Everything new in macOS 10.13.4

Discussion in 'macOS High Sierra (10.13)' started by casperes1996, Jan 24, 2018.

  1. casperes1996 macrumors 68040

    casperes1996

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Location:
    Horsens, Denmark
    #1
    Hey! If you find anything changed in the first beta of macOS 10.13.4, I urge you to post it here. Anything as small as a bump in a library's version number to something major.
     
  2. jonblatho macrumors 6502a

    jonblatho

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2014
    Location:
    Missouri
    #2
    Well, for me, the update appears to be installing via Recovery, so that’s a new feature, apparently.
     
  3. casperes1996 thread starter macrumors 68040

    casperes1996

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Location:
    Horsens, Denmark
    #3

    What do you mean?
     
  4. jonblatho macrumors 6502a

    jonblatho

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2014
    Location:
    Missouri
    #4
    I rebooted to run the update process as usual. I then found myself in Recovery as if I’d run a macOS reinstall.

    (It’s gotten past that step and is now “Completing Installation.”)
    --- Post Merged, Jan 24, 2018 ---
    Also, no real surprise here but Messages on iCloud is present in Messages, and I can confirm it’s working fine (so far at least).

    Screen Shot 2018-01-24 at 3.51.10 PM.png
     
  5. HallStevenson macrumors 6502a

    HallStevenson

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    #5
    "Enable Messages on iCloud" - I remember seeing that many months ago !
     
  6. The Weatherman macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2016
  7. Scary Spice macrumors 6502

    Scary Spice

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    Location:
    British Columbia
    #7
    I had to re-restart before Messages offered me Messages on iCloud.
     
  8. jonblatho macrumors 6502a

    jonblatho

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2014
    Location:
    Missouri
    #8
    Nope.
     
  9. FatalFallacy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    #9
    Beginning with this beta, MacOS starts to nag about 32bit applications needing to be updated to 64bit being launched at least at first run (like iOS did with iOS 10 for 32bit apps).

    Booting with -no32exec boot-args can simulate future behaviour where old apps will simply fail with a notification that this app can not be opened.
     
  10. nortonandreev macrumors 6502a

    nortonandreev

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    Location:
    Sheffield, United Kingdom
    #10
    It happened with 10.13.3 as well, but I installed it via terminal.
     
  11. matamoris macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    #11
    How did you know the system had booted into Recovery?
     
  12. Aquamite macrumors 6502

    Aquamite

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2014
    #12
    Can I try that behaviour on 10.13.3 to test in advance which are the apps that I use that are still stuck in that 32 bits era?
     
  13. chrfr macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #13
    You can just view your list of applications in the System Report application. It even allows you to sort by 32 or 64 bit.
     
  14. jonblatho macrumors 6502a

    jonblatho

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2014
    Location:
    Missouri
    #14
    Instead of the regular software update interface, it has a gray background with a light modal window in the center like you see when you boot into recovery, along with a small status bar in the upper right with language/Wi-Fi selection options (or something like that; I’ve slept since then).
     
  15. Fishrrman macrumors P6

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #15
    chrfr wrote:
    "You can just view your list of applications in the System Report application. It even allows you to sort by 32 or 64 bit."

    Is there a method to determine whether an app is 32-bit or not by using SOMETHING OTHER THAN System Information?

    SI relies on Spotlight to ascertain this info.

    I have Spotlight permanently disabled, and have no intention of turning it on again.
    So... need another way to find out.
     
  16. Aquamite macrumors 6502

    Aquamite

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2014
    #16
    T
    Thank you, very much.

    I see there that there are some Apple native apps that I guess they'll be automatically replaced by the new version once I update my Mac from 10.13.3 to 10.13.4.

    But there are some other stuff I don't understand. Like a Welcome to Snow Leopard app that should have been gone after I updated to Lion on the first week I bought my Mac, or a quicklookd32 app when there is a quicklook app listed further below that is already 64 bits.
     
  17. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #17
    In Activity Monitor you can sort by kind (32/64 bit). You may have to add the column yourself; I’m not sure if it’s there by default. Of course, this only applies to running apps.
     
  18. Fishrrman macrumors P6

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #18
    "In Activity Monitor you can sort by kind (32/64 bit). You may have to add the column yourself; I’m not sure if it’s there by default. Of course, this only applies to running apps."

    Thanks for the tip.
    I opened Activity Monitor, then clicked "Disk".
    It has a column for 64/32 bit.
    I could open an application, then check it that way.
    Slow, but it works!
     
  19. Septercius macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2017
    Location:
    UK
    #19
    Apple claims (in a response to a bug report that I raised) that they've fixed an issue in this beta whereby if you changed the account name and/or home directory of a user whilst logged in as that user, it would change an administrator account to a standard account.

    Unfortunately I downgraded to Sierra ages ago, so I can't test this myself.
     
  20. dianeoforegon macrumors 6502a

    dianeoforegon

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Location:
    Oregon
    #20
  21. JosephAW macrumors 68020

    JosephAW

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    #21
    And I'm still waiting for Rosetta for A10x and PowerPC and eventually x86.
     
  22. naasrd macrumors 6502

    naasrd

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #22
    Messages in the cloud gone for me, was there yesterday.
     
  23. archvile macrumors 6502

    archvile

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    #23
    They removed it from the final public release. However, I now have Messages showing as taking up iCloud storage space. Consensus is Apple is uploading everyone's Messages to iCloud on a rolling schedule so they are already in place once they finally launch Messages in iCloud.
     
  24. fivenotrump macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Location:
    Central England
    #24
    You don’t find Spotlight useful? I use it every day.
     
  25. theorist9 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2015
    #25

Share This Page

25 January 24, 2018