Firmware hack for running Westmere 6 cores in 2009 MP...

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by VirtualRain, May 11, 2011.

  1. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
  2. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
  3. VirtualRain thread starter macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #4
    Thanks. I was surprised a thread wasn't already started when I posted this. Though, given the poor thread title, you can hopefully forgive my mistake. :rolleyes:
     
  4. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    NEVER! :mad:
    :p ;)


    This update makes the 2009 machines actually a pretty nice deal, two years after their release. About damn time... :rolleyes:
     
  5. VirtualRain thread starter macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #6
    Agreed. I might consider a 6-core upgrade for my 09... If I can find one at a reasonable price.
     
  6. fabriciom macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Madrid, España
    #7
    I just like to note that everyone should read the transplant threads as its very delicate deal. The (very small) pins are in the socket and not in the CPU. Very easy to damage you board. They are slightly curved so if you pull the CPU and see that dont freak out ( I did ).

    -Cheers
     
  7. freeman727 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    #8
    Just when I was about to upgrade to a 2011 iMac, a hacker has given a really good reason not to. When the hex core becomes reasonably priced and release of a new graphics card (ATI 6890?), I'll be a happy camper!
     
  8. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #9
    But not from Apple. If a hacker hadn't done this, 2009 owners would still be left in the weeds. :rolleyes: :(
     
  9. beto2k7 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Location:
    ::1
    #10
    After trying this my Geekbench result sinked about 150-200 points. Anyone care to confirm?
     
  10. freeman727 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    #11
    Did you have any extra processes in the background?
     
  11. beto2k7, May 11, 2011
    Last edited: May 11, 2011

    beto2k7 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Location:
    ::1
    #12
    Nope fresh install just rebooted

    NVM.... spotlight was rebuilding index ... damn!!!
     
  12. sammyman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    #13
    SUCK! I just bought a w3565! What a waste if I could go to 6 cores!!!
     
  13. freeman727 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    #14
    Unless you have extra dough lying around or you really need it for a project, the w3565 is probably a good option until the price of the hex cores come down in price.

    I'll wait until the hex cores are closer to $600.
     
  14. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #15
    the w3670 hex core is 605 from buy.com



    sammyman don't fell bad run the new quad and if you want to do the 6 core hack wait until aug or sept. you are much less cash out of pocket this way also buy.com would give you full credit to trade up
     
  15. sammyman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    #16
    Well I could return it. I just ordered it today. Very tempted by the W3670. Does that one work fine too? Any side issues with running a firmware hack like this?
     
  16. sammyman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    #17
    I need the W3670. Gotta cancel my order! Will this thing work in my 2009? Sorry for repeating myself, but I am psyched. Does this mean I need 1333mhz RAM?
     
  17. hammten macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    #18
    It appears that the w3670 will work fine in your machine with this hack
     
  18. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #19
    Given what's been posted on the firmware hack, the W3670 will run on a 2009 SP daughterboard once it's been flashed (provides support for B1 stepped parts). But due to the QPI configuration, the W3670 will not run in a DP daughterboard (has to do with the chipset, not the firmware).

    1333MHz memory is not a necessity, but the CPU is capable of running it if you wish to replace your existing RAM.
     
  19. mjsmke macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #20
    Ive been reading up on how to do this to my 2009 MP but can anyone tell me which strings i have change? and what do i change them to? Is that all i have to do?

    I found the article a bit confusing to read.
     
  20. freeman727 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    #21
    ??? Just download the app from netkas.org

    You need to register first.
     
  21. sammyman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    #22
    Sorry I read this 3 times and can't figure out if you are saying the w3670 will run, or will not run in the 2009 MP???
     
  22. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #23
    SP = Single processor
    MP = Multiple processor

    He's saying it will work on a flashed SP Mac Pro, but probably not a flashed MP Mac Pro.
     
  23. sammyman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    #24
    Phew! Just dropped about a grand on 32GB of RAM and a w3670.
     
  24. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #25
    I presumed you knew what SP and DP mean. :eek:
    • SP = Single Processor (aka UP for Uni-Processor)
    • DP = Dual Processor
    • MP in terms of CPU's = Multiple Processors (Mac Pro's do not use this type of CPU), but as this is Mac Rumors, MP is usually short hand for Mac Pro. ;)
    So long as your daughter board only holds one CPU (single socket, not dual), and you've flashed the firmware, the W3670 will work in the 2009, as should the RAM (presume it's the right type for your system).

    The reason a W36xx cannot work in a DP board, is there's a different chipset for the different processor series' (X58 is used on SP boards, the 5520 is used for the DP boards), and the 5520 cannot shut down an unused QPI channel. CPU's can, which is why a DP processor model will work in an SP board.

    Before the flash was available, that CPU would only work in the SP 2010 models, as Apple's not provided a firmware update for 2009 owners (2010 firmware provides the B1 stepping support needed for the 36xx and 56xx series processors).
     

Share This Page