Firefox or Safari

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by eclipse, Jun 19, 2007.

1. eclipse macrumors 6502a

eclipse

OK, here's my problem.

I'm a junior designer / assistant and I seem to have to use Firefox AND Safari for different purposes.

Firefox is compatible with Blogger... Safari isn't. Safari doesn't seem to see Blogger's HTLM editor, "Compose" and you are left in their code window. I'm loving not having to watch the code at all when I use Firefox... but the problem is I have to use Firefox! Firefox see's "Compose", Safari doesn't.

Now here's the thing about Firefox that bugs me to death... I can't just drop and drag images to the desktop! As a junior designer, I have to do image searching... and Firefox doesn't let me drop and drag. It's driving me nuts.

Can anyone fix one application or the other so I can just use one browser instead of 2?

2. psychofreak Retired

psychofreak

Try Camino, I haven't done that specific thing, but its a lot more mac-ish than FF, but still highly compatible :)

3. jng macrumors 65816

jng

Firefox 2.0.0.4 drags and drop to the desktop fine for me.

If you're a web designer, you should have several browsers open simultaneously anyway.

I use safari as my primary browser. Yes, some sites/features don't work and I would then need Firefox. Not a biggie though, seriously. Just Apple/Cmd + Tab.

4. epochblue macrumors 68000

epochblue

The edit-in-place feature you're complaining about has been fixed in the latest nightlies of Safari (yes, that definitely includes the Safari 3 Beta).

I don't know if Blogger takes advantage of the improvements (I know Tumblr doesn't, but Google's apps do), but it's worth a look.

And, as a web designer, you should have no problem looking at the code :) In fact, writing the code yourself should give you the warm-fuzzies knowing your markup is semantically correct ;) :D

5. eclipse thread starter macrumors 6502a

eclipse

And Camino is the winner.

It just works.

Excellent.