EVGA GTX 285 Mac Edition

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by hadleydb, Jun 10, 2009.

  1. hadleydb macrumors 6502

    hadleydb

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Location:
    Henderson, NV
    #1
    EVGA is proud to announce the highest performing graphics card for the Mac today; the EVGA GTX 285 Mac Edition! With 1GB of DDR3 memory and 240 processing cores, your performance is maximized with graphics-intensive applications like 3D gaming, motion graphics, 3D modeling, rendering and animation. Take full advantage of the performance using NVIDIA CUDA and OpenGL applications. Upgrade your Mac Pro system with the EVGA GTX 285 Mac Edition today for extreme performance!

    This has probably already been asked before, but I can't find if it supports the 2006 Mac Pro models? Wait nevermind. It says that it supports 2008 and 2009 on Apple's website. Darn! I wonder if it will work anyway? If someone tries it please let me know.
     
  2. netkas macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    #2
    pcs gtx285 works just fine(in osx) in macpro 1,1/2,1 with my injector kext :)
     
  3. hadleydb thread starter macrumors 6502

    hadleydb

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Location:
    Henderson, NV
    #3
    Awesome! Thanks for the hopeful news! :D
     
  4. netkas macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    #4
    not sure about dual-dvi, no reports yet,
    and, as usual with such solution - no video output untill OSX booted to gui (desktop or login screen)
     
  5. barefeats macrumors 65816

    barefeats

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2000
    #5
    Benchmarks Posted

    Posted my first set of GeForce GTX 285 benchmarks (3D) using max settings, 4X AA, and 2560x1600 rez:
    http://www.barefeats.com/nehal11.html

    Conclusion: Pricey but effective.
     
  6. netkas macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
  7. ventro macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    #7
    Snow Leopard's OpenCL doesn't support the 285
     
  8. hadleydb thread starter macrumors 6502

    hadleydb

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Location:
    Henderson, NV
    #8
    Not bad at all! Pricey is a good term for it however.
     
  9. hadleydb thread starter macrumors 6502

    hadleydb

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Location:
    Henderson, NV
  10. OneShotos macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    #10
    Thanks BareFeats for the post. I saw another sites spec on the card and was a little de-hearten, since I alright pre-order the card. ;)
     
  11. Black107 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    #11
    How do you know this, other than the fact that its not currently listed on apple's site? Seems like if it uses NVidia drivers like the GT120, it should be supported?
     
  12. brendon2020 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    #12
    wow those are impressive, to bad i have the old 2.66 mac pro.
     
  13. nasabaer macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    #13
    Now that some of the cards arrive i hope that someone here will release the drivers an the efi for flashing a pc card.
     
  14. justflie macrumors 6502a

    justflie

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Location:
    Red Sox Nation
    #14
    It's not yet listed on the spec sheet for OpenCL supported cards. However, I've been told by some folks that it does support OpenCL. Whether that happens or not is another story. My fingers are certainly crossed.
     
  15. hadleydb thread starter macrumors 6502

    hadleydb

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Location:
    Henderson, NV
    #15
    I'm sure there will be a way we can use it. Sounds like the PC cards may already work with a kext.
     
  16. mbimac macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Location:
    vancouver
    #16
    I went to Compu2000 this afternoon for regarding my Mac pro (early 2008) which was repairing in that store, the staff was really excited to introduce the new Mac Evga GTX285 video card to me, but I just bought 4870 a few weeks ago.

    Anyone has got this video card and plz post the Rom for flashing a PC version,thanks
     
  17. Ti22 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #17
    wow i really wanna get one but i have a 2007 mac pro its a Mac Pro 1,1

    If there is a way to get this thing to work on my mac pro it would be totally awesome.

    I need to upgrade anyway since Snow Leopard is coming and i wanna make use of the Open-CL. I am still using the X1900XT that came when i first bought it.
     
  18. tezro macrumors regular

    tezro

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    #18
    I really want it available for Europe (you know, all countries in the EC without the UK as they don't them selves as part of Europe).

    It's not in the Dutch Apple store available (yet).
     
  19. Black107 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    #19
    http://www.tgdaily.com/content/view/42422/140/

    Apparently Nvidia says all Cuda cards will support OpenCL
     
  20. hadleydb thread starter macrumors 6502

    hadleydb

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Location:
    Henderson, NV
    #20
  21. hehejames macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    NYC
    #21


    It supports Dual-DVI. http://www.engadget.com/2009/06/10/evga-rolls-out-geforce-gtx-285-graphics-card-for-mac-pros/

    1GB of DDR3 memory, a whopping 240 processing cores, a memory clock speed a 2,584MHz, memory bandwidth of 159GB/sec, and a pair of dual-link DVI ports that can each drive a 30-inch monitor at 2,560 x 1,600
     
  22. 10THzMac macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    #22
    Just installed it. Very disappointed so far. Runs CUDA examples about 1/8 speed of the PC version in the same Mac Pro. Drivers released last night make no real difference. Anybody found some config settings to sort it out??
     
  23. imacdaddy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    #23
    Doesn't sound too promising at this point in time. Looks like I'll be holding off a little longer until they sort out the driver issue. I really don't want to wait till Snow Leo though.
     
  24. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #24
    Well, once these driver issues are settled (the performance seems unacceptable...), let's get a ROM dump!

    I'm not paying $400 for a card that is identical to the ones available for $300.
     
  25. peskaa macrumors 68020

    peskaa

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #25
    You don't even need a ROM dump to get a PC card working on a Mac Pro, netkas' injector does the job.
     

Share This Page