Resolved fake gps location

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by terrasita, Aug 6, 2018.

  1. terrasita macrumors newbie

    terrasita

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2018
    #1
    Hello! I really need to figure out how to fake my gps location. I have tried several apps but none of them actually work. I read up a bit on other options like using the apple developer software to edit the code. It's sort of beyond my skills though. Is this the only way it can be done? I'm using a windows machine too which makes it even more difficult I believe. Any advice would be much appreciated! Thank you!
     
  2. Helmsley macrumors regular

    Helmsley

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2017
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #2
    I believe the only way you can do it is by jailbreaking your device.
     
  3. terrasita thread starter macrumors newbie

    terrasita

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2018
    #3
    Thanks I totally don't have a problem with that, but not exactly sure if there are tutorials out there? I'm lost.
     
  4. eyoungren macrumors Core

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    ten-zero-eleven-zero-zero by zero-two
    #4
  5. now i see it macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    #6
    Depending on who you're trying to deceive, it's not really possible to spoof your location as the iPhone also uses cell tower triangulation and wifi location along with GPS. Your cell phone service provider always knows generally where you are if your phone is active and there's no way to turn that off.
     
  6. terrasita thread starter macrumors newbie

    terrasita

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2018
    #7
    Well, I use an app that tracks when I log in and out of it with gps location. Was hoping to try and and trick the app into thinking I was somewhere I wasn't... :)
     
  7. jamezr macrumors G5

    jamezr

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    Location:
    US
    #8
    I am not sure but wouldn't some VPN software let you spoof location? Would that also include GPS?
     
  8. kingston73 macrumors 6502a

    kingston73

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2015
    #9
    Highly suspicious, cheating on wife or girlfriend?
     
  9. terrasita thread starter macrumors newbie

    terrasita

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2018
    #10
    No way! I might be looking to do something suspicious but it's not a big deal (definitely not cheating!)
    --- Post Merged, Aug 6, 2018 ---
    I'm not sure?
     
  10. chrisdazzo macrumors 6502

    chrisdazzo

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Location:
    Colorado
    #11
    I used to do this with a certain "pocket monster" game before I sold my account (I know, boo).

    Get XCode, create a blank app, sign it for use on your device, run it on your chosen device. Create a gpx file and set the location once you run the app, based on lat/lon coordinates.
     
  11. Helmsley macrumors regular

    Helmsley

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2017
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #12
    Correct. The provider needs to know where every device is geographically so the network knows where to send calls etc.
     
  12. LizKat macrumors 601

    LizKat

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Location:
    Catskill Mountains
    #13
    Well there are all manner of places to start. I'd start with this, though:

    AskYourself.jpg
     
  13. anitak1982 macrumors 6502

    anitak1982

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2017
    Location:
    West Central Ohio
    #14
    VPN works, tunnelbear is a free one. I also had one through AVAST. You can set where it thinks you are.
     
  14. cynics macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    #15
    When out I'll occasionally switch my location to my iPad (which is at home) instead of my iPhone. I've only done this in find my friends for a friends surprise birthday because we knew he knew if there wouldn't have been a surprise party if I wasn't there.
     
  15. terrasita thread starter macrumors newbie

    terrasita

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2018
    #16
    I do have a VPN - Nord. But the problem is I honestly don't know if I can figure all this out haha. It's all above my head unfortunately!
    --- Post Merged, Aug 9, 2018 ---
    Ha. Well I'm probably not tech savvy enough to figure all this out, but that's the only reason I would call myself an idiot - not because I'm trying to change my gps location. Not going to argue with the morality police though.
     
  16. JackieInCo Suspended

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    Location:
    Colorado
    #17
    On a jailbroken iPhone/iPad, you can use an mod called Location Faker. I use it to sometimes make people think I am in Spain on Facebook or Twitter and Instagram. Every time I use it on Facebook, I get a welcome to Barcelona or wherever I am pretending to be at. You can whitelist any app that you don't want to fake the location of which is very useful so that you can keep Location Faker running 24/7.

    Image-1.jpg
     
  17. Steve121178 macrumors 601

    Steve121178

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Bedfordshire, UK
    #18
    Why?
     
  18. geoff5093 macrumors 68020

    geoff5093

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
    Location:
    Dover, NH
    #19
    MoviePass?
     
  19. eyoungren macrumors Core

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    ten-zero-eleven-zero-zero by zero-two
    #20
    Sometimes faking your GPS location is good when you want access to different versions of the app store.

    I've used in the past to show that I was in the middle of the runways at Heathrow Airport. That prevented the App store from rejecting my UK Apple ID for access to the UK version of the App store.
     
  20. adrianlondon macrumors 65816

    adrianlondon

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2013
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #21
    I have four app store IDs. One for the UK, one for Switzerland (where I live at the moment), one for Taiwan as I'm often there and one for the US to get apps (such as the Swiftkey keyboard) that don't seem available anywhere else.

    I've never had to spoof my location when changing accounts and stores. I can access them all from anywhere, and auto-updates work well (iOS12, but also iOS11. I don't remember how iOS10 worked - I think I had to log in to each store and click on the update tab).
     
  21. eyoungren macrumors Core

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    ten-zero-eleven-zero-zero by zero-two
    #22
    Yeah, my memory on this may be faulty. It was a long time ago and I haven't logged in under that account in quite some time.
     
  22. Steve121178 macrumors 601

    Steve121178

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Bedfordshire, UK
    #23
    VPN much easier...
     
  23. eyoungren macrumors Core

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    ten-zero-eleven-zero-zero by zero-two
    #24
    Sure. But the last time I did it I had no idea what a VPN was. :D
     
  24. terrasita thread starter macrumors newbie

    terrasita

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2018
    #25
    I'll check this out but I think I might have tried it with no luck unfortunately. I tried a couple of the downloadable apps and none of them worked. Thanks!
     

Share This Page

38 August 6, 2018