Flash or no Flash on MBP i7? Mac newbe need advice.

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by jsoto, Jan 18, 2011.

1. jsoto macrumors regular

jsoto

Just switch to the aluminum side recently this past December. I have been a windows user for 12 years. I work in IT so I pretty PC saavy on the windows side. Got drawn to the Apple ecosystem & switched for personal use. Still have windows machines too. Have mainly made the MBP my main machine. :) & haven't looked back or regreted it.

Coming from the windows side Flash has been a part of my web experience. I do have flash installed on the MBP. I have been reading a ton of posts on MR with regards to flash & how bad it is on the Mac. Frankly I was not aware till this year. WoW. I am astonished that the experience was not the same on both sides of the aisle. I am on my second iPhone. First iPhone 3G & now currently iPhone 4. Not having flash on the iPhone did not bother me at all.

My question is should I uninstall Flash on the MBP? How much battery life is improved with the current version of Flash? Will uninstalling Flash improve the life of the MBP? If you are not using Flash on OS X do you have it installed on Bootcamp for your Flash needs? Is bootcamp the way to go for Flash on the Intel Macs?

I know these maybe stupid questions to some. I am by no means a Mac genius or experienced user. I didn't have hard time jumping into the Mac either because of being PC saavy or simply OS X is designed to just hop right on. I can't fully answer that other than, I thought I would have a very hard learning curve. So far it has been great!:D

Many thanks ahead of time for your time & replies!

2. Eddyisgreat macrumors 601