First Macbook pros with Firewire: Which symbol?

Ojitos

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 11, 2008
15
0
Hello guys,

I recently bought a second hand macbook pro 13" i5 in China...

It works fine and really seems genuine except for 2 really strange things:

-My serial number doesn't seem to be valid when i tried to register it (?????)
-When I look at "About this mac", it says Macbookpro8.1. and in Hardware, it does mention Thunderbolt.
So it seems to be an early 2011 Macbook pro...

BUT the really weird thing is: there is no thunderbolt symbol next to the Mini-display port. It's got the old mini-display symbol...

I've tried to find if first MBP with thunderbolt technology had not changed their symbol yet but apparently they had...

What do you guys think??? Isn't that weird?
 

Macman45

macrumors G5
Jul 29, 2011
13,199
133
Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
I Think

Hello guys,

I recently bought a second hand macbook pro 13" i5 in China...

It works fine and really seems genuine except for 2 really strange things:

-My serial number doesn't seem to be valid when i tried to register it (?????)
-When I look at "About this mac", it says Macbookpro8.1. and in Hardware, it does mention Thunderbolt.
So it seems to be an early 2011 Macbook pro...

BUT the really weird thing is: there is no thunderbolt symbol next to the Mini-display port. It's got the old mini-display symbol...

I've tried to find if first MBP with thunderbolt technology had not changed their symbol yet but apparently they had...

What do you guys think??? Isn't that weird?
It's more likely that you have pirated software on a genuine machine. Nobody has yet copied the entire hardware (As far as I know)

A fresh purchased copy of the OS will reveal all.
 

Ojitos

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 11, 2008
15
0
It's more likely that you have pirated software on a genuine machine. Nobody has yet copied the entire hardware (As far as I know)

A fresh purchased copy of the OS will reveal all.
Thanks for your reply.
But I am actually running a clean copy of LION that I had bought to install on my previous macs before moving to China. So the software should be clean...
 

Macman45

macrumors G5
Jul 29, 2011
13,199
133
Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
Can you post some shots

Thanks for your reply.
But I am actually running a clean copy of LION that I had bought to install on my previous macs before moving to China. So the software should be clean...
Of your "About this mac" ?

Click the apple, take shot, post....Might give an idea...I hope it's not stolen and re-sold...But it is a possibility.
 

416049

macrumors 68000
Mar 14, 2010
1,844
2
have you benchmarked it yet? try that and check online to the result you got and it might help you figure it out, also mactracker might be able to help you, its an app that shows what mac model you have and it has every mac since the start of apple in it.
 

Ojitos

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 11, 2008
15
0
Here are screen captures:

Screen Shot 2012-01-01 at 11.47.03 PM.jpg

have you benchmarked it yet? try that and check online to the result you got and it might help you figure it out, also mactracker might be able to help you, its an app that shows what mac model you have and it has every mac since the start of apple in it.
Hum. What do you mean by benchmarking it? I'm sorry, I don't know what this means.
Can you explain how to do this?
 

416049

macrumors 68000
Mar 14, 2010
1,844
2
Here are screen captures:

View attachment 318091



Hum. What do you mean by benchmarking it? I'm sorry, I don't know what this means.
Can you explain how to do this?
well read here and download the tool (you shouldn't run other apps apart from the benchmark one, it basically tests your computer and give it a rating in terms of processor performance: http://www.primatelabs.ca/geekbench/


and than compare your number (your number can be a bit off but shouldn't be too much)

http://www.primatelabs.ca/geekbench/mac-benchmarks/


yours should be 6484 in 64bit or 5906 in 32bit
 
Last edited:

Ojitos

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 11, 2008
15
0
well read here and download the tool (you shouldn't run other apps apart from the benchmark one, it basically tests your computer and give it a rating in terms of processor performance: http://www.primatelabs.ca/geekbench/


and than compare your number (your number can be a bit off but shouldn't be too much)

http://www.primatelabs.ca/geekbench/mac-benchmarks/


yours should be 6484 in 64bit or 5906 in 32bit
Screen Shot 2012-01-02 at 12.23.52 AM.jpg

Well, here's what i got... But I've been too lazy to switch all the programs off, I had only iTunes and two browsers running.

Is that score alarming?
 

416049

macrumors 68000
Mar 14, 2010
1,844
2

derickdub

macrumors 6502
Mar 13, 2011
317
0
VA
Hello guys,

I recently bought a second hand macbook pro 13" i5 in China...

It works fine and really seems genuine except for 2 really strange things:

-My serial number doesn't seem to be valid when i tried to register it (?????)
-When I look at "About this mac", it says Macbookpro8.1. and in Hardware, it does mention Thunderbolt.
So it seems to be an early 2011 Macbook pro...

BUT the really weird thing is: there is no thunderbolt symbol next to the Mini-display port. It's got the old mini-display symbol...

I've tried to find if first MBP with thunderbolt technology had not changed their symbol yet but apparently they had...

What do you guys think??? Isn't that weird?
AFAIK the Thunderbolt symbol was on all the Thunderbolt equipped Macs. Is the Mini-DisplayPort symbol there or is there nothing there? It may have possibly rubbed off.

Another way of telling is the FaceTime camera. It should be the 720p "HD" camera and not the lesser iSight camera.

EDIT:
I see where you said there is the Mini-DisplayPort symbol. The information in system profiler can be changed so you shouldn't go by that. There is also a lot that can affect the results of the benchmark score so take that lightly. Just take pictures with the built-in camera and check the resolution, although you should be able to tell by quality alone.
 
