FIXED!!!: disconnected during restore...need help!

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by psywzrd, Apr 4, 2011.

  1. psywzrd, Apr 4, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2011

    psywzrd macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #1
    I was running redsn0w and I knocked my iphone 4 off of the cradle while it was restoring. I seem to be stuck in recovery mode and I've been trying to use TinyUmbrella to update to 4.3.1 to preserve my bb. I am able to start the tss server correctly and start the restore via itunes but it seems to get stuck about 2/3 of the way through (the progress bar on the iphone gets stuck at that point). Any idea how I can get past that point or is there something else I can try?
     
  2. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #2
    Put it in DFU, then restore.
     
  3. psywzrd thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #3
    I've tried that too and it gets stuck at the same point. I just unistalled wifi sync and I tried it again and I got a 1611 error. Not sure what to do at this point.
     
  4. WhatAmI macrumors 6502a

    WhatAmI

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    #4
    I hate to be the bearer of bad news but might be you fried the baseband :( ?
     
  5. psywzrd thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #5
    I'm not even sure what that means or if it's even possible but I can get my phone into recovery mode and DFU mode without a problem. I've been trying to restore to the custom ipsw that I created with pwnage and now I'm getting a 1600 error or a 1611 error. I don't really know what else I can do at this point so I really need help.
     
  6. psywzrd thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #6
    I just tried irecovery and when it reboots I'm still getting the connect to itunes logo. Please help!!! I need to get this fixed ASAP and I don't know what else to do at this point.
     
  7. psywzrd thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #7
    I realize that I'm basically having a conversation with myself here but I've tried every recovery program I can find and I can't this thing out of the recovery mode loop. Right now I have an appt to bring my phone to the apple store tomorrow at noon but I really don't want to do that because I'm quite sure they're going to be able to tell that it was jailbroken. I really need to try and get this thing out of this recovery mode loop tonight and at this point I couldn't care less about preserving my baseband. I've tried every restore possible (dfu mode and regular recovery mode), tried restoring to a custom ipsw, tried to exit recovery mode in TinyUmbrella, etc.

    Is there anything else I can do at this point or am I totally screwed?
     
  8. ECUpirate44 macrumors 603

    ECUpirate44

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Location:
    NC
    #8
    Stop messing with it. Because the jailbreak didn't go through, theres a good chance theres no evidence of it. I wouldn't be surprised if they just considered it to be shot and give you a new one. The best thing you can do is play dumb when they ask you what happened. Just say you tried to update to 4.3.1 and it wont exit recovery mode.
     
  9. ClutchThese macrumors 65816

    ClutchThese

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Location:
    Alexandria, VA
    #9
  10. ECUpirate44 macrumors 603

    ECUpirate44

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Location:
    NC
    #10
  11. psywzrd thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #11
    Well the problem is that the phone was previously jailbroken with greenpois0n before this happened so I'm assuming that they are going to find evidence of a jb. I am trying the thing that ClutchThese posted but I don't have much confidence that it's going to work. That seems to address a different problem than what I'm having right now. I'm stuck in a recovery loop and I can't seem to get out of it.
     
  12. ClutchThese macrumors 65816

    ClutchThese

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Location:
    Alexandria, VA
    #12
    It should work. I was in the same boat earlier today. do it and report back. :)
     
  13. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #13
    Once you restore your Iphone to factory setting. Apple will not see any evident that the phone has been jailbroken.
     
  14. psywzrd thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #14
    It didn't work. I got a 1611 error when I tried to restore and now I'm right back in the recovery loop. This is driving me crazy too because I really don't think the phone is bricked but I can't get out of this loop. TinyUmbrella sees the device as a device in recovery mode and it shows the proper versions that I was on before all of this started (4.1 and 1.59 BB). Exiting recovery in TU isn't helping either.

    I know that if I do a DFU restore I'll be fine but I can't get to that point and if I did, I would just then proceed to jb it anyway. I need to get out of this loop somehow.
     
  15. psywzrd thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #15
    I'm making progress! I finally got it out of recovery mode to the point where it was still showing the itunes logo but it also had the slide for emergency thing at the bottom (that wasn't there before). Itunes wasn't recognizing it though so I'm in dfu mode now and I'm trying to do a restore. I'll post back with an update but please chime in with any ideas about what I can do now.
     
  16. ClutchThese macrumors 65816

    ClutchThese

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Location:
    Alexandria, VA
    #16
    ^^cool. It wouldn't recognize it...did you unplug it and replug it in (i know, dumb question, just making sure).
     
  17. psywzrd thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #17
    I sure did but I couldn't do a damn thing with it and itunes wouldn't see it. Now I'm back in the same loop and trying to get out of it. What the heck can I do at this point?
     
  18. psywzrd thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #18
    I fixed it! I was able to get it to go into that "Slide for Emergency" mode again by using TinyUmbrella but itunes still wouldn't recognize the phone. Rebooted the computer, opened itunes and sure enough it saw it! Restored from back up and now I'm just syncing all of my apps and music back. Once that's done I'm going to jb with RS. Thank you all for the help. This experience really does prove to me that it's pretty damn tough to brick an iphone.
     
  19. eastercat macrumors 68040

    eastercat

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    PDX
    #19
    That's because you can't brick a phone with software. :rolleyes:
     
  20. psywzrd thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #20
    To add to the craziness of this whole situation, I noticed that I'm only seeing one bar of signal strength all the time now so I went into my Settings and noticed that I'm still on baseband 1.59. I don't even know how that happened because I restored to stock 4.3.1 via itunes (didn't use pwnage at all). Once I was on 4.3.1 I used redsn0w to jb so I have no idea how I kept the old bb. I really don't need the unlock and this bug with the signal strength is kind of annoying so I kind of wish my bb updated too. I have no idea how or why it didn't.

    I also feel like this jb is a bit buggy. My phone vibrates one very brief time when I get a text when my phone is in silent mode and it vibrates one long time when I get a text when my phone's ringer is on. Meanwhile I remember reading that the phone is now supposed to vibrate twice when you get a text. What gives?
     
  21. TC25 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    #21
    If you have ever had Tiny Umbrella installed, your host file was changed to point to Cydia and not Apple. If so, that's how you kept the bb.
     
  22. psywzrd thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #22
    Oh, so even if I didn't have TU running it would update my software without updating the bb? What do I do if I actually want to update my bb?
     
  23. TC25 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    #23
    Correct

    You have to undo the change to your host file that TU made.
     
  24. psywzrd thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    #24
    Is there a tutorial available anywhere for that?
     
  25. gooddeal macrumors regular

    gooddeal

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Location:
    PA
    #25


    Is this new? I believe you need to have the TSS running in the TU in order to preserve the bb.
     

Share This Page