Financial program

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by suumessage, Apr 30, 2013.

1. suumessage macrumors newbie

I have been using Quicken for Windows 2006 but have just gotten an iMac and want some simple new checkbook software for it which will import my Quicken files. I use Quicken only for recording checks and categorizing for tax purposes. I don't do budgets or investments. The Quicken for Mac hasn't been recommended. Someone suggested Checkbook by Splasm, but it is getting mixed reviews. Are there any programs that import Quicken files and are also in the cloud? Or is ok to put the info on the hard drive with 2 backups?

2. rkaufmann87 macrumors 68000

rkaufmann87

iBank is a strong contender.

3. Weaselboy Moderator

Weaselboy

Staff Member

Another iBank recommendation here. I tried several OS X banking app and settled on iBank.

OP>> I can't think if any banking apps that directly store data in a clooud storage solution, but iBank and others could store their data on DropBox or you could just backup to an external drive with Time Machine. You can DL a free trial of iBank from their web site if you want to try it out.

I use Time Machine and CrashPlan online backup together.

4. jtrainor56 macrumors regular

jtrainor56

I have tried Moneydance, iBank, See Financial, Quicken Essentials and one or two others and have not found anything close to Quicken for windows. I find that just importing my Quicken file into any one of these gets screwed up and puts information in the wrong accounts. Also when downloading transactions in bulk for one bank with multiple accounts from inside the application, a couple of these programs just lumped all of the information into one account. If I do a web connect from the banks software I have no problem but it's just time consuming.