External Caddy Required for 256 SSD, can't find one anywhere!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by acidwoody, May 7, 2014.

  1. acidwoody macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    #1
    Hi all, first post and I suppose its quite a decent one.

    Friend of mine spilt a full pint of water over a macbook retina 3 months after he's bought it, everythings pretty much totally screwed however suprisingly the SSD seems in good shape.

    The models:-

    Apple MacBook Pro "Core i7" 2.0 15" Late 2013

    ME293LL/A

    http://www.everymac.com/systems/app...iris-only-late-2013-retina-display-specs.html


    I'd like to recovery his data but don't have another retina, to put the drive in and boot from, but even if I did I'd prefer to use a caddy which I just can't find for love nor money :confused::confused::confused:

    Could anybody help me track one down?

    Many thanks,

    Woody :)
     
  2. RedRaven571 macrumors 65816

    RedRaven571

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #2
    I just googled 'external case for SSD' and got a lot of hits; a bunch on Amazon.....
     
  3. venom600 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #3
    You can't find one because no one makes one. His uses the PCIe SSD and no one has made an external enclosure for them yet.
     
  4. MCAsan macrumors 601

    MCAsan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #4
  5. acidwoody, May 12, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: May 12, 2014

    acidwoody thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    #5
  6. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #6
    They don't exist, because the late-2013 ones use a PCIe non-NGFF/M.2 drive.
     
  7. acidwoody thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    #7
    So what other measures could I take to get the data off the drive, there must be a way..
     
  8. Hammie macrumors 65816

    Hammie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Location:
    Wash, DC Metro
    #8
    Maybe the Genius Bar in an Apple Store could help get the data off.

    They may be able to put the SSD in another body and transfer the data over to a HDD or something.
     
  9. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #9
    None, other than using Target Disk Mode (which is impossible, since the logic board is fried already).

    Take it to the Apple Store and have the not-so-genius blokes put it in another rMBP to recover the data.
     
  10. The Mercurian macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2012
    #10
    Ah....interesting.

    I had never thought of this problem. I don't hand it a machine for repair without first removing the data either by a reformat or swapping out the drive.

    This thread actually puts me off a rMBP
     
  11. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #11
    It's the same problem with the Haswell iMacs and Haswell MBAs.
     
  12. The Mercurian macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2012
    #12
    For sure. Hmm I had a plan to upgrade my 2011 MBP 15" to next model when it comes out. I shall have to revise that plan! I need the ability to not give over my data if the machine needs repairing!
     
  13. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #13
    That's why one should always make backups daily and enable FileVault 2, then not even the not-so-Genius blokes can recover data from it :)
     
  14. The Mercurian macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2012
    #14
    Yeah but when you hand in your machine for repair don't you need to give them the password - how else are they going to fix it? On my 2011 machine I just take out the drive, pop in a spare if it needs to go into shop. No problem. rMBP - can't do that. This is really a deal breaker in fact.
     
  15. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #15
    Just ask them to wipe the drive :)
     
  16. p3ntyne macrumors 6502

    p3ntyne

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #16
    OWC is planning to make Pci-e SSD upgrades in late 2014. Hopefully they will release an enclosure too.
     
  17. The Mercurian macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2012
    #17
    Good to know. But does swapping out the SSD invalidate the warranty ?
     
  18. p3ntyne macrumors 6502

    p3ntyne

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #18
    I would imagine it would if you reinstall the old one before taking it to apple. There could be a sticker or something similar on the lb and the SSD but if there was, I'm sure you could stick it back on.
     
  19. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #19
    Even opening it up without replacing anything will void the warranty.
     
  20. The Mercurian macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2012
    #20
    Looks like I'll be building a windows box so!
     
  21. p3ntyne macrumors 6502

    p3ntyne

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #21
    How would that invalidate the warranty?

    All you need to do is put everything back where it should be and they will have no idea.
     
  22. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #22
    Yup, but officially, you're not supposed to do that.

    Even by putting everything back where it should be, chances are that something might still break, given the fragility of some components in there.

    I never had to worry about that when opening up my 15" cMBP.
     
  23. acidwoody thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    #23
    Guys sorry to re-surface this one but I still need a little help.

    The drive inside is a Samsung MZ-JPU256T/0A6 SSD and I've been told I need a USB 3 to Sata cable to recover the data.

    Is there a particular one I need?

    Thanks

    Woody
     
  24. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #24
    If its "totally screwed" how do you know the SSD is "in good shape"? If you can talk to the SSD via the system in any way try Target disk mode...
     
  25. acidwoody thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    #25
    What Sata is this SSD drive? Image attached
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page