FallOut NewVegas on macbook pro

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by skatementle, Oct 25, 2010.

  1. skatementle macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    #1
    has anyone tryed this on bootcamp? wondering what the results are fps wise and your res?:)
     
  2. Hansr macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    #2
    2008 MBP/2.6/8600GT/256MB.

    Runs fluid on 1280x800 with AA off. Also turned off shadows rest on the game's chosen default.
     
  3. aznguyen316 macrumors 68020

    aznguyen316

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #3
    Macbook Pro 2010 320m 2.4ghz Win7-64bit

    On all lows I get 50-60FPS, 60capped. Problem is game stutters at times so I googled it (known issue) but a d3d9.dll helped fix most of that. I haven't bothered upping the graphics up to medium to see what is affected but I have shadows off, water stuff off, native resolution. I bet I can run with some graphics details at ~40FPS. maybe I'll try next time I load up the launcher.

    after googling and finding various tweaks for F:NV I got my game running really smooth! At first i was disappointed but found out it was the game itself having issues. So yeah the game runs great on lows and on mediums I turned off shadows & water but left HDR on and get 40FPS+ don't care for shadows and water reflections but I might turn it on just to see what kind of hit I'll see.
     
  4. skatementle thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    #4
    awsome, thanks alot guys I might have to create a bootcamp partition now... aha!
     
  5. Barnzee macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Location:
    Oak Harbor, WA
    #5
    I'm going to buy this game today. I'll run it on my macbook pro 17" 9600m gt and 2.93 core 2 duo with 4gs of RAM. I'll post results when I'm done.

    P.S. how do I know what the frame rate is while playing the game? do I need third party software to do it?
     
  6. aznguyen316 macrumors 68020

    aznguyen316

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #6
    yeah I'm using free third party software - FRAPS
     
  7. aznguyen316 macrumors 68020

    aznguyen316

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #7
  8. skatementle thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    #8
    that was sick man! thnx u ever try to play on high?
     
  9. aznguyen316 macrumors 68020

    aznguyen316

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #9
    I haven't tried on high, I guess I could try haha I just like it at 30+ at all times but yeah I'll def try it, but will still prob turn down water and shadows.. I just don't care for those. haha
     
  10. skatementle thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    #10
    haha alright. Im gonna ttest it out too I just installed windows 7 on my mbp Im just waiting for new vegas to finish dling.:cool:
     
  11. archurban macrumors 6502a

    archurban

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #11
    it's funny that fallout new vegas system requirement is the same as fallout 3 back in 2008. you will realize that graphic is exactly the same, entire system is not improved at all. quest, map are even more ambiguous. oh, tons of bugs. I hate it. I didn't finish the game. but because of buggy, lag, unstable frame rate, I just uninstall. it is the shame.
     
  12. skatementle thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    #12
    maybe you should wait for more patches sucks it didnt work out for you. I have been playing for about 2 hours and its been working pretty good I installed a patch before I even played it and it works pretty good for me with 1200x800 res and medium settings as auto detected. gameplay is pretty stable
     
  13. aznguyen316 macrumors 68020

    aznguyen316

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #13
    If you have FPS drops that you notice - often when you're indoors or right when you begin talking to someone, get the .dll file linked in my youtube video. I noticed it helped me A LOT. It didn't get me higher FPS but it sure took away the minimum FPS which leads to overall better avg fps.
     
  14. ActionableMango macrumors G3

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #14
    Same engine or not, the graphics are fantastic. Especially the view distances when you get up some place high. I have everything set to max.

    I'm in 20 hours, no serious bugs. Some times there are collision problems and dead bodies will bounce around forever, and sometimes my companion gets stuck and can't follow me.

    It's a fantastic game that works great for me. I realize lots of people seem to have problems with it, so I'm knocking on wood...
     
  15. Barnzee macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Location:
    Oak Harbor, WA
    #15
    ok stats

    9600m gt
    2.93 core 2 duo
    4gs of ram

    average of 20fps inside and out on max settings and highest resolution.

    I think I need to tone it down a bit b/c it dips down to as low as 12fps when in combat against a lot of people
     
  16. aznguyen316 macrumors 68020

    aznguyen316

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #16
    ^ yeah max settings is hurting you quite a bit. I think textures is pretty important for this game, makes things look much crispier. That and some HDR, lighting is cool. Other than that, turn down a few things, shadows, water especially. And if necessary drop in that .dll fix.
     
  17. Barnzee macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Location:
    Oak Harbor, WA
    #17
    How do I do that?
     
  18. TMRaven macrumors 68020

    TMRaven

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #18
  19. aznguyen316 macrumors 68020

    aznguyen316

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #19
    ^ yeah what he said, sorry I some reason was assuming you watched my linked video above, which I linked in youtube haha
     
  20. strang macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    #20
    On my MacBook Pro 15: Core i5, GeForce 330m 256MB, 4GB RAM I can do Fallout New Vegas on high @ 1280x800 and average 45 fps. It's very playable.

    I made some tweaks, turned off water and shadows and lowered AA to 2x.

    I did however find FPS drop significantly when I talk to a NPC so I dropped in the d3dx9.dll fix and it's been smooth sailing since.
     
  21. strang macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    #21
    I turned water back and set that to low and multisampling off. I did leave shadows off, I guess water is more important to me. Game is still averaging around 45ish. I don't see very many water areas so it hasn't exactly affected me. At the pool rooms at the casinos I can dip occasionally to around 30s but I don't get exactly experience bad hiccups.

    So long as you do the d3dx9 tweak it runs great.
     
  22. TrulyYuki macrumors 6502

    TrulyYuki

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Location:
    Washington
    #22
    I'm currently using a MBpro 15inch 2.53Ghz i5 model with 8GB ram and i feel like NewVegas is so laggy. I am BRAND new to gaming on my mac. New to gaming in general. I had a friend make some tweeks and it was running smooth for the day but since then... two weeks ago its been so laggy. worst when trying to talk to people or when in locations with a lot of people running around. I have the game on ps3 too but wanted something to play when at work. I have the game downloaded on the computer not from Steam. I'm quite disappointed with the mac or is it just the game. I would assume that this computer could handle this sort of game. I downloaded Bioshock and Mass Effect from steam and they seem to run just fine.

    I've got settings turned down in every which way. I've tried it all but I can't get it to run like it did that one day.
    btw I'm using windows7 on minimal settings as well.
     
  23. aznguyen316 macrumors 68020

    aznguyen316

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #23
    have you tried the .dll fix above or linked in my youtube video?
     
  24. TrulyYuki macrumors 6502

    TrulyYuki

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Location:
    Washington
    #24
    Okay so I only know how to use mac. I'm just starting out with Gaming. I see two download options for the nvidia perf fix. there's the d3d9.dll or the OPTIONAL 2nd download. just try one then try the other. And I am no using steam so I should only have to drop this one file in once, am i correct?

     
  25. TrulyYuki macrumors 6502

    TrulyYuki

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Location:
    Washington
    #25
    OH MY GOD,
    THANK YOU, THANK YOU THANK YOU!!! It works great. No lagging. once in a bluemoon i get some frameloss but hardly any.
     

Share This Page