Field Test is back in iOS 4.1

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by saving107, Sep 5, 2010.

  1. saving107 macrumors 603

    saving107

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Location:
    San Jose, Ca
    #1
    This is just an FYI for those people who missed this feature. I am running the 4.1 GM version on an iPhone 4.

    Dial: *3001#12345#*

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  2. Brien macrumors 68020

    Brien

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
  3. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
  4. saving107 thread starter macrumors 603

    saving107

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Location:
    San Jose, Ca
    #4
    just exit (Home Button) and it goes away.
     
  5. PNutts macrumors 601

    PNutts

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, US
  6. Gomez315 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
  7. saving107 thread starter macrumors 603

    saving107

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Location:
    San Jose, Ca
    #7
    The closer to -50 the better the signal strength should be.
    [​IMG]
     
  8. dontworry macrumors 6502

    dontworry

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    #8
    what's supposed to be listed?
     
  9. mgmusicman94 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    #9
  10. nero44 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Location:
    London, UK
    #10
    I am running the officially released 4.0.2.

    not sure if this has already been posted somewhere.. but simply go to your homescreen and tap the bars.. it will switch to the singal strength number...

    I upgraded from a backup, which showed the dB signal anyways, so I am not sure if this is due to 4.0.2 or the fact that it showed the signal before... only this switching feature seems to be new. perhaps someone on 4.0.2 can confirm?
     
  11. Fisher624 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    #11
    Is there a way to get the -db to stay instead of the bars? Once I exit field test mode the -db stays for a second then switches back to bars, but I would like to keep the -db. Thanks in advance.
     
  12. ct2k7 macrumors 603

    ct2k7

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Location:
    London or Florida
  13. saving107 thread starter macrumors 603

    saving107

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Location:
    San Jose, Ca
    #13
    this does not work, at least not for me.
     
  14. Juicy D. Links macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #14
    how do i stop the toggle feature and totally exit this????????????
     
  15. RafaelT macrumors 65816

    RafaelT

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Location:
    Lakeland, FL
    #15
    So I just went to go into field test and accidentally left off the last *.

    Try entering
    *3001#12345#
    any idea what that message is about?
     
  16. Fisher624 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    #16
    In order to get the bars to stay I resprung my phone, which I remembered reading in another thread at some point. Now I wonder how to get them off when I get bored of them:eek:

    Actually, now I can toggle it on/off as noted above. Hmmm.
     
  17. Shifty88 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    #17
    I tapped the bars, but it doesn't change or do anyhting?
     
  18. theonekcrow macrumors 6502a

    theonekcrow

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Location:
    Indiana
  19. Mochi Hana macrumors 6502a

    Mochi Hana

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Location:
    Texas
    #19
    Thanks for the graph, I've always wondered what those numbers meant. Also thanks for the information about the Field Test, I'll have to give it a try once I get home to download 4.1. :)
     
  20. Daveoc64 macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #20
    The GM is the official release.

    There was absolutely no change between the two versions - people have done deep analysis on the GM image and the image released through iTunes today.
     
  21. elie.fares macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    #21


    I think this is the way signal was represented before the 4.0.1 update.
     
  22. Juicy D. Links macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #23
    any idea how to get it back to stay on the "bars" and fully stop field mode in 4.1? I can toggle now but want to know how to revert to "normal":
     
  23. strosz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    #24
    I also did the field test and double-tapped out of it. Now the dB numbers shows up instead of the bars.

    Does anyone have any idea how to bring the bars back?

    If I dial *3001#12345#* and tap the dB numbers the bars do return, but as soon as I exit the field test the bars disappear again.
     
  24. MyRomeo macrumors 6502

    MyRomeo

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #25
    To get back to normal mode after I had resprung with the dB I had to reset all settings, bit of a pain in the backside to put things back but got rid of the dB
     

Share This Page