fallout 4 system requirements - 2gb graphics card :(

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by madeirabhoy, Oct 14, 2015.

  1. madeirabhoy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2012
    #1
    PC Systems Requirements (Requires Internet Connection and Free Steam Account to Activate)

    Minimum
    Windows 7/8/10 (64-bit OS required)
    Intel Core i5-2300 2.8 GHz/AMD Phenom II X4 945 3.0 GHz or equivalent
    8 GB RAM
    30 GB free HDD space
    NVIDIA GTX 550 Ti 2GB/AMD Radeon HD 7870 2GB or equivalent

    Recommended
    Windows 7/8/10 (64-bit OS required)
    Intel Core i7 4790 3.6 GHz/AMD FX-9590 4.7 GHz or equivalent
    8 GB RAM
    30 GB free HDD space
    NVIDIA GTX 780 3GB/AMD Radeon R9 290X 4GB or equivalent




    not sure whether to try it on my iMac 2011 with its wee 1gb graphics
     
  2. Zerilos macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #2
    These are the Window's requirements. Is even coming to Mac?
     
  3. blesscheese macrumors 6502a

    blesscheese

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Location:
    Central CA
    #3
    Based on their previous games, I would say not...

    I'm living the cheap life, I just got Fallout 3 a year ago, and it plays well inside my Parallels VM (I have a 2GB 660, with 1GB allocated to the VM...having a Mac Pro has its advantages!).
     
  4. madeirabhoy thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2012
    #4
    wouldn't imagine it would. was looking forward to playing it on bootcamp but looks like i might have to buy a PS4. at least with steams new refund i can always download it and try it. to be honest i played fallout 3 and NV on a 2009 mac mini which I'm sure didnt make minimum requirements.
     
  5. Miharu macrumors 6502

    Miharu

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Location:
    Finland
    #5
    I don't understand why games would need 8 GB of RAM. They never use nearly that much. My gaming PC has 6 GB at the moment but I'll still try to run the game. If it doesn't, then I'll have to pump it up.
     
  6. Exhale, Oct 16, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2015

    Exhale macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    #6
    Probably not. Basically only 27'' iMacs meet the minimum specs - and not even this weeks new 27'' iMac meets the recommended specs.

    Of course we don't know how well the game runs in practice - theres a fairly good chance though that the specs are 'playing it safe' a bit.

    Newer games when running with higher texture resolutions will often require 4+GB of memory. Keep in mind the requirements also factor in that some memory will be used by background processes.
     
  7. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #7
    I'd imagine 2GB of VRAM is pretty average among the people who would be interested in Fallout 4. On the high end it's hard to find anything with less than 4GB as it is.

    As far as RAM usage--I've seen some modern games use 3-4GB alone, so Bethesda is probably giving themselves some breathing room after the memory consumed by the OS and whatever other programs you have running.
     
  8. Huntn, Oct 18, 2015
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2015

    Huntn macrumors G5

    Huntn

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Location:
    The Misty Mountains
    #8
    My 2011 MBP has a 2GB 1Gb card, fingers crossed. Btw, I just hit the first game my MBP does not run well, ARK Survival Evolved.
     
  9. Bloodklot macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011
    #9
    Can I play this at ultra settings with Bootcamp on my 2008 Mac Pro 3,1? I have an upgraded gfx card and ssd card. I can play BF4 ok

    Windows 7 64bit
    2.8 GHz Quad Core Xeon x2 (8 core)
    28 GB 800 MHz DDR2 PC6400
    2GB GTX 680 GDDR5
    1TB SSD on a PCI adapter
     
  10. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #10
    Probably not, the recommended requirements are well in advance of your specs.
     
  11. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    #11
    Some of the biggest games this year consume up to 5GB at the bestest settings for 1080p screens. For 4K it's much higher again. Next year 16GB card will ship on midrange.
     
  12. Huntn macrumors G5

    Huntn

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Location:
    The Misty Mountains
    #12
    I've seen a FO4 game scene posted at different graphic qualities, (was that here?) and did not notice much difference between high and low, so maybe you don't have to worry about getting to ultra. :)
     
  13. Nunyabinez macrumors 68000

    Nunyabinez

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Provo, UT
    #13
    Believe it or not, your CPU may actually be the bottleneck. While multiple cores and hyper threading are crucial for many activities, gaming doesn't benefit greatly from them.

    Most games now are multi-threaded, but by that I mean that they can use more than one core, though only the newest games take advantage of all four cores. And to my knowledge, there is no game that recognizes multiple physical CPUs.

    I don't know how Fallout 4 is written, but these open world games are often both GPU AND CPU intensive. My game machines are almost always the fastest i5 that I can afford at the time and for some games you would be better off with a higher clocked duo core than a lower clocked quad core for the same price.
     
  14. winston1236 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    #14

    Exactly, I've had to explain that to quite a few people when they assume a 12 core must be faster than a 4.
     
  15. jerwin macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    #15
    An AMD 7870 is essentially equivalent to a r9 m290x/r9 270x--so some imacs could run this.
     
  16. skottichan macrumors 6502a

    skottichan

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    #16
    I'm able to run it on a 2011 27" iMac with a 6970M.

    Is it fantastic? not really (20-30FPS @1080).
    But it's pretty playable.
     
  17. madeirabhoy thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2012
    #17
    as in 3.1ghz iMac with 1gb 6970m?


    if so you've put the best post of the year mate. waiting on my mac (identical) coming out of repair and wondering if i should spring for fallout 4 but worried that my graphics card is below minimum. i played 3 and NV on a below minimum mac mini but the story more than made up for a bit of slowdown. i was worried i might have to buy a ps4 but if its playable then ill try it :D
     
  18. skottichan macrumors 6502a

    skottichan

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    #18
    Yeah, it's definitely playable. Also as a heads up, this is with no mods as well.

    I've seen a couple slow downs when hordes of ghouls come on screen, but it's never bad enough to kill me.
     
  19. madeirabhoy thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2012
    #19
    yay :) i can't wait.
     
  20. madeirabhoy thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2012
    #20
    is that on the lowest settings?
     
  21. Plutonius macrumors 603

    Plutonius

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #21
    My 2009 Mac Pro meets the specs except for the Windows part :D.
     
  22. skottichan macrumors 6502a

    skottichan

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    #22
    Yeah, Low settings at 1080.

    It will run on Medium (1080), but there's some weird pixelization on the player character and obviously another framerate hit. It's still playable.
     
  23. adversus macrumors regular

    adversus

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #23
    FWIW I can run it in Win7 using my Mac Pro 5,1 with EVERYTHING turned to low/off, and even then I get 30-50fps. Maxed fps around 55 in some areas, but it's inconsistent and doesn't look great.

    2.8 Quad Core Xeon
    32GB Memory
    HD 5870 1GB

    Obviously the video is the bottleneck in my setup. I'm actually looking at buying a new card (maybe a 970 or 980). I game on this machine in both Windows and Mac OS and the CPU has never even come close to being a bottleneck. The game that eats the most CPU cycles is Project CARS and even then it's only 15-20% of available power.
     
  24. Bloodklot macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011
    #24

    FYI the computer ran it just fine on Ultra settings :) Smooth as butter
     
  25. Bloodklot macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011
    #25

    Just came back to let you all know that the ol' computer ran Ultra just fine! :) Smooth as butter.
     

Share This Page