Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

macuser55

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 16, 2009
i want to re-install my OS from scratch. so i used SuperDuper to backup my HD onto my 1TB My Book but something went wrong. this is my first time trying this so i have no clue why it didn't work. can anyone help me understand/fix this? here's some screenshots..

b9g2kx.png

4dcid.png

gr8tfly

macrumors 603
Oct 29, 2006
~119W 34N
why not use disk utility which clones block by block?

+1

I've been using Disk Utility's Restore literally for years. Block copy is also faster than file copy by a longshot.

To enable block copy in Disk Utility, check the "erase destination" option. This also requires you boot off a 3rd volume (the Leopard install DVD is easy, but any other bootable (up-to-date is best) volume with Disk Utility will work). The reason is block-copy needs to unmount both the source and destination volumes.

Many years ago I used Carbon Copy Cloner, but it was slow and problematic (perhaps that's been fixed, but I lost trust in the app). I haven't looked closly at SuperDuper - it looks like it does go through a sort of "pre-flight" for you by checking permissions and verifying the source volume. That's good, and necessary, but can also easily be done right in Disk Utility. I know a lot of members here use SuperDuper, but I personally don't see the need.

Here's a quick run-down on using Disk Utility: Check permissions while booted on the source volume, then boot to the "3rd" volume. Run Disk Utility, verify the source volume, then prepare the destination - GUID partition map, HFS+ journaled. Restore (check "erase destination"). Wait a bit (depends on interface type and volume size). Enjoy clone.