Last edited:

lgwells1

macrumors 6502
Aug 27, 2011
251
5
COMO
Does the top or bottom port logo looks like yours?





BTW, I don't think I would ever buy anything Apple second hand in China.
 

borisiii

macrumors 6502
Jul 4, 2010
358
0
Based on the MDP logo but system info claiming to be thunderbolt, and the RAM clocked at 1067MHz; my guess is that it has been put together using working parts parts from multiple broken MacBooks.

It sounds like you have the internals of an early 2011 MBP (or most of them anyway) inside a 2009/2010 top case. Maybe your MBP was replaced at the Genius Bar under warranty, causing Apple to remove the serial number from their systems as the MBP was 'out of circulation' as far as they were concerned. If that MBP's logic board then illegitimately found its way into another computer and then onto the market, it's possible that you would have a working and legitimate logic board, but whose serial number doesn't exist as far as Apple is concerned.

What's the serial number printed on the underside? Does it match the one in system info?
 

HippieMagic

macrumors 6502
Dec 21, 2011
311
163
It's a bit surprising that it has 1066 MHz RAM. These models were sold with 1333 MHz RAM as far as I know.
According to the apple site it should have a 2.4 or 2.8 Ghz CPU and 1333 MHz RAM. His has neither. Ack my bad I thought he had a LATE and not an EARLY.

It still should have 1333MHz as far as I know though.
 

WardC

macrumors 68030
Oct 17, 2007
2,726
213
Fort Worth, TX
According to the apple site it should have a 2.4 or 2.8 Ghz CPU and 1333 MHz RAM. His has neither. Ack my bad I thought he had a LATE and not an EARLY.

It still should have 1333MHz as far as I know though.
2.3GHz and 2.7GHz were the "February 2011" 13" models
 

sweetbrat

macrumors 65816
Jun 17, 2009
1,443
1
Redford, MI
Just an FYI, I have a 2008 15" MBP, and it also lists Thunderbolt in the System Report screen. But if you click on it, it says "No hardware was found." I think Lion automatically looks for it and then reports it as missing on any Macs that don't have it, even if they were created before Thunderbolt was available.

Not sure if that helps you or not.
 

lippyt

macrumors member
Aug 14, 2010
36
0
According to the apple site it should have a 2.4 or 2.8 Ghz CPU and 1333 MHz RAM. His has neither. Ack my bad I thought he had a LATE and not an EARLY.

It still should have 1333MHz as far as I know though.
This was a very good observation, but it doesn't make the mystery more exciting. After a little googling, 1066mhz ram does work on sandy bridge macs (2011).

It could have been a mashup of an unregistered refurbished casing (explaining the serials) with a harvested 2011 mobo. Seller was too cheap to find the fastest ram and put in older 1066mhz DDR3 modules.

I wouldn't be to critical of the actual legitimacy of the parts since it works and not to take our doubt of an enterprising Chinese businessman too far. The parts are definitely from apple or at least some factory rejects from apple. (To state the obvious, the cost of making imitations of the mobo or casing in that specific form factor are too high and it would be ridiculous to suspect this.)

What you don't have is warranty and the recognition of operating safety of the machine. They could have replaced the battery with some lower quality OEM one, cleaned the aluminum body with some carcinogenic agent to make it feel new (I'm kidding, but you can choose to be this paranoid).
 

DewGuy1999

macrumors 68040
Jan 25, 2009
3,193
6
I'm not sure if this is relevant or not, but I've got an early-2011 13" MacBook Pro and my serial number has 12-digits, the OP's only has 11-digits. I wonder if the OPs serial number on the the back of the MacBook Pro matches the one in the System Profiler?
 

Ojitos

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 11, 2008
15
0
Thanks a lot for all your answers!!

Does the top or bottom port logo looks like yours?
Image


BTW, I don't think I would ever buy anything Apple second hand in China.
Mine looks like the first one, that's why I am concerned!

The idea of an early 2011 MBP components into an older case seems the most credible one...

Some of you asked me to check if my serial number matches the one printed underneath... Well, there is ABSOLUTELY NOTHING printed on the underside of my macbook. :)

----------

Just an FYI, I have a 2008 15" MBP, and it also lists Thunderbolt in the System Report screen. But if you click on it, it says "No hardware was found." I think Lion automatically looks for it and then reports it as missing on any Macs that don't have it, even if they were created before Thunderbolt was available.

Not sure if that helps you or not.
Thanks! Well, mine doesn't say that no hardware was found... It seems to have found it. :)
 

thundersteele

macrumors 68030
Oct 19, 2011
2,984
7
Switzerland
Thanks a lot for all your answers!!



Mine looks like the first one, that's why I am concerned!

The idea of an early 2011 MBP components into an older case seems the most credible one...

Some of you asked me to check if my serial number matches the one printed underneath... Well, there is ABSOLUTELY NOTHING printed on the underside of my macbook. :)

----------



Thanks! Well, mine doesn't say that no hardware was found... It seems to have found it. :)
Ok, the best case scenario seems to be that your MBP had some smaller accident and the top and bottom case got replaced. How big is your hard disc?
 

Ojitos

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 11, 2008
15
0
Another way of telling is the FaceTime camera. It should be the 720p "HD" camera and not the lesser iSight camera.
Just take pictures with the built-in camera and check the resolution, although you should be able to tell by quality alone.
Thanks for the tip, that's a good idea!
Well, I can't really tell. The pics don't look good, but then I did it with poor lighting and I'm not sure how great looking are Facetime HD supposed to look like.
The pic dimension is 1080x720. So it is 720p, but how can i know if it's HD?
 
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.