Factory Restore - With Ethernet Cable - How do you do it?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Macaroooon, Sep 20, 2012.

  1. Macaroooon, Sep 20, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2012

    Macaroooon macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    #1
    EDIT: I've gotten to the stage where I am re-installing Mountain Lion. It's taking ridiculously long over Wifi, barely moving. I've found an ethernet cable though, and been told doing it this way is faster. Can I cancel this re-installation and do it with the cable, and if so, how?
    ----------------
    (I had another thread addressing one of the topics, but as I was receiving no answers, and I couldn't bump it, I've edited and removed the question, so I can ask it in this thread along with my other question - I hope I'm allowed to do this.

    2) MBP arrived yesterday, and on start up , it mentioned transferring files, and I thought great, I want to transfer some photos and my itunes - so I selected 'transfer other files' (or something along those lines) thinking it would allow me to specifically select what I wanted to transfer - but alas, suddenly it was like 'transferring giles' estimated time 3 hours!

    It's just finished transferring them (I'm about to 'Create my computer account' however I'm really annoyed as I don't want to transfer all my files to it, only specific ones as I've got much crap on my old computer and this one I want clean of it.

    If I restore factory settings now, will that rid it of all files I've just sent and have it like new, and I can then select specific ones at a later date?

    (I can't actually see any files in the MPB, but I'm worried they could be lurking.

    IS Factory Restore the same as just re-installing OSX - and if there are any files I transfered, will they be like gone, so I free up space?

    Please help! I'm getting no answers anywhere!
     
  2. thatoneguy82 macrumors 68000

    thatoneguy82

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Location:
    Beach Cities, CA
    #2

    1. If it's a store card/voucher and not for the App Store or iTunes then you can use to buy anything Apple sells, except gift cards.

    2. I'm kind of confused at what you're saying here. If you want to start clean, you have to boot into recovery and then format your drive so you can cleanly install your OS.

    Manual file transfers are usually much better than automatic ones. This time you should manually transfer the files you want to your new mac.
     
  3. Macaroooon thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    #3
    Thank you :)

    How do I format my drive?

    Maybe I've explained clearer here:

    My 13" MBP arrived yesterday, but I made the mistake of on the first time start up menu, choosing to transfer data from my Mac to my Pro, thinking I'd be able to specifically select files, alas, having them all transfered.

    I want to do a Factory Restore and start again, just to be sure (even thogh I can't even see the files on my Pro).

    How do I do this?

    I'm away I have to go to Disk Utilities and erase, but when I go there, the left hand Menu shows up:

    500.11 GB APPLE HDD T..
    Macintosh HD
    SuperDriv (faded out)
    ----------------------------------------
    disk1
    Mac OS X Base System

    Which of these do I erase? And by doing this, I'm only erasing any data I transfered, am I right, so it's as it would have been if I'd started it up without transfering data.

    Then do I re-instal OS X Mountain Lion?
     
  4. thatoneguy82 macrumors 68000

    thatoneguy82

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Location:
    Beach Cities, CA
    #4
    Did you see this Disk Utility display in the recovery boot drive or when you're logged in? You won't be able to format the drive if you've logged, because well, you're logged in. That's why you have to get off it, not physically but partitionally(haha!). Since Lion I believe, Recovery drives have been made automatically. It's a tiny partition, around 650mb. It doesn't show up in Disk Utility but it does in System Report.

    This is assuming you don't know how to do this. To boot into the recovery drive. Press and hold "option" button as soon as you hear the startup sound your mbp makes. If you did it right, it should show your regular disk and to the right of it, the recovery drive. Click on that, go into disk utility and format. Then you can reinstall via the same method.

    Just make sure you have an install copy of Mountain Lion before you do this.
     
  5. Macaroooon thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    #5
    Thank you.

    I spoke to someone (before I saw this on the apple community)


    https://discussions.apple.com/thread/4314953

    So I've erased the Macintosh OS Extended (journaled) and now reinstalling Mountain Lion, but I don't have an ethernet cable so I reckon it's going to take ages, ergh!
     
  6. thatoneguy82 macrumors 68000

    thatoneguy82

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Location:
    Beach Cities, CA
    #6
    Yep. That thread pretty summed it up. I've only done it once, but it didn't take long. I believe I used a install usb and it just did it from there. It was done is less than an hour. But, I'll never remember how I did that. :eek:

    So, I take it it's downloading Mountain Lion then via WiFi?

    I'm glad you got it settled. From now on, just manually transfer your files to your mbp instead of some automatic process so you can control it!
     
  7. Macaroooon thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    #7
    Thank you! Ergh I always mess things up the moment I get them!

