Expose not working correctly

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by rwd hero, Jul 21, 2011.

  1. rwd hero macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #1
    Does anyone else have this problem? I am an avid user of the "expose" feature, but with the new upgrade expose just shows me the window i am currently using. What is the purpose of it if its just going to make the window you are using smaller and bring up the dock? Also before anyone tells me to, i already reported it to apple.
     
  2. McGiord macrumors 601

    McGiord

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Location:
    Dark Castle
    #2
    Now it is called Mission Control, but in the System Preferences pane you can set up each hot corner to do what you want, also set up in the trackpad (if you have one) the gestures for navigating with all the new ways.
     
  3. bndoarn macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    #3
    The normal Exposé gesture (4 fingers down) is now Application Exposé (Exposé only for the currently active application with all of it's windows). Regular, full Exposé is merged with Mission Control which is 4 fingers up.
     
  4. rwd hero thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    #4
    Im having a hard time understanding what expose is then. I understand that 4 fingers ^=mission control, and that is what expose use to be (exactly what it use to be) but what does the 4 fingers down do? All it is doing for me os making the currently active window smaller, highlighting it and telling me what it is, pulling my dock up, and showing my home screen background around the 1 window. What is the purpose of this feature?
     
  5. bndoarn macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    #5
    It's for all windows of a single application. Open up a few different windows in Safari (Command + N, not in fullscreen mode). Now do the 4 finger swipe down with one of the Safari windows active and you'll see what I mean.
     
  6. eawmp1 macrumors 601

    eawmp1

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    FL
    #6
    You can activate "AppExpose". If within an ap you have multiple file windows, you can switch between them ala Expose. The Trackpad Preference has animations of all of the gestures if you choose to look at it.
     
  7. Ajlo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    #7
    Expose is not Working as it should

    I have the same problem. I dont know how to see the minimized windows because mission contrtol doesnt show them and expose wit 4 fingers down is just showing the windows of the aplication i am seeing instead of everything en the active desktop including the minimized programs as the \system preferences\Trackpad\Other Gerstures\Expose tutorial video shows
     
  8. Nuckinfuts macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY
    #8
    Look at them in your dock
     
  9. baryon macrumors 68040

    baryon

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    #9
    Apple decided to ditch window management altogether in Lion. Get used to it.
     
  10. Ajlo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    #10
    expose

    When Snow Leopard came out one of the upgrades was that you could minimize in the icons on th dock instead of a new icon and expose would let you see all the opened windows, even the minimized ones.
     
  11. philxor macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    #11
    Yes, Apple decided to change all of the useful functionality of Expose and Spaces into something which isn't really functional. So no it no longer shows minimized applications and the default only shows windows for your current application. You have to jump through more hoops to actually see what you want.

    Can some of the behavior be overridden by using something like Better Touch tool to override the default gestures?

    I also use Witch as an application switcher and it can list minimized windows. Pairing it with BTT lets me use a gesture to see all of my open apps and all of their windows, but using Expose to see all my windows along with spaces is just something I can't do without, so I haven't upgraded. Hoping they give a way in future versions to go back to the old functionality.
     

Share This Page