Fallout 1

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by raxx, Mar 2, 2011.

  1. raxx, Mar 2, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2011

    raxx macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    #1
    Hi, I'm hoping that you all can help me with a problem that's been bugging me for quite a while.
    I can't play Fallout 1, it opens and runs perfect but the colors are all messed up. I read up on everything i could find and apparently since I've an ati card it won't work cause of the color support.
    But, if I've the game open and hide with cmdH and then tab back in the colors are completely normal for about 2 seconds. Doesn't that mean that the problem should be fixable somehow?
    I tried changing the target gamma in display references, besides that all I could find was to update the graphic card drivers but that only works for nvidia.
    I'm running 10.6.6 and the graphic card is ATI Radeon HD 5670.

    It's unbelievably frustrating that it works for just the two seconds, I _really_ want to play this game!
    Any help is appreciated!
     
  2. DoghouseMike macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    If the response is lacking here, try asking over on nma-fallout.com

    Not sure if it would be worth trying to grab the windows version and running that, either through bootcamp, or by virtualising windows (see fusion, parralels, virtualbox, crossover, wineskin, probably some others). There is a "high res" patch for fallout, but I think it was only compatible with windows as it had some direct x calls.
     
  3. raxx thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    #3
    Thanks Doghousemike, i'll have a look over there as well.

    Wouldn't it be the same problem on windows though? Either way i'll give it a try as soon as I've a copy of windows.
     
  4. Huntn Suspended

    Huntn

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Location:
    The Misty Mountains
    #4
    Not necessarily. Different OS, different drivers and settings. However, I'm not suggesting that Windows is the only solution. Does your hardware meet the game's specs? (Don't know off hand).
     
  5. CylonGlitch macrumors 68030

    CylonGlitch

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Location:
    SoCal
    #5
    I typically love these style of games, and had heard nothing but great things about Fallout1. Recently I purchased a copy for myself and started playing (ok, about 4 months ago now) and after about 2 to 3 hours of play time, I found I was bored and really wasn't sure what I was supposed to do or where I was supposed to go. I tried following the story, ok, no big deal there, but found myself wandering the desert just trying to figure out what to do.

    Any suggestions? I feel like I'm missing something major.
     
  6. milbournosphere macrumors 6502a

    milbournosphere

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #6
    I would imagine that Windows 98 or XP run in a VM would give you the best chance of running the game normally.
     
  7. DoghouseMike macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    I think there were some issues with certain video cards no longer supporting 256 colours in OS X, but that was going back to the horrible GMA950 thing that used to be in the macbooks. It's entirely possible it's a similar thing again.
    There's also DOSbox and Boxer, which might be able to run it (again, that'd be the windows version, emulated). I'm assuming it'd work because the emulator wouldn't be using your actual graphics card drivers.
    I just tested it out on mine (fallout 1 and 2) and they seemed to be ok (2010 13 inch MBP), but I think they used to have messed up colours, so it could be that an OS update "fixed" it somehow. I'll fire bootcamp up in a bit and see how they run under stock windows 7.

    Worth noting is that they're OLD apps using PPC code, which means they're running through Rosetta, which Lion (out in the summer allegedly) doesn't support.
     
  8. AlexMaximus macrumors 6502

    AlexMaximus

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    A400M Base
    #8
    color support, try this..

     
  9. raxx thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    #9
    Hello again and thanks to all.
    I sorted it with VM and windows xp, works perfect :)

    The graphics update mentioned is for nvidia only and would mess with my ATI card, if anyone encounters the problem make sure to verify your graphics card first.
    I still find it odd that the colors were perfect for a few sec after tabbing out and back in in OSX, anyone have an explanation for that? :D
     
  10. Tadros86 macrumors 6502

    Tadros86

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #10
    i'm having the same problem on my 2011 MBP. Fallout 1 and 2 both load up, but only on half the screen and the colors are a mess. Is running them on Windows the only solution? I may just have to buy them again on Steam.
     
  11. cluthz macrumors 68040

    cluthz

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Location:
    Norway
    #11
    You could try running it in paralells ot vmware, a bit less hassle than bootcamp.
    Just get a slimmed down version of xp or even win 98.

    I played Fallout recently in SheepShaver (os 8/9 emulator) since I did bought it when it came out for my PowerMac 6100 and the os8/9 version couldnt be upgraded to osx
     

Share This Page