    But yes, I'm using WiFi and once it has downloaded (I assume in a good few hours at least) I will go to the app store and re-install my iLife apps! :)
     
  8. Macaroooon thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    #8
    I think I've found an ethernet cable - pale grey, both ends have a yellow connector.

    The Reinstall of Mountain Lion seems to be taking VERY long over Wifi. It hasn't even moved for the last hour. (Been doing for say, 3 hours)

    If I cancel it, can I then do it again, but this time via the ethernet, and if so, how do I do it.

    Thank you!
     
  9. Macaroooon thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    #9
    I'm pretty sure something is wrong now, as it has remained at '35 hours and 51' minutes for about an house, and is about 1/14th of the bar full.

    :/
     
  10. Dark Void macrumors 68030

    Dark Void

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Location:
    Cimmerian End
    #10
    It shouldn't be that long of a process.

    Which volume did you erase? If you turn off your computer and hold Cmd + R on startup you will be able to access Disk Utility. Erase "Macintosh HD," reformat it as one partition in a journaled format, and then proceed with restoring. This is what you did, correct?

    If it really is taking that long - go buy an ethernet cable. You can wait it out if you want. Just as long as the progress bar does not stall you will be fine - don't worry about the estimated time.
     
  11. Macaroooon thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    #11
    I've done a bit of research, still unclear but I cancelled the installation, as it was so slow, connected the ethernet cable (literally just connected it whilst it was in the Boot Recovery mode, and then restarted the installation.

    It now has a time of 'about 28 hours and 13 minutes' which seems better, and it seems a bit faster.
     
  12. Dark Void macrumors 68030

    Dark Void

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Location:
    Cimmerian End
    #12
    The estimated time may stall but as long as the progress bar continues you will be fine for the installation.
     
  13. iAppl3Fan macrumors 6502a

    iAppl3Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    #13
    It might be worth it to take it into Apple to have them help. It would surely be faster than the Internet Recovery if you're having problems.
     
  14. Dark Void macrumors 68030

    Dark Void

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Location:
    Cimmerian End
    #14
    That wouldn't really be necessary, and would probably take longer considering an appointment and what not.

    What method would they even have that would be faster? I'm curious.
     
  15. Macaroooon thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    #15
    Thank you for your reply (and sorry for my incompetence)

    The progress bar seems to be moving.. but still really slowly.

    I just want it to be done before I go to bed, because I don't want to overcharge it, or risk it powering out.

    And also, I live in North Wales, nearest apple store is Cardiff (about 4 hours drive!)
     
  16. Dark Void macrumors 68030

    Dark Void

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Location:
    Cimmerian End
    #16
    No need to apologize, message boards are meant for this type of thing. As long as it's moving, even slowly, you're fine. You also don't have to worry about "overcharging" the laptop, you can leave it plugged in for a large amount of time, just let it discharge every once in a while.
     
  17. Macaroooon thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    #17
    I'm concerned it's doing the same thing, it's about a 20th of the bar full, and it's been like that for.. a while :/

    Do I actually need to reinstall Mountain Lion? Surely if I erased the Macintosh HD then I've got rid of the things I transfered?

    ----------

    Thank you. I just don't want to pester people. It's only because I've only got 2 days to sort this before I go to Uni, and I'll need it up and working by then!

    It doesn't really seem to be moving.. much. I mean it has moved since it started, but for about half an hour it's literally been at the same point, not moving.
     
  18. Dark Void macrumors 68030

    Dark Void

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Location:
    Cimmerian End
    #18
    Are you using Ethernet this time?

    You do need to reinstall Mountain Lion as when you erased your original format, that includes the files that make up the operating system itself.
     
  19. Macaroooon thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    #19
    Yes, I believe so. When I cancelled the first re-installation I was doing via Wifi, I simply plugged the ethernet cable from the MBP to the router.

    And I see, makes sense :)
     
  20. Dark Void macrumors 68030

    Dark Void

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Location:
    Cimmerian End
    #20
    I would simply wait it out, from what I understand internet recovery takes a while even with an Ethernet connection.
     
  21. Macaroooon thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    #21
    Okay, thanks. I'm not very patient which doesn't help. Hopefully I'll see some improvement in the next hour :) Will let you know! Thanks for your help!
     
  22. Dark Void macrumors 68030

    Dark Void

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Location:
    Cimmerian End
    #22
    No worries, and yes patience is usually required when dealing with computers and the like unfortunately. =)
     
  23. Macaroooon thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    #23
    Ergh, I know.

    It's still the same as it was :(
     
  24. iAppl3Fan macrumors 6502a

    iAppl3Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    #24
    They could load it via USB by having a copy locally.

    ----------

    I've done Internet Recovery numerous times and over WiFi it takes about 1 - 1.5 hours.
     
  25. Macaroooon thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    #25
    Well I've been doing this for nearly three hours now. Still the same..
     

Share This Page