Fallout 3 Ported!

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by dafootballer, Dec 3, 2009.

  1. dafootballer macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    #1
    I HAD to post this i feel accomplished doing this because i have been working on it for SO long thanks to WineskinRC4 i got it working though! :D

    http://forum.portingteam.com/viewtopic.php?f=52&t=2326

    GREEN

    HOW TO

    1. Install the game (MUST be version 1.0 or 1.0.0.14 or whatever CANNOT BE GOTY EDTION!!! ) also the wrapper has all the dlls already for fallout so it SHOULD work drag and drop from windows installtion if not install via wineskin, or if it asks to uninstall uninstall and reinstall it.

    2. First thing i did (you might not even need this) was i downloaded a Windows Live Disabler
    http://portingteam.com/redirect.php?htt ... hp?id=1086
    I then went inside the wrapper (right click packaged contents) went to Contents/WS-Installer and ran the program

    3. It SHOULD already be in fullscreen (even though its really not a bug in wineskin where sometimes its fullscreen and other times its not (ill try to find a fix) meaning you should go into Packaged Contents again and click on ScreenOptions and change it to full screen and match your resolution
    *This fixes a mouse issue if for some reason it does not let you click go into Winecfg the graphics tab and emulate a virtual desktop thats another fix*

    Um cant really think of anything else but report back this game works great

    *Runs Super Smooth on NVIDIA GeForce 9400m

    If you do need to change the SETTINGS by using the FalloutLauncher go into contents again and Wineskin Config change the executable to FalloutLauncher change your settings and put it back to Fallout3.exe (launching through the launcher did not work for me)

    Link (i apologize for the size but the DLLS take up a crap load of space...)

    Code:
    Sorry :( Sign Up to See Link



    Ported By: dafootballer
    WineskinRC4: doh123

    Bugs:
    Lags during VATS but catches up after a while
     
  2. JollyRogers macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Location:
    Virginia
    #2
    Has it been tested on an ATI card that you know of?
     
  3. dafootballer thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    #3
    not yet you would be the first it should work as ATI cards are supported for Fallout 3 and there has been success with them on winehq
     
  4. padré macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    #4
    Re:

    Hey man this sounds brilliant I've been trying to port it myself but no luck here.

    I signed up but the page keeps saying that I'm not autorised to enter, even though I'm loged in ?
     
  5. JollyRogers macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Location:
    Virginia
    #5
    I joined over at the other forum... I have been trying all night to get Dragon Age to work. No luck using the wineskin... I saw that others have same issue? I have the patches needed and tried to even build my own wine, but not having any luck.
     
  6. dafootballer thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    #6
    You have to have 5 posts to view the forum ;)

    And also ask doh123 to build a specially patched wineskin for you im sure she would happy to do so
     
  7. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #7
    Please don't call this a "port," you got me needlessly excited. Name this topic what it is, "Fallout 3 Running in Wine"
     
  8. fcamilleri macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Location:
    In Your Mind
    #8
    I didn't know that wine could run Fallout 3...

    OH WAIT IT CANT.

    The OP is right, this is a WINESKIN=Cider-esque port.
     
  9. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #9
    Then the topic should say "WINESKIN" or "Cider-esque port."

    "Porting" is what Aspyr and Feral does: translating the game to run natively under OS X.
     
  10. fcamilleri macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Location:
    In Your Mind
    #10
    ...cider is a form of port. ciderports run natively. Played RA3?
     
  11. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #11
    Okay, I guess it is a "form" of a port--a bad port. From what I've read Cider games are quite flaky (especially RA3).

    I don't consider it "native" because it has to run in a Windows wrapper. There's a reason why Feral and Aspyr still port games natively, as opposed to cider.

    Honestly I don't understand the appeal of "porting" games like this. You just run into more problems than it's worth. Bootcamp takes what, 30 seconds to boot into? Best performance, fewest issues.
     
  12. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #12
    It escapes me too. Bootcamp with it's 100% performance and compatibility (you can't even play L4D2 or TF2 properly since you can't connect to Steam servers, unless they've hacked that now).
    But yea. I've been running Fallout 3 since it appeared on Steam in 2008 on XP under my Macbook (9400M). It runs okay but I really cant imagine how it'd run under emulation/unofficial port.
     
  13. Huntn macrumors G5

    Huntn

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Location:
    The Misty Mountains
    #13
    I 3rd the motion. Bootcamp is very easy and fast.
     
  14. ConquerorV macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    #14
    i know this makes me sound like a newb but where can i find wineskin to download. I try on google and it comes up with the drink one.
     
  15. gregorsamsa macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Location:
    (Metamorphosing near) Staffs, 51st State.
    #15
    Try here: CodeWeavers

    Btw, I don't use it so can't help with any problems that might surface, though I'm sure others can. ;)

    EDIT: Scrap that! This'll be it: Wineskin
     
  16. ConquerorV macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    #16
    now that i have wineskin, i have another problem. when i ran WS-Installer and chose wine, it just added a desktop folder to my desktop and thats all it did. I downloaded RC5. never mind, found out what was the problem.
     
  17. dafootballer thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    #17
  18. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #18
    Wouldn't the easiest way be to upload it here, or remove the posting limit?
     
  19. tominated macrumors 68000

    tominated

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Location:
    Queensland, Australia
    #19
    is there ANY way to use it with an updated version (so i can use dlc)?
     
  20. Winni macrumors 68030

    Winni

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Location:
    Germany.
    #20
    That's not a port, that's running an original Windows application through some emulation/API translation layers. Porting is something completely different.
     
  21. Sdashiki macrumors 68040

    Sdashiki

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Location:
    Behind the lens
    #21
    Wasnt this on the .noid the other day?

    It was gone last time I looked for it, sadly.
     
  22. Sdashiki macrumors 68040

    Sdashiki

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Location:
    Behind the lens
    #22
    Trying to get the WINE wrapper for Fallout 3 to work well enough to make it worth while was impossible.

    If you want to play F3 properly, as you should, you have to run it in Bootcamp.

    And I can honestly say that wanting to play Fallout 3 so badly got me to finally break down and install WinXP on my iMac.

    Now I plan on GOTY edition instead of trying to get just the original to work in OSX. :rolleyes:
     
  23. kevinchan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

Share This Page