Windows Fallout New Vegas ?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Washac, Jan 10, 2014.

  1. Washac macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #1
    I need cheering up at the moment and need a game that is a blast and fun to play and I like RPGs so, would Fallout New Vegas fill this gap for me ?

    How does this play under Bootcamp ?
     
  2. LowVoltage macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    #2
    It just so happens I'm playing FO:NV right now. It plays very well under Bootcamp, and it will like your 6870 card. Since you like RPGs, I don't have to warn you about dedicating some time to such a game. This is my second play through, this time with the DLCs already installed so it will be a complete experience in one go.

    I'll give you a tip, though: Go through the Geforce tweak guide for optimizing your performance. A few modifications of the .ini config files will help to avoid some random crash-to-desktop situations and generally improve your experience. The guide will also remind you to pay attention to which config file you're changing. One is the default config, while the other with the same file name in a different folder is the real one the game relies on for your personal setup. I forget which folder has which file, but the tweak guide will clarify for you.
     
  3. Washac, Jan 11, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2014

    Washac thread starter macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #3
    Thank you very much for all this information I think I will give it a go :)

    Don't like the look of wading through that Windows tweaking guide its huge :( but will give the other stuff a try.
     
  4. LowVoltage macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    #4
    Actually, you can skip most of the pages regarding the graphics settings that are available to you from the launch menu. Your good card will likely cause the automatic selections to be High or Ultra. The better parts of the tweaking guide towards the end show you where to make changes to memory allowances, whether or not to allow the game to cache scenery ahead of you, the number of CPU cores allotted to the game, things like that. Even with the latest updates the Fallout engine had its share of glitches, and many of them can be side-stepped with the tweaks. Fallout 3 and NV are already goofy at times by design, but some of the weirdness from glitches can be frustrating (NPCs not following on the right path, items dropping through the floor, etc.).
     
  5. Washac, Jan 11, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2014

    Washac thread starter macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #5
    Actually when I first loaded it to take a quick look it said it was choosing the best options for my machine, and guess what ? It set everything to LOW :) Not looked through the other tweaks yet, but will before I play.
     
  6. Dirtyharry50 macrumors 68000

    Dirtyharry50

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    #6
    Bummer. I guess you'll need to be thinking about finally getting a new current system then so you can play stuff like this. I'd recommend the current top end 27" iMac personally - genuine Apple workmanship all the way!

    I'm kidding! I'm kidding!

    By the way, you can set this up with Wineskin and skip the rebooting if you want to. There should be pre-rolled wrappers by the Porting Team for it. I rolled my own and in limited testing it seems fine.

    Here is one useful tip for you. Both Fallout 3 and Fallout NV start off with ridiculous mouse acceleration by default which will probably drive you nuts. There is a good post in the Steam forum for the game that explains what options text file to edit to fix this so the mouse behaves normally. Why they defaulted to the mouse flying all over the place nobody knows.
     
  7. Washac thread starter macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #7
    I think the mouse thing is all laid out in that tweak file I have been pointed towards, which I have printed out, not looked through it yet properly. The wrapper for New Vegas on The Porting Teams site does say that it runs choppy in places, and does not mention anything about steam.
     
  8. LowVoltage macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    #8
    Wha-?!

    Hmm, well I suspect there was some kind of goof up with the system checking there. I'm using a rather dated Radeon HD4870 and NV set itself to High or Ultra... I can't remember which right now. But anyway, you should be able to handle High with more than enough leeway to up the advanced settings controls for things like reflections in the water and distant object fades.

    ----------

    Oh, the game is a blast! It's a nice change from fantasy RPGs. Some people might not like the fact that there are choices in the game with no good-all-around outcomes. One group benefits while another is left hanging, you can't save everybody, that kind of thing. The DLCs for both FO3 and FO:NV are nice, too. A couple of them are dedicated to being horror-themed (from my perspective, anyway).

    FO3 and FO:NV are from the same folks who made the Elder Scrolls games, and if Skyrim is any indication of what FO4 will look like I'm pretty stoked for the next title to arrive.
     
  9. cluthz macrumors 68040

    cluthz

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Location:
    Norway
    #9
    FO:NV will run great on a 6870.
    I did play it back when it was released on a GTX285 and the 6870 should be similar in performance. I'm pretty sure I ran everything on very high/ultra @60 FPS.

    The game is great. I think i spent like 60-80 hours on it.
     
  10. Washac thread starter macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #10
    Thanks, I will whack everything up on high and see what happens :)
     
  11. Washac, Jan 12, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2014

    Washac thread starter macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #11
    For those here that have experience with this game I have problem with it already.

    After doing the beginning part with the Doc and setting up my character I left his building, this is when the fun started.

    I was just standing there looking around 9 And very nice it looked on Ultra setting ), firstly a block of squares kept flicking on and off on the right hand side of the screen, then an overlay screen came up about V.A.T.S with a figure in blue and that was my lot for quite a while. Did not matter what I pressed ( I am using a wireless 360 controller ) nothing happened, but things where sort of happening on the screen, like the save game screen opened itself, selections where being made, it was almost like somebody else was choosing options but in a very very slow erratic way.

    After watching this for a while I started hitting keys on the keyboard and it all suddenly put itself back to normal like nothing had happened.

    Very strange, any ideas anyone ?
     
  12. cluthz macrumors 68040

    cluthz

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Location:
    Norway
  13. Washac thread starter macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #13
    Yea I know what VATS is it was the way it just came up as I was looking around, then it went into the save game screen and did what I described before.

    The boxes where not that type of graphic card going wrong boxes, these where a group of nine boxes, I think they may of had numbers next to them and they where about the size of the keys on your keyboard, and where just
    empty squares, they flickered on and off when I pressed the thumb pad on 360 controller.
     
  14. LowVoltage macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    #14
    Probably hot keys

    Your controller is probably trying to access the hot key feature. You can assign certain commands to keyboard numbers 1 and 3 through 8. Although that wouldn't add up to nine boxes... That's my first guess. I did a quick search for PC users with 360 controllers. Some reported issues, but nothing like what you're describing. Some people thought they needed to install drivers, but others said if you're using Win 7 you don't have to, although many said having the controller plugged in before starting the game was critical.

    I'm afraid I'm a mouse + keyboard guy, so I'm not sure how much help I can be. Sorry!
     
  15. Washac, Jan 13, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2014

    Washac thread starter macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #15
    Ah yes I think you may have sorted the issue, controller should be plugged in before starting the game, nine squares was a guess, but trying to access the key feature sounds good to me, thanks :)
     
  16. VI™ macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Location:
    Shepherdsturd, WV
    #16
    No. It's a game about a post apocalyptic Vegas. The place where dreams go to die. Vegas is full of people losing money, alcoholics, and hookers. Other than the hookers, I don't see any of the rest of that cheering me up.

    Other than that, it's an excellent game. :D
     
  17. Washac thread starter macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #17
    Nice reply :)
     

Share This Page