5
    I'm kinda hoping that was sarcastic
     
  6. farmermac macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Location:
    Iowa
    #6
    Of course it was.

    I'd buy a non eu iPod if I lived there

    Has anyone thought of flashing the firmware with a us-firmware?
     
  7. P0IS0N macrumors newbie

    P0IS0N

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    #7
    As I was saying in another post, editing the "ipodsettings.xml" might be a good place to start. In the EU version, we have this parameter: <VolumeLimit>216</VolumeLimit>
    If a US user could submit their value, it would be helpful.
    Otherwise, we can wait for a new GoPod version, or other firmware hacks.
     
  8. P0IS0N macrumors newbie

    P0IS0N

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    #8
    So, any american user available to share the <volumelimit> level, or even better, share the ipod nano US file system?
    Or is it too hard?
     
  9. TheBritishBloke macrumors 68030

    TheBritishBloke

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #9
    You can do it on your mac or PC.

    On there, on iTunes, right click the song, get info, then on options I think it has a volume slider, put that all the way to the right, just do that by highlighting all your songs :)
     
  10. P0IS0N macrumors newbie

    P0IS0N

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    #10
    Yeah, done that, didn't help.
     
  11. weckart macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    #11
    Two things might help:

    a) Get a better set of headphones with the highest sensitivity you can find. Anything over 110db should give you a tad more volume.

    b) Get a pre-amp/bass booster, like the FIIO-5

    helped with my Nano 2G, for which no fix exists for the volume limit.
     
  12. wordoflife macrumors 604

    wordoflife

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    #12
    The iPods made in Europe have a volume cap that you cannot change? :confused:

    As in, no this? :eek:

    [​IMG]
     
  13. hem1960 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    #13
    I've done it, search my thread in the Ipod forum
    ciao!!
     
  14. hem1960 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    #14
    I've done it

    I've done it search for my new thread
     
  15. Bongolo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    #15
    Thanks hem1960, any solutions for mac formatted nano's & touch ?
     
  16. iStudentUK macrumors 65816

    iStudentUK

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Location:
    London
    #16
    No, we have that too. I don't know what the problem is, the volume goes pretty loud if set to maximum. I put the limit at around two thirds so I don't accidentally blow deafen myself. Maybe it is just be young, functional ears. :D
     
  17. Truman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    #17
    In nano 6g Edit file iPodSettings.xml with some Hesxedit sofware, then hardreboot.

    cheers
     
  18. NeoCracer macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    #18
    Doesn't work, if I set to 400 it always changes back to 216 somehow...
     
  19. YanniDepp, Aug 5, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2011

    YanniDepp macrumors 6502

    YanniDepp

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    #19
    After editing the XML file, I changed the file's permissions to read-only:

    chmod 555 iPodSettings.xml

    It is definitely louder and has a lot more bass. I haven't rebooted the iPod yet, so time will tell if that works. Also, this will probably break every time you sync.

    Edit: Come to think of it, this makes no sense. Why would an iPod obey OS-level settings?
     
  20. Carlo82 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
  21. Carlo82 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    #21
    YanniDepp, how did u modify the files attributes?

    Did u tried with osx or windows?
     
  22. Carlo82 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    #22
    Possible Solution?

    I got this solution from another forum:

    "For Ipod Nano 5g European model i've managed to find a way to get rid of volume cap without sound increase.

    What you need:

    1) Ipod nano with a volume cap by our friends in EU comission
    2) Computer with internet access
    3) A valid credit card of paypal account.

    The trick is simple - if ipod is reset (firmware re-updated) while your computer is connecting to iTunes from a US IP address, the update you will be getting won't have a volume cap.

    In detail:
    You need to sign up for a VPN from one of those online VPN providers. They typically cost 5$ per month.
    You will only need this once - to reflash your ipod.

    You setup a VPN connection with them, verify on What Is My IP Address? Lookup IP, Hide IP, Change IP, Trace IP and more... that your IP address is from US (also you can use Speedtest.net - The Global Broadband Speed Test to see on the map where are you connecting from)\
    Then launch itunes and reset player.

    Simple
    No need for eupod, dopod, or sound-crippling +100% volume hack.

    Hope it works for you, and watch out your ears, they will be surprised by the volume and bass boost."


    Any experience by that way?
     
  23. iBug2 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    #23
    I wonder if this trick works for iPhones as well.
     
  24. blackburn macrumors 6502a

    blackburn

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Location:
    Where Judas lost it's boots.
    #24
    I doubt it would work. Most likely the volume limit is set on another place like the serial number is.
     

Share This Page