Facebook

Discussion in 'iPad' started by mizelly41, Jun 10, 2010.

  1. mizelly41 macrumors regular

    mizelly41

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Location:
    Illinois
    #1
    I have had Facebook bookmarked on my iPad ever since I got it about a month ago and have had no problems viewing the full website. Just now when I went to the website, it sent me to the mobile site, not the touch site. I know I can click the full site but I was wanting the see if anyone else has seen this problem.
     
  2. Razeus macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #2
    I was just about to post this. Im having the same issue that started today. It was fine last night and ever since I bought my ipad last Saturday. WTF?
     
  3. Maaz macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    #3
    Wow this just happened to me. It was working fine 10 mins ago. This is fkn bs. First chat now this.
     
  4. kkat69 macrumors 68020

    kkat69

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, Ga
    #4
    Probably FB had something done to it while doing a browser check. FB seems to think your probably on a mobile device (duh you are) but we all know iPads can view full pages just fine.

    They shouldn't be redirecting iPad users to the mobile site but it's their choice of coding. Probably check their tech support forums see if others are posting same thing there.
     
  5. alywa macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    #5
    Yeah. WTF just happened? Facebook defaults to mobile, which sucks. They need to fix that asap.
     
  6. DeuceDeuce macrumors 6502a

    DeuceDeuce

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    San Dimas, CA
  7. mariahrg macrumors member

    mariahrg

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Location:
    Paso Robles Ca
    #7
    If I have to deal with mobile Facebook I'll freak out! Please....no mobile!
     
  8. pound4pound30 macrumors 6502

    pound4pound30

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    #8
    Yea just happened to me. They better fix this and add chat back too
     
  9. Maaz macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    #9
    HERE IS THE FIXXXXXXX
    just load the page and then go tap on the address bar and delete the "m." before facebook.com and then it works. Delete your old bookmark and replace the bookmark with this one.
     
  10. leomac08 macrumors 68020

    leomac08

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
  11. jaycee520 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
  12. jaycee520 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    #12
    thanks...:)
     
  13. airmax922 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Location:
    San Leandro
  14. nikhsub1 macrumors 68010

    nikhsub1

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    mmmm... jessica.'s beer...
    #14
    Does not work it eventually goes back to forcing mobile.
     
  15. mariahrg macrumors member

    mariahrg

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Location:
    Paso Robles Ca
    #15
    Works till you hit the home button. Bummer.
     
  16. DrIgg macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    #16
    I have iCab and A1 Perfect Browser. Both are great for FB since they emulate full browsers. In Perfect Browser you can choose Firefox, Safari, ie, etc on the fly. Problem solved.
     
  17. Shannabananna macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    #17
    I can view the full site by either clicking on the link at the bottom of the touch page or removing the m. from the url but as soon as I click 'Home' on the facebook page, it takes me straight back to the mobile site :(

    Has anyone noticed if its just doing it on 3G or if its doing it on wireless as well? Cant check here at work...
     
  18. calvin2006 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #18
    Doing it no matter what type of network you're on. It is really annoying.
     
  19. notjustjay macrumors 603

    notjustjay

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Location:
    Canada, eh?
    #19
    Yeah, must be something new they just deployed tonight. Hopefully it's a mistake. Otherwise, we need to give them heck...
     
  20. Zazoh macrumors 6502a

    Zazoh

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Location:
    Mico, Texas
  21. DenniZ macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #21
    Yeah same problem here, using safari. Have to navigate to the touch site then to the full site, which resets itself as soon as you press the facebook logo, going back to the mobile website.
     
  22. mizelly41 thread starter macrumors regular

    mizelly41

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Location:
    Illinois
    #22
    Is there any official facebook forum where this could be discussed?
     
  23. mizelly41 thread starter macrumors regular

    mizelly41

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Location:
    Illinois
    #23
  24. Natesac macrumors 6502a

    Natesac

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas,Tx
    #24
    I have the same issue. Maybe they are launching an iPad app?
     
  25. sandydlc macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    #25
    Just scroll to the bottom of the page, click on Touch site, let it refresh then scroll to the bottom of the page again and you'll see the option for "Full Site".

    That should do it.
     

Share This Page