Flying Blind

MeeMac

macrumors regular
Original poster
Mar 17, 2013
Just upgraded to an i7 3.2 model and even thought the Apple Store person assured me my monitor would support the new model, turns out it does not. So I need to purchase a monitor. Are there any under $500 that you recommend? I wasn’t planning this purchase but the new computer won’t work without a new monitor. I am not a graphic artist or a game player, but I do want a nice display to look at for pictures and videos. Thank You.

gigatoaster

macrumors 6502
Jul 22, 2018
Singapore
Do you have the complete reference of your current monitor so that we can check if someone else is having the same issue? Could you describe precisely the problem?

MeeMac

macrumors regular
Original poster
Mar 17, 2013
Do you have the complete reference of your current monitor so that we can check if someone else is having the same issue? Could you describe precisely the problem?
The monitor only displays “Out of range signal cannot display video mode change computer display input to 1920x1200@60hz” and nothing else.

MeeMac

macrumors regular
Original poster
Mar 17, 2013
The monitor only displays “Out of range signal cannot display video mode change computer display input to 1920x1200@60hz” and nothing else.
Additionally the monitor hook up is DVI to HDMI on the Mac Mini

djc6

macrumors 6502a
Aug 11, 2007
Cleveland, OH
What manufacturer and model of monitor? What kind of cable is it connected with?

D.T.

macrumors G3
Sep 15, 2011
Vilano Beach, FL
Here you go, same display and issue (was working on a '12 Mini, stopped working on a '18 Mini), they went to a USB-C adapter, fixed the issue:

(Though a new monitor would be nice too :D)

BTW, there's also a number of USB-C to HDMI adapters, where you'd use your existing cable, a touch cheaper, but a single cable - especially if it's known working - might be the better option.

Reactions: BigMcGuire

getrealbro

macrumors 6502
Sep 25, 2015